We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and efficient”
Review of TGV

TGV
Book In Advance
More Info
$456.82*
and up
Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train
Ranked #11 of 131 Transportation in Paris
Attraction details
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
183 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fast and efficient”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We traveled from Paris to Nice last month with the express TGV, and I was impressed by the speed and comfort. The train experience feels so good, compared to the hassles of air travel. Gare de Lyon is accessible by metro, and from the Nice station, you can walk to most central hotels. This is definitely my favorite mode of transport within Europe. E tickets were bought on line, and printed at home. Trains were on time, and arrived on time. I did not find the cost prohibitive.
I recommend this method over airlines.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    318
    151
    90
    172
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WHY FLY WHEN YOU CAN TRAVEL BY TGV”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We took the TGV from Paris to London and i have to say it was so relaxing, I pre booked 2nd class with a meal and a couple of drinks,storeyour bags in the racks as you board no problems ,plenty of space in the cabins, bigger seats than aircraft and you can what the French country side go past have a nap and before you know it ..thru the tunnel and out the other side..highly recommend this form of transport.we arrived at St Pancras straight out of the station grabbed a cab and off to our hotel...tickety boo..easy as pie...loved it!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thommoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“TGV tales. Excellent overall . . . but bring cash on board.”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

(This review is on a TGV trip between Marseille and Paris.)

Most travelers seem to expect four essential qualities from a "high speed" train: Speed, comfort, cleanliness and a reasonable price. The TGV meets all four nicely. When you pass cars on a parallel major highway in a wink, and you know they're doing 120km +, that's fast. And the other three "musts" are well met, too.

I spent the few extra euros for 1st Class. The big (only?) difference is that the seats are wider: it's 2 + 1 seating rather than the 2 + 2 in 2nd Class. (The leg room looks to be the same.)

A few tips and things to be aware of:
- If you want to buy food or drink on board, bring cash. No credit cards are accepted.
- There's no wi-fi aboard. (This omission, and the preceding above, resulted in my docking one star.)
- When you reserve, you can choose between regular and 'quiet' cars, the latter meaning that cell phone use is prohibited. (I almost gave them that star back for this one!)
- If you plan to do some sightseeing en route -- and it's wonderful! -- try to book a seat on the opposite side from the rising or setting sun.
- Although the sightseeing's obviously better from the upper level, if you've got really bulky or heavy luggage, remember that you'll probably have to horse it up the stairs with you.
- There's a very small boarding time window: it opens about 20 minutes prior to departure and closes promptly at 5 minutes before. Be warned!

If you're debating the train vs. flying, at least between Paris and Marseille, it's no contest. The TGV wins, hands down.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great way to travel in France”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We took the fast TGV deluxe train from Marseilles to Paris. We had a rental car and arrived at the rail station near downtown Marseilles where we dropped the car off and walked 5 minutes to the train station. We had our tickets pre-ordered and printed. The info desk there was helpful and told us to wait and watch the screens to see at which platform our train would arrive. This was posted. The signage train cars was not superb but when we asked, we were provided with the information. The train was two-storey. We were on the lower floor. There was plenty of room for luggage. The train was indeed very fast. Our GPS device measured speeds up to 260 km/hr. There were 4 or 5 stops between Marseilles and Paris. The train was quiet and steady. It arrived at exactly the minute it was supposed to. We were amazed. Travel time was about 3.5 hours. In a car, this distance would take about 8.5 hours. With the gas prices in Europe, the 100 Euro ticket was a great deal, especially considering the reduced travel time. There was a snack bar in one of the cars but we didn't try it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Petochok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Frankfurt - Avignon TGV”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked TGV Frankfurt - Avignon that week. First class was really cheap by using early booking conditions. Train left on time and arrived on time. First class compartment (sat upper deck) provides vrey comfortable seats with recline, good light etc. Toilets clean as well. Anyhow the included snack was a cold ( from fridge) chese sandwich and only rose wine available. Not an issue but SNCF advertises to be top of the top !!!! So what ? Internet does not work. Maybe mistaken by me or in fact not available. As Sunday eve the train became really full people with 2nd class just entered the coach and took place in 1st class. It took a while untill the conductor identified them and ask them to relocate. Some sectors only are accesable with high speed. Others as usual old SNCF conditiones like old rails, small curves etc limiting the speed. at Avignon TGV station in the evening only 2 taxis waiting. Clear info about the convenient bus to downtown is missing. Maybe taxis ask to stop infomation to earn 15 Euro for the down town trip if they are available. TGV has to learn that first class service does not end by leaving the coach!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGV also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to TGV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing