We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TGV - Paris to Perpignan”
Review of TGV

TGV
Book In Advance
More Info
$475.62*
and up
Avignon and Provence Day Trip from Paris by TGV Train
Ranked #10 of 135 Transportation in Paris
Attraction details
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“TGV - Paris to Perpignan”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Just returned from a return TGV trip Paris - Perpignan. The train rides were great - had upstairs seats giving us great views going through France. Booked early so got good prices

On the trip out we stayed in Paris after getting there by Eurostar for a sight seeing day and night. On the way home I' m thinking I should have gone to Lille rather than go back to Paris and have to cross from Gare de Lyon to Gare du Nord.

On the return home our engine packed up at Montpelier and we had to wait an hour for them to reattach us to a new engine. Luckily I had allowed for delays when booking my connection to Eurostar.

Food on the train is poor and vastly overpriced but overall the TGV is a great option.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    327
    154
    90
    174
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great way to get across France”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We caught the high speed train from Strasbourg to Paris and found it a comfortable and easy way to cross the country.
Boarding the train at Strasbourg was a bit hectic because this was our first time using the syem and the locals do not like lining up at all. After waiting for others to board so as not to hold up people while figuring out where to store our luggage, we were the second last group to get on. Stowing luggage was a breeze with plenty of room in both the lower and upper decks.
I was looking forward to feeling the train get up to 300 kmh but thought at first we were not going to reach top speed as the display was only showing route and not speeds. Due to the smoothness and quiet of the train I was estimating we were only travelling around 100 kmh when suddenly the speed was displayed on the screen. Topping 318kmh and easily cruising along at 300 we were into Paris in no time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rixingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First Class Transportation!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The TGV out of Paris to Geneva was awesome! The train inside was super clean and the ride smooth and FAST! Here in the U.S. we have Amtrak but it pales in comparison to the TGV! If we had more time for the trip, most likely I would have preferred a chartered bus to appreciate the surrounding landscape(s) but since we were on a short trip, the TGV served us well and delivered us safely to Geneva!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeanTraveler6977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“1st Class from Paris Gare de Lyon to Geneve Cornavin”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We booked three months in advance, and the seats were going fast! After checking the departure times and prices, we decided to get the 1st Class as it was just slightly more expensive than the 2nd Class.

We had wider seats that reclined, and were served a welcome drink immediately. Then we were served a full breakfast which was quite filling (only for passengers going to Switzerland though - it did stop twice in SE France). We were served one more drink before arriving in Geneva.

Not crowded, quiet and fast. Best way to go from Paris to Geneva.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MARK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Paris to cannes - easy and relaxing trip”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After finishing a week in Paris, we chose to get the TGV to Cannes for a week in the French Riveria (around a 4 hour journey).

The train was beautiful, comfy and clean (especially compared to English trains) and it was quite easy to sleep the journey away. The train was mostly filled with french people but there were some other English people. All announcements were in french, however, it was pretty simple to translate what the driver was saying.

The carriages were quite, even people with babies took them out if they started crying. The journey was fast and took us straight into the centre of Cannes - couldn't have been better! Wish there was a similar service of such standard in the UK.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TGV also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to TGV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing