We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What it says on the tin!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Ranked #31 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed in a room with a terrace overlooking the Eiffel Tower, as you see in the pictures it was exactly as described, large and airy.
Reception walks you to your room to check in. All the little details were attended to as requested and we received items that were not available at the time of booking.
The food is great in the main restaurant, with great flavours, it is evident that they benefit from the highly trained chefs from the two Michelin starred restaurants also on the site. We did not try the spa this visit so cannot comment on this aspect. One other item to mention the concierge offered the crazy horse as an option to compare with the Moulin Rouge; it isn't comparable if you are looking for a show rather than a strip club!

Room Tip: Go the extra to have a terrace and have breakfast overlooking the Eiffel Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Simon G,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure to know that your room with the view of the EIffel Tower. We are delighted to know that you also appreciated our restaurant La Bauhinia and we thank you for mentioning it.

Be assured that we have taken good note of your remark concerning the suggestion made from our Concierge.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

616 - 622 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

Where could you find a better hotel site in Paris overlooking the Eiffel Tower, especially at night? This is an exquisite 1896 building built for Prince Roland Bonaparte restored and now a Shangri La hotel with great decor, food and service. The staff are always helpful and very friendly, a very relaxing stay. The room we had was magic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Gerald272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Gerald272,

What a wonderful review about your stay, thank you! It is a real pleasure to know that you did enjoy the hotel and your stay.
We are also delighted to read that our team delivered a high quality of service and we thank you very much for mentioning it.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Let me begin by saying the hotel is magnificent. The rooms are spacious and luxurious. The place oozes opulence. But in my opinion, it was a victim of its price. I do not think we got what we paid for. The building and the room and the appointments were all up to par, but the service was not. Most disturbingly, my wife and I, who were on our honeymoon, had a member of the hotel staff barge in on us, without knocking--and the staff member was in the WRONG ROOM! Luckily, we were full clothed! We did not receive an apology. We did not receive an offer of any additional accommodation. The hotel staff pretended as though nothing happened. We expected more from such an expensive hotel. It seems like a small thing, but it was emblematic of how we felt at the hotel. We generally felt that we were not receiving the attention we deserved, possibly because the hotel staff had pegged us as insufficiently worthy of their attention. We both decided that, in the future, we would save the money we spent on such a luxurious room and spend it instead on Michelin starred dining.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Alex_B_in_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear Alex_B_in_DC,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is regrettable that such service issues occurred while staying with us and I wish to sincerely apologize for that. Be assured that we have already taken the necessary measures to avoid the service errors mentioned to happen again.
We have tried to contact you since few days with no answer at this time. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel by email slpr@shangri-la.com or by phone (33) 1 53 67 19 98 in order to have more details about your experience.

I hope you will give us another chance to show you the improvements made and to provide you with the Shangri-La Experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and showing you our true hospitality from the heart.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We had an excellent evening at the bar of this amazing hotel. The cocktails were perfect. I recommend the marco polo ! Our room was spacious and clean. The location is nice but it's not in the center. Whatever, there are a lot of cabs waiting outside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Courtney L,

What an amazing comment about your experience at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris, thank you! We are very happy to read that you spent "an excellent evening" at the bar enjoying a Marco Polo prepared by our Barman. It is a real pleasure to know that your room was "spacious and clean", it seems that you appreciate it. Service is one of our priority and it is always a true pleasure to have positive feedback from our guests, thank you.

Be assured that we will share your kind comment with all our team.

It would be an honor to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The family came to Paris to watch our daughter run in The Paris Marathon. We have visited Paris many times. Previously staying at The Ritz, Crillon, & Le Bristol. All were excellent. However,The Shangri La was even better! The view of the Eiffel Tower can not be beat. The staff/service was fantastic. The size of the hotel helped in making the stay more interment than the larger hotels. I swam every morning in the beautiful tiled pool. The pool area had large glass doors which allowed plenty of light to come into the area. Overall, it was an exceptional stay & will be staying there again when we return to Paris.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear David N,

First of all, congratulations to your daughter for running the Paris Marathon, this is quite an achievement!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is an honor for us when you said the hotel is "even better" than others in Paris. It seems that you did enjoy your stay in the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte and nothing can leave us more happy.
Indeed, the swimming-pool is bathed in a natural light for even more swimming pleasure. Thank you for giving such a positive feedback by saying that you had "an exceptional stay".
Be sure that we will share your comment with all our team and we will be more than happy to welcome you back for your next Parisian getaway.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

A gran welcome, beautiful decor, lovely room; great location, interesting bar, nice wine, business room well equipped with everything you could possibly need…what more can I say…Wonderful in every way…why stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Betty B,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are delighted to read that you did enjoy your stay in the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte and also your room "well equipped with everything you could possibly need" in order to work in good conditions.
We would like to thank you for highlighting all these positive points and be sure that we will share them with all our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Shangri-La means a mythical utopia. Heaven on Earth. and that is what the Shangri-La Hotel in Paris is..Heaven on Earth. I have stayed in many 5 star hotel chains(the Ritz,the Four Seasons) and all are pale in comparison to the Shangri-La Hotel in Paris. Beautiful is an understatement. there are no words to describe the exterior and interior of the hotel. exquisitely decorated with beautiful colors I have never stayed in such stunning hotel. She is absolutely beautiful. The service is impeccable. The staff never missed a beat. Flawless room service to the genuine concierge who will do just about anything for you. if you want to feel special this hotel is for you. the pool is enormous and oh so luxurious. Everything is at your finger tips, the Eiffel tower, the river sine and the Paris aquarium. Champs Elysses is only a 15 minute walk. Shangri-La hotel in pairs is heaven on earth. the best hotel in the world

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwithtots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Travelwithtots,

What a very nice comment about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris, thank you! By comparing Shangri-La Hotel, Paris with "Heaven on Earth", you cannot let us more happy! We are also delighted to know that you really appreciated the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte by qualifying the decoration "exquisitely decorated" and saying that you have "never stayed in such stunning hotel".
Service is one of our priority and we are very happy to read that our teams delivered a high quality of service, from the Concierge to the room-service and we really want to thank you for highlighting these points.
Indeed, our hotel is a near all the main tourist attractions as Eiffel Tower, River Seine and also Champs-Elysées and it is an honor to be "the best hotel in the world" according to you, thank you very much!

We will be more than happy to welcome you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Pullman Paris Tour Eiffel
#386 of 1,804 in Paris
2,381 reviews
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#11 of 1,804 in Paris
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#16 of 1,804 in Paris
1,573 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#35 of 1,804 in Paris
691 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#6 of 1,804 in Paris
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $820 - $1,669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former residence of Prince Roland Bonaparte located in the upscale 16th arrondissement of Paris, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris is the epitome of Asian hospitality and French art de vivre. This 19th century architectural gem has been listed in the French “Monuments Historiques” registry since 2009 and officially awarded the “Palace” status in 2014. Its 100 rooms and suites offer stunning and unique views of the Eiffel Tower and numerous Parisian landmarks. Three restaurants, including 2 Michelin starred, overseen by Executive Chef Christophe Moret, offer both a French and Chinese cuisine. Le Bar Botaniste, friendly and intimate, is the perfect Parisian meeting place. Four historical reception rooms welcome the most prestigious events and wedding. Finally, CHI, The Spa, with its 15-meter pool bathed in natural daylight and The Organic Pharmacy treatments, is an invitation to relaxation and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing