We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Ranked #30 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was not only the most beautiful hotel but the staff was perfect. They were so helpful,we got stuck in the rain one day sight seeing -and they sent car for us. The pool is amazing and someone serves you tea and drinks. We were heading to monte carlo after and needed to break up trip they helped find us a nice route and hotel on our way . It is the personal touches that make this hotel amazing. Beauty of the hotel is seen the minute you walk in. It is unlike anywhere I have ever stayed and nothing has yet to live unto this amazing place!

Room Tip: use your amex platinum - what an upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarrett c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear Jarrett C,

What an amazing review, thank you! The quality of service is one of our priority and it is a real pleasure to know that you did appreciate the hospitality provided by our team. It is also very nice to read that you enjoyed our Health Club through our swimming-pool.
Finally, we are more than happy to know that you appreciated the decoration of the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte and we will be more than happy to welcome you during your next stay in Paris!

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

649 - 655 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed at the Shangri-La Paris for four nights over the New Year's holiday!!! This place is simply amazing, and very easily competes in every way with -- and in many instances exceeds -- the other super top-luxury hotels in Paris: George V, Le Meurice, Bristol, Plaza Athenee.

Service - Concierge. Here is where the Shangri-La really sets itself apart. The concierge team was spectacular, displaying a terrific ability to size up a request and communicate helpful solutions in an appealing way. They did a great job getting us a table at a somewhat hot club for New Year's Eve, providing a fantastic tip on where to enjoy a great night out at a trendy lounge (including a tip on how to get by the doorman of the lounge should that pose a problem, although in the end it was not a problem), making reservations for dinner for two evenings, including at Robuchon, and sending us to a wonderful cafe in St. Germain. Even without our asking, the service team gave us rides in the house car to two dinners, including on the all-busy New Year's eve. Having stayed at many five star hotels, I could say that the concierge team at Shangri-La was the best I have ever encountered. It is also a pleasure that the hotel does not nickel and dime its guests: WiFi is free, and when my girlfriend went downstairs to mail two postcards to the USA, they said not to worry, no charge.

Public Spaces: The public areas of the hotel are dazzling, at once stunningly gorgeous and yet at the same time every time you come back to the hotel from your time spent outside you feel almost as if you are returning home. The hotel is particularly special as it reveals its public spaces slowly over a several-day visit, a magnificent stairway here, a quiet salon there, a beautiful ballroom there, the courtyard near the pool, the in-house bar (aptly named Le Bar), and so on. The building is a remarkable combination of the best of all modern comforts and aesthetics, as well as a lot of well-preserved details from a long time ago.

Dining: The hotel has three restaurants, although we only ate in one, a dinner and breakfast at La Bauhinia. The food was quite fine and the ambience is terrifc, sitting under a beautiful glass atrium and a mammoth chandelier. The other two restaurants are Michelin-starred.

The Room/Suite: We were upgraded from a premier room to a deluxe suite. The room was gorgeous, consisting of a nice living room plus a separate bedroom. The bedroom felt like a luxurious cocoon, with beautiful satin/silk wallpaper and stunning drapery, and a delicious king bed. The bathroom is in two parts: beyond a walk-in closet is a nice small toilet room for privacy, at the other end of a small hallway is a really beautiful bathroom, with a delicious bathtub plus a separate large shower. The suite had the best, although not always intuitive, electronic controls for all types of lighting and window darkeners, etc. The room also had two balconies with nice views of Paris.

SPA/Swimming Pool. The swimming pool is, as one magazine put it, one of the most sublime spots in Paris, and we had it to ourselves for about a half hour. My girlfriend had a massage at the spa, and best I could tell, she really enjoyed it.

Location: To me the hotel is as perfectly situated in Paris as could be: 5-minute walk to the Eiffel Tower, 10 minutes to the Champs-Elysees, 10-15 minutes to the shopping/dining in the 8th.

Small Issue: In-room breakfast did take a while to arrive.

Bottom Line: The Shangri-La is as great as it gets in Paris, or just about any large city for that matter. it is one of the World's great big-city hotels!!! If I am ever lucky enough to come back to Paris with my girlfriend (and maybe her mom next time!!) Shangri-La would be my first choice, though I suppose they may want to try one of the other great hotels as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeliciousIz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Deliciouslz,

What a very nice and detailed review, thank you very much! We very appreciate for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are more than happy to read that, according to you, we exceed "other top-luxury hotels" in Paris!
It is a real pleasure to see that our team has delivered a high quality of service and you did like your Suite and its equipment but also the swimming-pool and the spa!

Finally, be reassured that we have also taken into account your comment concerning the in-room dining and everything has already been done in order to not reproduce the same mistake.

Again, thank you very much for your review and we will be more than happy to welcome you, your girlfriend and her mother, back very soon.

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I thought that a hotel that was Asian based in both decor and management might be at odds with a truly Parisian experience but I could not have been more wrong. I have stayed at this property twice and would stay here again without hesitation. Remodeled from having been a mansion belonging to one of Napoeon's relatives,it is very quiet and close to a metro stop, but in an area that houses mostly embassies and museums. Lots of museums, many of which I would not have visited otherwise, favoring trips to the Louvre and the Musee d'Orsay-the usual tourist attractions. But here you can sample some wonderful small museums, with many surprising treasures that are within a short walk of your front door. Especially wonderful is the Musee de Branly, just an easy walk across the footbridge that is close to this hotel. If you like to wander through uncrowded museums and enjoy a swim at the end of the day in the hotel's exceptional blue mosaic pool, this is your place. This hotel is famous for its rooms with a view of the Eiffel tower, but naturally, like everything else in the city of light, it will cost you. I did not spring for the view but had a lovely, spacious room that was blissfully quiet. Service was impeccable, food excellent. You can see the Eiffel Tower by just stepping outside, and a walk along the Seine is a stones throw away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony--you'll have a beautiful place for a light breakfast or wine at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Ann M,

We would like to thank you for your very nice review about your stay with us. It is a real pleasure to read you did enjoy your Parisian stay through the location of the hotel nearby cultural attractions. We are also very happy to know that you appreciate our Health-Club and the swimming-pool bathed in a natural light.

Thank you again for all your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel accomplished a great progress since it has been opened. Both: the service and the quality of food are now excellent. L'Abeille restaurant is at my point of view is now one of the best French gastronomical places in Paris. The Cantonese restaurant is also very good. However, both are VERY expensive (300 EUR without wine/pp). Some rooms giving on inner court have totally obstructed view, as windows will open to sort of glass dome over the lobby restaurant. As the consequence, those rooms are very dark. Check before you checking in. Fitness centre is very good. Swimming pool is probably the best in Paris hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Kirill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Kirill R,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about your stay. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the quality of service delivered by our team during all your stay: it is one of our priority to propose a high quality of service. It is also good to know that you enjoyed our Gourmet French restaurant L'Abeille and also our Authentic Cantonese restaurant Shang Palace.

We have already taken into account your remark concerning the price but also the darkness of some rooms.

It is very nice to see that we have made improvement according to your expectation and also that you liked our Health Club though the swimming-pool bathed in natural light.

We will share your very nice comment with all our teams and will be more than happy to welcome you back very soon!

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We have not stayed in this hotel, just visited, so this is a comment on the public rooms only. These are amazing and have been beautifully restored. The head concierge was charmingly informative and knowledgeable, taking time to show us the rooms and tell us the history of the house.

He was also very helpful with a particular request for assistance.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TSML2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear TSML2014,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about your visit. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the former house of Prince Roland Bonaparte. We are more than happy you also enjoyed the high quality of service delivered by our Head Concierge with a historical visit: we hope you learnt a lot about the Bonaparte family.

We will be more than happy to welcome you for a future stay!

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Conveniently positioned in the heart of Paris. Perfect service. Expensive - but what would you expect from a top hotel?!
Stayed for a night in December on the way to Caribs and for 2 nights in January...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAM3710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear SAM3710,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about your stay. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the quality of service delivered by our team during all your stay: it is one of our priority to propose a high quality of service. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is near many restaurants and shopping areas.

We will share your very nice comment with all our teams and will be more than happy to welcome you back during your next Parisian getaway!

Best Regards,
Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were planning a 3rd stay but cancelled. After all, for the price charged there shouldn't be any problems.
On our 1st stay, the 1st room we were assigned was tiny although it was, supposedly, a deluxe room. It was not worth what we were charged. We complained and were given a larger room with a view. Although appreciated who wants problems the first time.
Ate at the hotel's more casual restaurant and both the service and the food was disappointing. So much for visit number 1.
On our 2d visit 10 days later we were given a nice room. We stayed under the Amex Fine Hotels program with an 85E food and beverage credit so we decided to spend it having a drink and appetizers in the bar. The food was, in my wife's words "awful"
When we got our bill on checkout, we discovered that the 85E credit didn't apply to alcoholic beverages. We explained that the Fine Hotels program says food and beverage but were told we hadn't read the fine print. Later i did and guess what, there was no such limitation stated
anywhere.
Consider this--if the food is lousy and you can't spend the credit on 2 drinks, what is it good for?
Two stays, both expensive and both disappointing so we cancelled our planned 3rd stay.
A luxury hotel experience should be exactly that and sadly, the Shangri-La failed to deliver.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to complain if you get a disappointing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamshusband
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Pamshusband,

Thank you for sharing your impressions regarding your stay at Shangri-la Hotel, Paris. As mentioned already in our e-mail recently sent to you, we truly apologize for not having been able to convince you on both stays. In addition to the room which was not to your liking, I understand your disapppointment with the conditions of the 85 euro credit which were not made perfectly clear prior to your visit. For this reason, we confirm that we did credit your account with the balance of what was already consumed on your second stay.
Furthermore, we have now confirmed with Amex Fine Hotels & Resorts that the credit will be valid on food and beverage, for all guests booking this package. We are truly sorry that you did not give us a final chance to provide you with the Shangri-La Experience, our aim was definitely not to upset you and we truly hope that we will continue welcoming you at Shangri-La Hotel Paris on your next trips to the City of Lights.

Best Regards,

Stefan Bollhalder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#10 of 1,805 in Paris
820 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Pullman Paris Tour Eiffel
#395 of 1,805 in Paris
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#14 of 1,805 in Paris
1,615 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#49 of 1,805 in Paris
704 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#5 of 1,805 in Paris
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $887 - $1,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Former residence of Prince Roland Bonaparte located in the upscale 16th arrondissement of Paris, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris is the epitome of Asian hospitality and French art de vivre. This 19th century architectural gem has been listed in the French “Monuments Historiques” registry since 2009 and officially awarded the “Palace” status in 2014. Its 100 rooms and suites offer stunning and unique views of the Eiffel Tower and numerous Parisian landmarks. Three restaurants, including 2 Michelin starred, overseen by Executive Chef Christophe Moret, offer both a French and Chinese cuisine. Le Bar Botaniste, friendly and intimate, is the perfect Parisian meeting place. Four historical reception rooms welcome the most prestigious events and wedding. Finally, CHI, The Spa, with its 15-meter pool bathed in natural daylight and The Organic Pharmacy treatments, is an invitation to relaxation and serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing