We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Nice Quality Rooms, Excellent Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Ranked #46 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Nice Quality Rooms, Excellent Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a very nice luxury hotel with a truly Excellent Location. Easy walk to Eiffel Tower and lots of nearby bistro dining venues. This was our first time in this hotel and overall it was a very good experience. Be aware, their internet advertising is somewhat misleading, they post beautiful pictures of Eiffel Tower Views but some of them are not what they seem. The beautiful picture of a rooftop terrace is actually the terrace of their best suite and is not available to other guests. When we looked at the internet photos and saw that terrace we thought what a great place to have a cocktail or sit and enjoy the view but this turned out not to be the case. They do have a terrace for that but it is buried on a lower level of the hotel with Very Limited Partial Views of the Eiffel Tower. We did enjoy the hotel and especially the staff who were fantastic. The hotel is quite expensive for what you get but I guess that's the location premium kicking in. They do have views and they do have location, just the views aren't quite as good as they look on the net.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank TucsonFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear TucsonFishing,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment about your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are happy to know that you found the location of the hotel "excellent" and "easy walk to Eiffel Tower" but also "nearby bistro dining venues". We are also delighted that for your first time at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris, your overall experience was "very good", it is a nice compliment for all of our employees!

Nonetheless, we would like to apologize about the disappointment you may have had about our Eiffel Tower' views. Be reassured that we have taken into consideration your remarks would you visit us again in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,
Alain Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    124
    51
    20
    9
See reviews for
222
550
58
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Yes the hotel is expensive but it is one of the most attentive ones that I have ever been to. The service was great and the room was immaculate. I am a fairly critical person but I cannot find any flaws in the hotel. Everyone who served us was great!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doobeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear doobeebaby,

What a great pleasure for us to read your nice comments about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are more than happy to know that you enjoyed your room and the service. It is an honor to read that you "cannot find any flaws" in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Regards,
Alain Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Great location close to the Eiffel Tower. Outstanding hotel and personal service. We (myself, my partner and my 4yr old son) booked a delux bedroom for a one night stay after spending a few busy days, nights in Disneyland. The room was elegant, spacious and very luxurious with beautiful decor. Truly comfortable and relaxing. The concierge and staff were wonderful, polite, helpful and attentive to our every need. If you can stay here, you won't regret it. My little boy loved the attention. We can't wait to come back. See you soon Shangri-La!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Phil,

We would like to thank you for your comments about your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. It is a real pleasure for all our employees to know that you enjoyed your room after your "busy days and nights at DisneyLand" and to know that it was "comfortable and relaxing".
It is also a pleasure to read that our team proposed you a high level of service by being "wonderful, polite, helpful and attentive".

We will share your comments with all employees and we will be more than happy to welcome you back very soon!

Best Regards,
Alain Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Shangri-La was nothing less than amazing. Service and facilities were outstanding and we were within walking distance from many attractions in Paris. The staff was accommodating in every way!!!!!!!!!!!!


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Deby32223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Gérant at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Deby,

We would like to thank you about your comment concerning your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel, the service and the facilities. It's also a pleasure to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel which is, indeed, very close to the Eiffel Tower, Champs-Elysées and Paris' main museums too!

We look forward to welcoming back you very soon.

Best Regards,

Alain Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabulous and magnificent. Palace indeed from the very great location to the kindness of the staff. The atmosphere of the past centuries made the trip special for my daughter - she felt herself as a Princess and the hotel impressed her the most (even though we are traveling a lot and Burj Al Arab and Armani hotel in Burj Khalifa are quite ordinary for her :) THE DECORATION, GARDEN, VIEW OF EIFFEL TOWER, large swimming pool - all these make the hotel UNIQUE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Kunslu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Kunslu S,
Many thanks for your really great comment about Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. We are delighted to learn that your daughter felt like a princess ! It s such an honour for us and we are really happy that you loved the location of the hotel, (indeed, very close to the Eiffel Tower, to the Champs Elysées and to Paris' main museums), the decoration and our new and full of light swimming pool.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel very soon
Warm regards
Alain Borgers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Service level not up to scratch. Gold circle member. First of all , rooms not ready for occupation at 2.30pm for check in. Then had to wait one hour. Next day, went out touring Paris. Came back at 2 pm and room had not been cleaned. Left shoes out for polishing in the morning. Still not done at 7p.m. Too many incidences for me to forgive, especially given the price one pays to stay here.
It is a fantastic hotel with excellent location and is only 10 min walk to the Eiffel Tower but.......my experience was not nice one. Hotel only apologized. Not good enough for a hotel of this calibre.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast out. At 52 euro per person, it is a bit extravagant! One would of thought that the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ravinaidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir,
First of all, we would like to thank you for posting your comment about your recent stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris on Trip Advisor and we are deeply sorry to learn that we did not meet with your expectations.
It is deeply important for us that our clients keep an excellent memory of their stay and what happened with your room is not acceptable at all. Even if the hotel was fully booked during the last weeks, your room should still have been ready upon your arrival and cleaned in the morning on the following day. Same for the shoe shine service; you should have had your shoes ready as soon as possible, within the hour.
These circumstances are very exceptional and we have duly informed the Head Housekeeper about your comments so that this does not happen again in the future.
Nevertheless, we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel, its decoration and its perfect location - very close to the Eiffel Tower, to Paris main museums and to the Champs Elysées.
I truly hope that I will have the opportunity of discussing with you about your stay and your different comments at your earliest convenience. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel (whenever you want )and I will be more than delighted to talk to you personally.
Best Regards,
Alain Borgers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
299 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were fortunate to stay at this hotel twice in the last month. I can safely say that it is the best hotel I have stayed at in Europe-and perhaps the world. It is small-just over 100 rooms with the addition of another building, and the entire staff--from concierge, door, front desk, housekeeping--is flawless. Small enough to know your name, yet large enough to offer the amenities of a larger hotel (pool, spa, health club)--this historical gem has been tastefully transformed into a modern marvel in the heart of the 16th. The restaurants are terrific, and where else can you shoot pictures of the Eiffel Tower from your room (if you are fortunate enough to get that view). The concierge was very helpful in sorting our a rental car snafu for us--and the entire staff is dedicated to you getting the most out of your Paris stay. Congrats, Kudos, MERCI!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mookie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Mookie61,
What a great pleasure to read your really amazing comment about your two last stays at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris.
We are really delighted to learn that you think the hotel to be one of the best in the world. This is a great reward for all the teams who work daily for our clients to feel like being at home away from home.
We are really happy that you loved your stay in the former private Palais of Prince Roland Bonaparte and that you really enjoyed the views - unique and amazing - on the Eiffel Tower.
We will transmitt as well your compliments to our two Michelin Stars Chef Philippe Labbé who looks after the 3 restaurants of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Best regards from Paris,
Alain Borgers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#17 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Champs-Elysees
Le Royal Monceau-Raffles Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 101 rooms and suites, three restaurants, one Bar and four events and reception rooms, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris cultivates a warm and authentic ambience, drawing the best from two cultures: the Asian art of hospitality and the French art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing