We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Staff and very caring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Ranked #49 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Staff and very caring”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The service was fabulous. Conceirge service was excellent. Very experienced staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pradeepkarunagaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    126
    54
    21
    10
See reviews for
243
574
63
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

A beautiful hotel in a great location with great views of the Eiffel Tower. Service was impeccable - as best as we've experienced. Concierge was top-notch and very patient, thoughtful. But also very expensive.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

At the sight of the magnificent facade of the hotel and hospitality genuinely warm one receives on entering the lobby, one can legitimately expect a high-level experience when deciding to go enjoy an afternoon tea at the Shangri-La. Unfortunately, the reality is different.

First of all I said to the first person who asks me, I'm alone and I do not have a reservation for a few seconds later, a second person ask myself the same question that I bring naturally the same answer.

They finally told me to install and the server that comes my way with the menu asks me again if I wait for the company ...

After taking my order, they bring me a napkin and silverware which I noticed immediately that they are stained with water spots (unacceptable for a hotel of this standard which we expect that the silverware are impeccable ).

Minutes later, the tea arrives (a teapot and a cup) but no sugar or milk when I had specifically requested this to last.
Then, ten minutes passed before the chocolate tart (in exceptional deumeurant) I also ordered finally arrived.

At the time of the addition, I have to wait a good fifteen minutes before one of the servers noticed that I had slipped in a very visible my credit card in the booklet provided for this purpose.
And, to top it off, the person who undertakes to go get my coat just hands me my coat without help me put it on.

In short, despite a superb decoration, a high quality cuisine and the renowned group known for its excellence, service of Shangri-La, as I have experienced it, is by no up to the standards of its category. The George V still has a bright future ahead of him ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Laurent_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaParis, Directeur général at Shangri-La Hotel Paris, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Laurent_JP,

We thank you for your feedback regarding the services at Shangri-La Hotel, Paris. Your points are valid and have been discussed and reviewed with the concerned managers. These defects are not up to Shangri-La standards and we can assure you that we are doing the utmost to immediately correct the encountered issues.
We truly hope to provide you with the hospitality we are known for upon your next visit and show you that what happened were simply isolated incidents.

Kindest regards,

A. Borgers
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I spent a long time choosing this hotel; viewbarons wife was turning 30 and a trip to Paris was in order. Viewbaron opted for the Eiffel tower view room with a few added extras ( champagne in room on arrival, specially made cake, flowers and upgrade if possible). This review will be fair, but also considered from the viewpoint of what one may expect when paying £1000 a night.

Ok the foyer is gorgeous, perhaps a little too many staff standing round, but all very polite and all say hello when you walk past.....OK, good so far. Receptionist was very polite, spoke perfect English and checked us in to our room...

Room - Great size for Paris, large double bathroom. Decor traditional and sumptuous. This brings me to the first issue - we had a huge terrace. The very reason we had booked this place was that it had views of the Eiffel tower. Viewbaron had upgraded to make sure of this. What the website does not tell you is that the view is heavily obstructed by one of the ugliest buildings known to man - a basic brown dirty side of another building is your turgid Eiffel tower base for your stay, so you only see the top third of the tower....hmmmmmm thought I. I did point this out but the member of staff deflected swiftly. Second issue, our luggage never arrived to our room. Viewbaron called down and was told it was sent to another by accident. I know, I know dear readers, your thinking..." not the biggest problem in the world" and perhaps this is so, but again, lets re-base to the fact this is costing viewbaron 1000 of your earth pounds a night.

Din dins....
Included in our room was 150 euros credit in the restaurant. The prices were pretty obscene ( even compared to, say, Petrus or Ledbury here ) - some dishes were 150 euros each ( not kidding )...but hey, its a special occasion, lets do it. I ordered a chicken curry ( first bite hit gristle ) - really? thought I , really, chef using dodgy cuts?. Viewbarons vegetarian wife ordered pasta - average, but average at an insane price.

The bill for these two dishes, a beer and a wine came to about 120 euros. Rather annoyingly, we were not allowed to use the rest of the 30 euros the next evening as we were told it had to be used all on the same occasion. Viewbaron was pretty ratty by this point and had to give the manager a good bol**cking untill he changed his mind.

Breakfast
This was included in our rate - but it would have been 50 euro a head......let me just say that again, 50 euro a head, so it must be good right?....wrong. For that you get two small eggs, two small slices of bacon and a small cup of yogurt and some juice. Just another little sting in the tail.

Location
Perfect - 5 mins from the tower, on the opposite side of the river.

Viewbarons final thought
My biggest grumble is when Hotels or restaurants assume that people with money are idiots; they dont care what the price is, or have the whole " if you need to ask, you cant afford it"....nonsense. Once you are in this hotel, you are pretty much ripped off from start to finish.

Its beautiful....the location is awesome; however, the price does not reflect the quality, and thats the arrogant view of this hotel, and also my pet hate.

If the management disagree with any of the comments I have made, please contact me through my email and I will be happy to give you the details of my stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
55 Thank viewbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The decor is rich in colour and textiles with an oriental flavour. The staff are very helpful and intelligent in the way they deal with guests. The hotel is very close to the Iena Metro which is an asset because the traffic was shocking this week. The area is not good for shopping. The services are mainly beauty salons and restaurants, small delicatessens and florists..
We loved the breakfast. Very good fruit salad and small muesli, pastry basket, orange juice and coffee-£40 a head.We didn't experience the spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine9883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Our experience was faultless...from the personalized service to the lavish details. The staff at Shangri-La did everything to make the stay perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I had my wedding reception here in May and it was perfect in every detail. I cannot thank the hotel enough for making my day so perfect. A special thanks to Caroline Bonnel, the events manager, who made sure that everything went to plan. When considering choices for a venue, we looked at Le Crillon, George V, Le Meurice, Hotel Bristol - Shangri-La blew them all away with its elegance and panache. It is the magic of mixing the Orient with European, the history of Napoleon Bonaparte's family oozing through the corridors. It is the architectural detail and beautiful restoration of an old palais that make the hotel so remarkable. The icing on the cake is the proximity to the Eiffel Tower. It is expensive, but for the price you will experience one of Paris's best kept secrets. Another thank you to the excellent double Michelin starred chef, Phillipe Labbe, whose food is truly exquisite. What a venue, what a wedding! Congratulations to all the fantastic staff at this hotel, which will be the number one hotel in Paris in a few years, I have no doubt.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
Mandarin Oriental, Paris
#11 of 1,802 in Paris
1,433 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Four Seasons Hotel George V Paris
Champs-Elysees
The Peninsula Paris
The Peninsula Paris
#16 of 1,802 in Paris
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Plaza Athenee
Hotel Plaza Athenee
#31 of 1,802 in Paris
614 reviews
Le Bristol Paris
#4 of 1,802 in Paris
1,604 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel Paris

Property: Shangri-La Hotel Paris
Address: 10, avenue d'Iena, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Trocadero
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel Paris 5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 101 rooms and suites, three restaurants, one Bar and four events and reception rooms, Shangri-La Hotel, Paris cultivates a warm and authentic ambience, drawing the best from two cultures: the Asian art of hospitality and the French art of living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing