We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the St Paul!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais
Ranked #1,046 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the St Paul!”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Our group of 5 spent 3 nights at the St Paul Le Marais in April 2014. This was our 3rd visit to Paris and thus our 3rd stay at the St Paul. We love the quirky rooms - this was a former convent and was built in the 17th century. Much of the original character has been kept, such as exposed wooden beams and curving staircases. (There is a lift for anyone who does not want to take the stairs.) The staff is so friendly and helpful and for anyone who is not fluent in French, the staff does speak English. Great location - close to Metro, Notre Dame, restaurants, shops, and other places of interest. There is a darling courtyard we have enjoyed. We stop at a nearby market and pick up wine, cheese, and snacks and enjoy sitting outside. Very nice atmosphere!

Room Tip: The website pictures of the rooms are very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review you have given us!
Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay!

That you found Saint-Paul le Marais Hotel provide you with a “Great stay” is the best compliment possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours sincerely,
The reception team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    72
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
59
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Went to Paris for 2 days and wanted to stay in the fantastic area of Le Marais in Paris. Hotel was excellent located in the area and you get everything what you need if you go for sightseeing in Paris. Service is good and for breakfast you have the things you need. A simple, very charming and well located Hotel. I will go back there the next time I will visit Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our great location in the heart of the Marais and the intimate atmosphere of our property.
We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Best regards,
The Reception Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I love the Marais district and this hotel was a perfect location, close to the metro but down a quiet street. It was clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good. The staff was efficient and very helpful. I was by myself and had a single room. It was small but very well laid out and the bathroom and shower were quite roomy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Rather then spend exorbitant amount of money on a hotel in Paris, why not use your money for food and entertainment. My wife and I visit Paris about every two years. We don't stay in the Ritz or George V. Rather we enjoy small hotels that are clean and comfortable. This one is both. Plus, breakfast is included.

Room Tip: If you need a bath tub rather than a shower, you have to ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a small family run hotel.

We liked the cosy atmosphere of the place. Breakfast is in the old converted cellars and was mostly continental (croissants and pain aux chocolates with a couple of hot food items (scrambled eggs and sausage) There was a wonderfully lurid green drink offered as well as orange juice. It was apple juice and quite pleasant.

The room was fine and the bed comfortable. The view was of the local fire station, where what I am told by my wife were fit young men, regularly practiced their drills with their shirts off. I am told this may be an attraction to some. If so we stayed in room 12. We spend very little time in our room when we go away and the room was fine for us.

The staff were very helpful. When you arrive they give you a detailed map of the Marais and one of Paris. A nice touch and one that other more expensive places would do well copying rather than the inevitable Local guide which is usually just a load of adverts for places often many miles away.

When we left they ordered us a taxi and we both felt confident that they and the staff knew what they were doing. There was what looked like an attractive bar but we didn't use the dining room so cannot say anything about that.
.
We went out in the evening. The Marais is lively with plenty of bars and restaraunts we found a Corsican one for one night and a bar the second. Both served good food and wine.

The hotel is within a short walk of the Seine. We spent Sunday morning walking along its banks. Great for people watching and an impressive building around every bend. For some reason the French have adopted athe custom of putting padlocks on the railings of some bridges. It is an odd sight to see a bridge completely covered in the things.

We enjoyed our stay and the Hotel turned out to be a great choice for us. We shall certainly go again when we go to Paris

Room Tip: if you like firemen take a room facing the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Many thanks for a wonderful stay in Paris.
Your hotel was excellent and in a very good location.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend to friends.
Thanks again and sorry for our lack of French!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We asked for a room with two beds. The room was very small, on two levels. On the first level there was a narrow double bed (around 140 cm). On the secund level there was a very narrow single bed (around 80cm) and the ceiling was so low that when you stand up from the bed you hit the ceiling so we could not use the bed.
The radiators did not work, there was 10°C outside. In the bedroom there was an air conditioning but during the night it did not heat, we could only get cold air. On the secund night the deskman came and said the AC was having a problem and he cut it off. So we spent one night with cold air and the other night with nothing.
In the bathroom the radiator was not working either and we received a small portable electric radiator. The sink was leaking so the water got down in the cupboard. We told that the sink was leaking but it has not been repaired during our stay. We asked for a compensation at the end of our stay but we did not get any.
Although this hotel is a 3 star I would give only 2 because you get such small space, such small beds, small towels and very poor equipments.

Room Tip: Avoid room 416.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaintPaulMarais, Responsable réception at Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guests,

First we would like to apologise for the fact that your stay did not go the way you expected.
You had the upper room # 416 which is one of our larger rooms, covers an area of ​​31 sq yd (an area almost x2 larger than the new French standard - this is the one pictured on our web site). It has a double bed 140x190 cm and a single bed 90x190 on the mezzanine, and a bathroom of 7 sq yd with a hydromassage bath .

All our rooms are equipped with double heating: a central heating radiator and an air conditioner. The temperature of the air conditioning is set by the client. At your request, we had provided an electric radiator in the bathroom. In addition, we provide our clients with blankets if needed, at any time of the day or night .

Then and despite our best efforts, you reported a water leak under the sink: it was the sink siphon which was loose and dripping. We intervened in the hour to tighten and solve the inconvenience.

Concerning a goodwill gesture, we will not hesitate to propose it as soon as a malfunction occurs or to discuss it when a client makes a request for it. It appears that this request was not made at your checkout .

Anyway we are truly so sorry your stay did not run smoothly and wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
The Hotel Saint-Paul' Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#33 of 1,801 in Paris
157 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Emile
Hotel Emile
#961 of 1,801 in Paris
249 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Caron
Hotel Caron
#484 of 1,801 in Paris
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#351 of 1,801 in Paris
614 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#361 of 1,801 in Paris
480 reviews
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#678 of 1,801 in Paris
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais

Property: Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais
Address: 8 rue de Sevigne, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#324 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned between the famous Place des Vosges and Notre-Dame. This romantic hotel, superbly located in the Marais district, invites you to enter a world of poetry. Choosing to stay at the Saint Paul Le Marais Hôtel means to stay at the centre of one of the liveliest districts of the capital! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint Paul Le Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Paul Le Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing