We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de la Place des Vosges
Ranked #1,198 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This was my third visit to Hotel de la Place des Vosges. It would be hard to find a hotel with a better location Rooms are very small, but extremely clean. Bathrooms are very up to date. The staff is very friendly. Just what one should expect from a small boutique hotel. The metro is close, and there are a lot of great restaurants within walking distance. I will be be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the front.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Place des Vosges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 217 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

I've never written a negative review before, but I felt this place was bad enough that I should suggest that people NOT stay here. Our first impression was poor -- a dark lobby with threadbare carpet -- and things only went downhill from there. We had expected a small room, but this one was miniscule. In order to put a suitcase in the wardrobe (there was no way we would have been able to maneuver around two pieces of luggage in the room) you had to drag the suitcase across the bed and shove it in with your hands or feet. The bathroom was nicely updated, but there were no towel racks (the only place to put wet towels was on the floor or in the sink) the electrical outlet did not work, and one of the bulbs was burned out. The carpet on the dark, narrow staircase was torn so badly in places that it posed a genuine safety hazard -- which wouldn't have been so bad had the elevator actually been working during our stay. As it was, we were forced to schlep up and down five flights of stairs several times a day. Maintenance was lackadasical -- as we walked up and down (and up and down) the stairs I noted damaged walls, holes where outlets should have been and dirty hallway carpets. Although the location was good, I would never stay here again and would strongly suggest that it be avoided entirely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel was in a great location. Was a beautiful old Parisien building - don't go if you're expecting luxury, but if you're after something quintessentially Parisian, definitely do it.

Positive experience - restaraunts and cafes nearby, including wonderful cheese shops. Close walk to the train also.

The room was very small - you literally had to climb over the bed to get into the room, and we struggled to fit in our two suitcases! Having said that, it was very clean and the bathroom was sufficient.

Only weird thing we encountered was that they asked us to leave our room key with them when we were heading out to dinner, as it was the only one that they had??

They provided us with instructions from the train to the hotel which was helpful.

Pleasant experience. Would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melmelmel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Being at the top floor of this 7 storages hotel has his advantages and disadvantages. The lift is only available between the 1st and 4th floor so the rest is on 'foot' and very small and steep stairs ! But oh so lovely ... Yes I like these old houses. But the top floor also means less noise, streetnoise AND other guests. So once you have done the climb ... You're in for a good night rest ... Even with an open window (no airco). The top room (spacious) has one double bed, keep in mind that in France this usually means 1.40m and two single beds hidden in the wall (we did not use them). Bed was soft bet just a little bit too small. Bathroom with two sinks and a whirlpool. There is also a shower but no curtain so this might leave things very messy when using it ?!? Free WIFI, no coffee or thee, no hairdryer, no minibar, TV, small desk. Reception was very friendly. We arrived at 10 am and were allowed already in the room (we did not ask, we only asked if we could leave our luggage until check-in time but this was much better of course). Breakfast at 8€ and knowing Paris' standards this was more than OK. One more thing ... The lift is very small, it allows for two persons without luggage or one person with luggage ...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank _NF_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This accommodation is located in the heart of the trendy, cultural Marais, with immediate access to restaurants, public transport and supermarkets. It was very clean and comfortable, with a good bed and excellent lighting. The bathroom was spacious, including a bath. The room was warm. Minor issues would be the narrow spiral staircase, with a luggage lift from the first floor, and the absence of a chair and desk in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheJeppos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great value and location, tucked off the main street so quiet for sleeping, comfortable bed but only a double. Lobby and main areas retain the rustic charm but room had been nicely updated modern bath, lighting and beds. Close to lots of small shops and restaurants friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdgopack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

One of my main criteria in reviewing an establishment is the answer to the question: "Would we come back?" In other words having spent what ever we did the first time around would we consider it a good value and compelling enough to come back for more? In the case of this hotel I would say "maybe." The location is fantastic. Off the main street and just adjacent to the beautiful Place des Vosges not far from the nearest Metro stop at the Bastille; its quiet, quaint and quite reasonably priced.

We had been in Paris some years earlier and had stayed at a hotel near Place de La Republique we will not return to (don't recall the name or else I'd review it) and in our sightseeing in the area stumbled upon this hotel. I took a photo of the outside and made a mental note that when we returned to look up this hotel. So I did and made the booking. David and Ana were very prompt and welcoming in the booking process.

The old charm of the building (c. 1605 per the website) has been maintained while the rooms and facilities are modern and well kept. The building has six floors and the tiny elevator (very common in Paris) starts on the second and ends on the fourth. It's large enough for one person and a small suitcase or two people who don't mind being cozy with each other. So if you are unable to climb stairs to the second floor I suggest choosing another property.

We booked the room on the top floor and I must say we were very pleasantly surprised. A very large room with a large bath it was a challenge getting up there. The aforementioned elevator leaves you on the 4th floor, the stairs to the next floor are like the others but the stairs to the 6th floor are tiny and very narrow. See the photo. But once you open the door to the top floor 'suite' all is forgotten. Very charming, the room occupies the entire top floor. Everything worked, plenty of hot water and and boasts views from the window on one side of the building and the small balcony on the other side.

Some folks will probably find breakfast not worth the cost so if you can rent your room without it you may wish to consider it. Don't remember exactly what was served but it was pretty basic. Next time I would forgo it and go somewhere nearby. There are plenty of culinary choices in the immediate area.

The staff were not unpleasant but not particularly effusive either, just a Parisian thing I guess.

A pleasant, cozy and romantic venue with decent but not fantastic value for the price but nothing about it is really compelling to make us want to return. I would look into it on our next visit but would also look elsewhere.

Room Tip: We rented the top floor room - a gem with limited but charming views of the city
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FrankofAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Grand Hotel Malher
Grand Hotel Malher
#691 of 1,803 in Paris
199 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#403 of 1,803 in Paris
635 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#66 of 1,803 in Paris
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Bastille Speria
Hotel Bastille Speria
#684 of 1,803 in Paris
402 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
Hotel Turenne Le Marais
#362 of 1,803 in Paris
488 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
Hotel de la Herse d'Or
#1,563 of 1,803 in Paris
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Place des Vosges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Place des Vosges

Address: 12 rue de Birague, 75004 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,198 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $150 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Place des Vosges 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de la Place des Vosges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Place Des Vosges

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing