We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for a hostel in dodgy out of the way area”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Auberge de Jeunesse D'Artagnan
Ranked #111 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
merseyside
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“OK for a hostel in dodgy out of the way area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in March and the hostel does have it's good and bad points.

Good:
Breakfast was included for us. It wasn't the greatest or most inspiring, but cereal and juice was enough to set us up
It was peaceful. We were on the 4th floor and didn't hear our neighbours at all
It's very close to the metro. It takes about 20 minutes to get into the tourist-y areas such as the Notre Dame and the Louvre. You can get an all day ticket for roughly 3EUR which is a bargain
There is a supermarket next door which was handy

Bad:
Bedbugs! Oh my word. The beds were quite comfy, don't get me wrong, but I was covered in bites. Obviously you're probably going to encounter them in hostels, but a deep clean now and then should sort them out!
The rooms could do with a bit of a clean. We got to our room and next to our bunk there hairs..... of all varieties...... next to and on the bed.
The staff weren't particularly friendly. We had to ask for a map which was begrudgingly given over and when we asked if the guy could mark out where we were on it he rolled his eyes and stomped off. We managed though.
The neighbourhood was really dodgy. Walking back from the metro at night we would pass groups of youths hanging around and shouting at us.

To be honest, you get what you pay for. For a hostel, it was OK. I've been in better and worse.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank casualelegance88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    48
    50
    22
    41
See reviews for
6
13
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Now , personally, I couldn't care less about them, but the distaff side of the family was most vocal in her disapproval of such a thing! However, everything else was great; the continental breakfast was just superb; the kids just kept going back for more until reined in! Friendly staff and reasonably quiet, it was OK!

Postscript: friends of ours stayed there in August 2011 and said the paper sheets were gone!

Our stay here was in March, 2010....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ENZEDFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Dockside bar in the basement a revelation, good beer & service at the cheapest prices in Paris (3 euros for 50 CL in Paris unbelivable)! The bar owner (Patt Desville) was brilliant coped with our rugby tour lads superbly and he's some guitarist to when he jamed with some Bretons on our first night there the live music was great.
Rooms are simple and adequate, staff were frendly a good typical french breakfast was on offer till 11am. Ample shower & toilet facilities, laundry room/games rooms etc on ground floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed at the hostel for 6 nights. It was a rather miserable place, the staff were rather unfriendly and the whole place had the feeling it was run as a business rather than 'by travellers, for travellers'. The place was full of school groups and business people, it's incredibly hard to meet fellow travellers.

Breakfast is the standard fare, though with a French bent to it. Have to pay for wi-fi online using a credit card, otherwise you'll have to pay the normal exorbitant rate at the computers. Shower's are the water-saving type that mean you have to press the button once every 30 seconds to keep the water on, which is rather annoying

Location is okay, though it's near the end of a metro line so not that close to the center.

I would advise using another Paris hostel, this place is good as a place only to dump your bags and go exploring the city. Even then, it only just passes.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sigism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

This Hostel Is a good place to stay. Service is good and pleople know about the area.
There is a grocerie store near so you can have fresh food.
Breakfast is typical French breackfast, Bread, ham, cereals

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brobit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

I've been in Le D'artagnan for 4 nights and it is a good hostel, not a great hostel, just regular, the staff is ok but it isn't very helpfull and not so nice too. The food is ok, the restroom just regular, the shower sometimes it's too hot sometimes cold! I needed a medical assistance and the guy from the night period doesn't seemed too helpful I just get the doctor next day when a nice girl from staff called it. The room its ok but the restroom its not, its close to a metro station and if you want something regular I recommend the hostel cause that what I was expecting!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabianofusaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy trieste
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2010

Not too bad, simple like the others hostels! Quite clean room, medium clean bathroom. Somethimes noisy nights, big breakfast as in every hostel i've visited. Good position, the area is uptown so u can come back in safety at night. kind receptionists

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paris
Hotel Reseda
#1 of 6 in Bagnolet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Le Marais
Auberge de Jeunesse MIJE  Fourcy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Auberge Internationale des Jeunes
République
Les Piaules
Les Piaules
#30 of 155 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Montmartre
Le Montclair Hostel
Le Montclair Hostel
#10 of 155 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de Jeunesse D'Artagnan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Jeunesse D'Artagnan

Property: Auberge de Jeunesse D'Artagnan
Address: 80 rue Vitruve | 20th Arr., 75020 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 135
Also Known As:
Auberge De Jeunesse d`Artagnan Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing