We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Ranked #197 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed 6 nights in a beautiful room on the 3rd floor. Sitting area with desk, sofa, and mini bar. Bath stocked with upscale amenities. Room looked out over a charming street scene and cafe across the street. Staff was very accommodating and gracious. Breakfast delicious and included in the room rate. Metro station within a block. Lots to see within walking distance and the Metro nearby puts the entire city quickly at your disposal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (502)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 502 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

Fabulous Hotel!!! Designer boutique hotel with gorgeous decor and ambience. Fantastic room. Fantastic Location. The restaurant "Le Comptoir" downstairs is the real highlight. Amazing food, reasonably priced....they could charge double. People were lining up outside all night hoping for a table. This is a standout hotel. Loved it !

Room Tip: We stayed in the cheapest room and it was large and fabulous. Great decor, view and bathroom.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon in June of 2012. It was our honeymoon, so we splurged for the Marguerite de Navarre suite with terrace, which was totally worth it. It was fun to sit on the little terrace and watch the world go by, and the extra space and cool decor were much appreciated. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the details and character in the room made it feel like you were staying in your very own deluxe loft.

Staying here gets you a reservation to Le Comptoir, which was excellent, as was the more casual Le Avant Comptoir. Breakfast was delivered to our room, even the morning that we slept in too late and forgot to order it.

The location is perfect for Paris, just off Boulevard Saint-Germain in the heart of the Left Bank. There was a metro stop less than a block away, but it's always more fun to walk to wherever you're going. You are close to Luxembourg Gardens, and there are a lot of nice cafes in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This small, charming boutique hotel includes staff who provide the best in service, including the willingness and ability to secure tables for us at the finest restaurants in town. Attached to Le Comptoir du Relais brasserie - bistro, which offers good, reasonably priced French food, our room rates included a wonderful breakfast, and the ability to secure a table at Le Comptoir on the same day, provided one was a little flexible about dinner time. This is no small deal, since Le Comptoir is currently booked fully until April of next year, and had a long line of walk-ups hoping to secure a table each night that we stayed at the hotel. Conveniently located in the 6th arr., the hotel is a very short walk away from the Metro, several sites frequented by tourists (The Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, L'Orangerie, Notre Dame, Saint Chapelle, etc.), and one of the best food markets in town, and one of the best chocolatiers in France, Patrick Roger.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Excellent excellent hotel in the 6th arrondissment !!

Excellent location within 2 mins walk to Odeon metro.
The 6th is an interesting area to explore on foot and many Parisian tourist sites are within walking distance - the Lourve, the Musee d'Orsay, Notre Dame Cathedral. Additionally, there are many interesting, gorgeous and delicious boutique shops around to purchase excellent charcuterie, bread, cheese, wine etc.

The room itself was large for parisian standards with a very comfortable bed, turndown service and even room service - extremely unusual for a boutique hotel.
The room was parisian in many ways with polished wood furniture, paintings and comfortable sofas.
The windows overlooked the main street from a balcony bed of flowers but noise was not a major issue and the heavy curtains were great to block out light.
Front desk/ concierge were extremely helpful - assisting me with restaurant reservations prior to arrival and had some good restaurant recommendations as well as itineraries.
Staff were friendly.

Breakfast is served daily at Le Comptoir and is an assortment of baked goods, sliced ham off the bone, cheese and boiled eggs.
It's during dinner and lunch service whereby Le Comptoir really shines - one of my favourite restaurants/bistros with imaginative yet down to earth food which doesn't just excite the palate but also creates a warm feeling in your tummy. I still dream of their parmentier d'or.

Beautiful !
I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We returned to Paris at the end of our trip to Europe and decided to once again stay in the 6th Arr. because the location can't be beat. It is very close to Notre Dame and the Louvre and although a longer walk, accessible to Eiffel Tower within a half hour.
We chose to stay at Relais St. Germaine, a lovely hotel on a great street that offers many restaurants and cafes nearby. We arrived by train and took a cab to the hotel. We were immediately met by a young man who took our luggage and brought it to our room. The people who worked at the desk explained everything to us including the complementary breakfast that is served in an adjoining restaurant off of the reception area. This restaurant, "Le Comptoir", is open for dinner and always has a line. So if you want dinner there talk to the hotel about reservations. The breakfast was very nice and served elegantly with white linen. Croissants, breads, soft or hard boiled eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit, tea, coffee and juice. Perfect for starting the day.
We did have one problem at the hotel. When we checked in we just dropped our bags and started out for a day of sightseeing. When we returned to the room it was late and we just wanted to go to sleep. Unfortunately we realized that the room reeked of cigarette smoke. (We had requested a non-smoking room when we first emailed the hotel to book the room). It was a little older room with heavy fabric drapes and shaggy rug and the smoke smell permeated them. Even opening the window didn't help. Though it was 10:30 pm I called the front desk and spoke with someone about our problem. They were extremely helpful and gracious. That evening there was not another room available but they offered to send someone up to try to use a de-oderizing product in the room. At this point it was too late in the evening for us to get involved with that and just asked that the room be switched the next day. We packed up all our luggage again anticipating this. We spoke with reception again first thing in the morning before leaving on an all day trip to the Loire Valley. The gentleman on duty was great. He did not see that we had requested a non-smoking room. I did have a copy of my email to show him but didn't really need it. He was going to make us happy anyway. He told us to go and enjoy our day and that when we arrived back that evening we would have a new room and our luggage would be in it. We were delighted when we came back to be in a newly decorated, larger and most importantly smoke-free room. This room had a great view, lots of space, comfortable king bed and very good bathroom. Sometimes when you travel you encounter a problem that can't be helped. This hotel rectified it and reacted to our needs. They also said that it is probable that the entire hotel will be smoke free within the year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ji24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

On our 12th visit to Paris since 1999, we stayed four nights in a junior suite at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain. We have previously stayed in both hotels and weekly apt rentals in the 8th, 7th and 6th Arr. The hotel's location provides a terrific base for venturing around Paris either by Metro (the 4 line is a 5 minute walk) or by bus, as well as by foot. The room (# 44 ) was large and all facilities were clean and in good repair. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Free wifi worked well.
Staff were responsive and helpful. We ate one of our meals at Le Comptoir. Chef Yves Camdeborde was a welcoming host and presented a wonderful meal at a modest price for the quality and sophistication of the meal. (Perfectly prepared fois gras and cepes, and a large cheese selection and simple but elegant dessert). The wines by the glass were both excellent and a bargain! The Chef's attention to detail in the food and presentation by the wait staff is noteworthy- a class act.
The hotel staff provided an excellent dinner recommendation for another night's repast.
We have already rebooked a room for our next visit to Paris.
Merci bien Claudine et Yves Camdeborde

Room Tip: Higher floors would be better in escaping City traffic noise if the windows are open.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,804 in Paris
1,085 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#194 of 1,804 in Paris
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel du Levant
Hotel du Levant
#193 of 1,804 in Paris
1,179 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#42 of 1,804 in Paris
1,247 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#198 of 1,804 in Paris
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Address: 9 Carrefour de l Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#42 Family Hotel in Paris
#138 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#300 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $388 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing