We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location and great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Relais Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Meilleurs prix en direct!
Ranked #46 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great location and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We returned to Paris at the end of our trip to Europe and decided to once again stay in the 6th Arr. because the location can't be beat. It is very close to Notre Dame and the Louvre and although a longer walk, accessible to Eiffel Tower within a half hour.
We chose to stay at Relais St. Germaine, a lovely hotel on a great street that offers many restaurants and cafes nearby. We arrived by train and took a cab to the hotel. We were immediately met by a young man who took our luggage and brought it to our room. The people who worked at the desk explained everything to us including the complementary breakfast that is served in an adjoining restaurant off of the reception area. This restaurant, "Le Comptoir", is open for dinner and always has a line. So if you want dinner there talk to the hotel about reservations. The breakfast was very nice and served elegantly with white linen. Croissants, breads, soft or hard boiled eggs, meat, cheese, yogurt, fruit, tea, coffee and juice. Perfect for starting the day.
We did have one problem at the hotel. When we checked in we just dropped our bags and started out for a day of sightseeing. When we returned to the room it was late and we just wanted to go to sleep. Unfortunately we realized that the room reeked of cigarette smoke. (We had requested a non-smoking room when we first emailed the hotel to book the room). It was a little older room with heavy fabric drapes and shaggy rug and the smoke smell permeated them. Even opening the window didn't help. Though it was 10:30 pm I called the front desk and spoke with someone about our problem. They were extremely helpful and gracious. That evening there was not another room available but they offered to send someone up to try to use a de-oderizing product in the room. At this point it was too late in the evening for us to get involved with that and just asked that the room be switched the next day. We packed up all our luggage again anticipating this. We spoke with reception again first thing in the morning before leaving on an all day trip to the Loire Valley. The gentleman on duty was great. He did not see that we had requested a non-smoking room. I did have a copy of my email to show him but didn't really need it. He was going to make us happy anyway. He told us to go and enjoy our day and that when we arrived back that evening we would have a new room and our luggage would be in it. We were delighted when we came back to be in a newly decorated, larger and most importantly smoke-free room. This room had a great view, lots of space, comfortable king bed and very good bathroom. Sometimes when you travel you encounter a problem that can't be helped. This hotel rectified it and reacted to our needs. They also said that it is probable that the entire hotel will be smoke free within the year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ji24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    86
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
78
262
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

On our 12th visit to Paris since 1999, we stayed four nights in a junior suite at Hotel Relais Saint-Germain. We have previously stayed in both hotels and weekly apt rentals in the 8th, 7th and 6th Arr. The hotel's location provides a terrific base for venturing around Paris either by Metro (the 4 line is a 5 minute walk) or by bus, as well as by foot. The room (# 44 ) was large and all facilities were clean and in good repair. Breakfast was simple but adequate. Free wifi worked well.
Staff were responsive and helpful. We ate one of our meals at Le Comptoir. Chef Yves Camdeborde was a welcoming host and presented a wonderful meal at a modest price for the quality and sophistication of the meal. (Perfectly prepared fois gras and cepes, and a large cheese selection and simple but elegant dessert). The wines by the glass were both excellent and a bargain! The Chef's attention to detail in the food and presentation by the wait staff is noteworthy- a class act.
The hotel staff provided an excellent dinner recommendation for another night's repast.
We have already rebooked a room for our next visit to Paris.
Merci bien Claudine et Yves Camdeborde

Room Tip: Higher floors would be better in escaping City traffic noise if the windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have stayed in many Saint Germain hotels, from Hotel Buci to Aubusson and recently booked Relais Saint Germain because we wanted to get reservations at the restaurant,. We fell in love with the hotel. It is very charming - our room was beautiful. We were on the first floor on the street side and worried about noise but it was very well isulated and we didnt hear a thing. Staff were nice and helpful. We got prompt and curteous assistance to all our email requests for assistance with reservations and several changes we requested. The breakfasts were exceptional. I also think, having stayed in numerous areas of St Germain, that this is our favorite location - close and central but removed just enought to iffer a little more peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sherif_chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Friendly staff. Very nice room (Rm 34.) Great French breakfast. 1 block to Rue St-Germain and Odeon metro station. What more would you want? The Hotel Relais Saint-Germain definitely contributed to our having a perfect 40th wedding anniversary celebration in France.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Scweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times. And as always a great experience. The staff helped us make dinner reservations at at the last hour. They also spent a lot of time helping us find the IMAX theater that we wanted to go to. They also took the time in getting to know us when we were home sick for our loved ones at home. They listen and make you feel so comfortable in this hotel. When they see you outside of the hotel, they ask you how are you enjoying your say. They treat you with respect and kindness at all times. The breakfasts are wonderful. The ham and cheese are exceptional that come with the breakfast. The beds are so comfortable. The hotel is located in the perfect location of Paris. Line 4 is a five minute walk to get the metro to the Gare du Nord so that you can catch the train to the airport. If you like vanilla cream, the restaurant makes the best one in Paris. I have already booked my stay for next year.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Seine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean, tidy, well maintained and located in a great part of the city. Our room was well apportioned. The bed was a bit hard but the room was comfortable to sleep in as it was air conditioned, quiet, and the heavy curtains provided a dark room by blocking out ambient light. Breakfast was included and it was by far the best we've had. Fresh croissants, baguette, orange juice, fruit, yogurt, cheese, ham, boiled egg, coffee, tea. The hotel is well situated to the metro, taxi stand and bus stops.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank M911e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
189 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I chose this hotel from the reviews on TA and will add mine as well as saying it is a lovely hotel. The area was ideal as just a 10 minute walk to Notre Dame and close to lots of shopping. The hotel is just off of Saint-Germain and is a quaint hotel with squeaky floor and a charming staff. Our room was number 10, just up a flight of steps but was a lovely room with dark wood beamed ceiling. Breakfast was included which was a light continental one but more then enough to start your day. You get an actual key for your room and have to turn it in each time you go out and get it back when you return. Just like they did it in the movies. As I loved Paris and will return the only reason I would not stay here is if I wanted to try a different part of the city, otherwise I wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Room Tip: As I did not see other rooms I can't compare, but number 10 was great as you didn't need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#22 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,154 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#36 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Abbaye Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#48 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#65 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#94 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Address: 9, Carrefour de l'Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#34 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#42 Family Hotel in Paris
#299 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing