We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Ranked #203 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have rented apartments in Paris for 15 years, then stayed at the Hotel Relais Saint-Germain at the recommendation of friends. We have now stayed here 3 times and feel that it is our home away from home. The staff, including the amazing Marie and Anna, is organized and helpful and charming does not begin to describe these wonderful women who have made our stays perfect. The service from all the staff is attentive and friendly and reservations in great restaurants, concerts, and exhibitions can all be arranged at the hotel. Our rooms have always been lovely and clean and we like the fact that the hotel is intimate in scale and located in one of the best spots in St. Germain de Pres, among cafes, bars, boutiques, and antique stores. The hotel stay includes access to dinners at Le Comptoir, the restaurant owned by chef Yves Camdeborde who, with his wife, also owns the hotel. Breakfast, which is included with the room price, can only be decribed as an event not to miss. If you are looking for a large, American style hotel, the Hotel Relais Saint-Germain is not for you. If you are looking for the best of Parisian charm, this is the place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 513 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

we are old hands at paris hotels ............ rive gauche hotels in particular ........... this is the best so far

the location is superb

our suite / room was a very good size especially for central paris ........... it was individually furnished and we adored it ...........tasteful accommodating warm friendly

bed was comfortable

amenities were decent

separate toilet and bathroom which was great and the bathroom had a bath which was a pleasure

breakfast is expensive but good quality

wi fi is free but wi fi is patchy

yeah there are quibbles about the french and french service but if you have quibbles one ought not be going to paris


we had a fabulous time

we are looking forward to returning

Room Tip: we stayed in a suite ............room 34 ......... the room was a delight .........dont worry about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainesfavourite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the first time I have stayed at this hotel. I arrived late, and was upgraded to the suite. My wife arrived the next day. The room was so charming that we were reluctant to leave it to walk around Paris (!). The staff was outstanding. Breakfast is served in the bistro attached to the hotel. Again a good experience. This is a boutique hotel in an old building, and so for example has no gym. The elevator is small, as it is a later addition to the original building. If one wants a big chain hotel, this is not it. After we returned home, my wife said to me that is the first time in life that she is homesick for a hotel!

Room Tip: The suites are indeed bigger, but every room is a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GabrielGideon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel and restaurant is OK, but would not go back. We stayed in feb'13 one night (a Friday) and booked dinner in the restaurant 'Le Comptoir'. Our room was number 30, a Deluxe.
Good: Booking on-line was easy and staff very helpful and responsive over the phone and by email; Room was a good size, with separate sitting area and table for two for leisurely breakfast overlooking the Place below; Plenty of room to store bags and clothes too ; Hotel is in a great location and two minute walk from Metro; Staff are welcoming and check-in is very easy; The hotel lobby is fun and quirky, with a small lounge where you can have a drink and computer available; Decent breakfast (boiled eggs, ham, croissant, baguette, yoghurts, jam, honey, although coffee could have been hotter).
Not so Good: Loo and bathroom was not super-clean on arrival. The room, street facing, was quite noisy, particularly the scooters in the evening and wouldn't recommend if you are a light sleeper;
Restaurant
Was really looking forward to the dinner, having read the rave reviews about Le Comptoir. In summary, the cooking was good, except for chocolate pudding which was forgettable. Starter was the best, a risotto, then a delicious piece of fish, followed by veal (slightly chewy but great flavour), then amazing looking cheese board, then pudding. 60 Euros per head. For the money it wasn't spectacular. The most disappointing thing was the service. It's not a big restaurant, but our waitress seemed highly stressed as the evening wore on. In fact all the waiting staff seem to rush constantly round at great speed, dropping plates etc. I would not have minded, but I had to ask twice for more wine to go with my cheese and it never materialised - isn't wine without cheese a cardinal sin in France? And such a shame with such a great cheeseboard. V surprising. You get the feeling that the staff are not as professional as they should be, especially considering the high-end prices. We had another surprise when my wife asked for a green salad instead of her cheese. What materialised were two gem lettuces cut in half and then decorated with what looked like stripes of chocolate sauce for the salad dressing (it was a balsamic vinaigrette but looked like an ice cream). Anyway, I came away thinking that in this place, it is perhaps more about show then making sure the diners have a really great meal. BTW, the restaurant was packed and they were turning punters away all evening.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dvi93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel with the bonus of le Comptoir downstairs! The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The rooms are very well appointed and large especially by Paris standards. The only minus (minor) was that the bathroom is small when compared with the size of the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsie2886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having lived in Paris ourselves and now coming regularly for business or tourism to town, we have a pretty good picture of what the city offers in terms of hotels. We booked the Relais St. Germain due to the recommendation of friends and were very pleasantly surprised. The room (we had a twin room) was quite big for Paris standard (with a quite small bathroom, which was not an issue for us), clean and an individual and lovely decoration. It had a good a large bed (Paris standard is often only 1,40) and nice covers, a good air con. The view on the carrefour de l'Odéon is nice and though is is buy on the outside, then windows are pretty soundproof (and I am quite sensitive to noise). Outstanding was the breakfast, not a huge choice, as you have in an international big hotel with buffet breakfast, but of very good quality served in the lovely bistro while you can watch the city getting busy. A great start in the day.
The services are really good (reception, turndown-service etc.) and don't miss a dinner in the restaurant which belongs to the hotel, the comptoir, we had the fixed menu gastronomique and it was outstanding. Do not expect an anglo-saxon service though, the waiters are typically Parisian style, efficient and with not much too understanding for people with slow reactions! We liked it, but we are used to it.
Well and last but not least the location is great, the metro station is just two steps away, it is most easy to reach the airport by metro / RER, avcoid spending money on a cab and get stuck in the traffic. Shopping, cinemas and many restaurants are very close.
We will definitly stay here when coming back to Paris.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurence_Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We love this hotel. It is almost a hidden gem. It is located by one of the best restaurants in Paris and if you blink, you might miss the red door entrance. The rooms are large for Paris standards and the staff fall over themselves to help you with whatever needs you might have. They also can help you get a table at Le Comptoir, which is normally no reservations and waiting 20 mins or more for a table. It is close to the river, the ile de la cite, the Luxembourg gardens, Panthéon and more. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#119 of 1,803 in Paris
1,119 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#67 of 1,803 in Paris
1,272 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
Hotel Esprit Saint Germain
#315 of 1,803 in Paris
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#50 of 1,803 in Paris
902 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#204 of 1,803 in Paris
888 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#135 of 1,803 in Paris
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Address: 9 Carrefour de l Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#42 Family Hotel in Paris
#143 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#299 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $382 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing