We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Ranked #148 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very cute!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location. Loved the Saint Germain area...lots of bistros, restaurants, cute....We had the twin room, Hemingway room and thought it was adorable. Bathroom a bit small but nonetheless charming. I suggest if you have a car, find out about the public parking meters and the card you can buy with allotted money for parking. We did not know about this and was unable to park anywhere curbside with meters because it did not accept regular credit cards. We ended always parking underground which is quite expensive. If you are staying at this hotel, there is parking nearby for a hefty price of 33 euros a day...we were unaware as the hotel never mentioned anything to us. The hotel included the breakfast which was adequate though I wish they would have varied it a little as for the whole time we were there we had the exact same thing everyday. We did have it in our room everyday, not sure if when visiting the restaurant for breakfast the selection would have been different. We also dined at the Le Comptoir du Relais next to the hotel being its convenient and same ownership. The restaurant has recognition and so does the chef but we did not think much of it. The food was okay nothing out of this world and the service, for what we paid, 220 euros for two people....we expected a little more attentiveness. In all of our dining experiences in Paris, this was by far the worst we had. The hotel was good and I do recommend for other travelers interested in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCosmoExperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    93
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
82
281
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the cheapest room available and had a great vacation. Charming and not too small; quiet even though we were right above the front door. Great location for jogging in the lux. gardens. I requested a dinner reservation when I booked; the breakfast was great: the ham the waiter is slicing in the picture is as good as it looks. Hated to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This small service-oriented hotel is ideally located in the 6th arrondissement. You have preferred access to both the brasserie and the more formal evening menu of Le Comptoir. Breakfast is included and it is wonderful. The staff are knowledgeable,friendly,and extremely attentive. I have stayed at other more expensive Paris hotels but never felt as welcome as here.This hotel is especially suited for couples

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mfpinop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A great hotel in a great location. Room was lovely and had its own sitting area. We had breakfast in our room which was excellent. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We will stay again in the future.We also had dinner in the adjoining Le Comptoir Restaurant which was very good. The restaurant is very popular and locals queue for a table. Although I can speak a little French, a menu in English/English translation would have been helpful.

Room Tip: Junior Suite are large rooms and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I recently arrived at the hotel early- around Midday on a Sunday morning,intending to perhaps leave our luggage, shop and return later to check in for a much anticipated 3 night final fling in Paris. Without a hint of concern we received a genuine and warm welcome by the highly professional staff who assured us that a room was ready and waiting for us and indeed if we would like to have lunch at La Comptoir, a table could be arranged. Yes please! It is not uncommon for patrons to book 6 months in advance for a dinner reservation at this exquisite establishment. Our room was beautifully decorated and spacious it overlooked Geranium filled window boxes onto the small square in front of the Hotel and Restaurant. Rain drizzled relentlessly but that was no deterrant to the 20 people who patiently waited for a table. At 3.30 our cosy inside table became vacant, those without a reservation cheerfully ate under heaters at tables outside on the pavement. Such is the attraction and well deserved reputation of this cuisine . A thoroughly memorable and enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A very high standard of accommodation in all room catagories. We enjoyed a street view. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 631FleurieuFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked this hotel as part of my wife's birthday celebrations and it exceeded our expectations in every way. As I had informed the hotel in advance of the special occasion there was a complementary bottle of Champagne "on ice" upon our arrival, the staff were helpful and knowledgeable with recommendations of places to visit and eat, and even suggested they book our tickets to the Louvre as we would avoid the queues (tip... do this)

There a lot of comments on trip advisor about the great breakfast, and all I can do is confirm these positive reports, the breakfast was amazing

If there is a "typically French" then this is it and staying here was an absolute joy and one day we will return

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal12345_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

What a wonderful experience !

Definitely a place to recommend to friends. The food, room, staff & location all memorable.

Couldn't ask for better, from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble, personalised attention & warm welcome. The room a Jr. Suite, stylish (as expected in Paris), beautiful taste full furniture. I loved the wooden beam ceilings. Bathroom a bit ordinary in appearance, but functional. You will be pleasantly surprised by first class shampoo's, conditioner & bath Gel.

The Restaurant attached "Le Comptoir" is special, one of the new neo-bistro gaining importance in Paris for providing reasonable priced gastronomic creations. The choice is limited, as its mostly a set menu all based on seasonal foods, but do not thing any one will be hungry or disappointed. You only have to look on-line for a the review in English, (more in french) and even an appearance on Anthony Bordain's - no reservation. You need to book well in advance, or stay at hotel. Open from 12 noon, to late at night. No reservations on weekends, just have to wait like the rest. You can stand outside waiting for entry, or we were told after 3pm, until early dinner 6pm for shorter queue.

The location is great, uplifting and alive with incredible shops (food & clothes) without being snooty. some window decorations made me drool with expectation. Not far from trains, buses, and tucked away. 5 mins away you find the Latin quarter. People of all walks, make it seem to be the real live Paris, not just touristville.

We went there for 10yr wedding aniversary expecting a great memory, We got that and more, we were lucky to get upgraded to Jr. Suite, and after dinner reservation, got back to room to find personalised note of congratulations, and Champagne, chips, cashews, and olives.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#108 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#61 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#30 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#169 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Address: 9 Carrefour de l Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#42 Family Hotel in Paris
#110 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#300 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing