We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful European Style Hotel with Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Ranked #148 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful European Style Hotel with Excellent Location”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent 5 days at the Relais Saint Germain in early July 2012. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. Rooms were clean; service was professional; European style breakfast was excellent. Air conditioning worked; Plus there is a very well respected restaurant where we had an exceptional dinner (and guests of the hotel have preferred access as lines are always long). The location is very good (6th district) with a subway stop and bus stop right around the corner. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: The area around the hotel is busy. If you are a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a rooom away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank migFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    93
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
82
281
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have been lucky enough to visit Paris with my family at least once a year for the last 5 years. Over time we have experimented with left and right bank hotels, both boutique and big brands. Hotel Relais St. Germain has proved to be the family favorite. We just finished our second stay there in less than a year, this time with myself and two of the teenage boys. Everybody loved it. If you are looking for a boutique hotel on the left bank, this is your best value.

The staff are friendly, helpful, and always there when you need them. After a day or two you will feel like family. Beyond the wonderful people, the hotel has larger than average (for Paris), very clean, rooms, and is in a perfect location to walk (or Metro) to anything you will want to do while in Paris. Breakfast comes with the room, and is "just right:" A selection of a few high quality, fresh, items, instead of what we have seen at other places (large slections of mostly sub-par food).

Do yourself a favor and avoid learning the hard way just how much nicer this hotel is than most other left bank hotels. Make this your first left bank boutique.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
13 Thank EyesToTheSky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent a week here enjoying our large room and the beautiful surrounding of this lovely hotel. The staff was charming and ever helpful. We went to nearby Luxembourg Gardens daily to work off the amazing crepes from the Comptoir window. The entire St. Germain area is so much fun so there was always something to do, but Odeon metro stop is about a two minute walk away when you're ready to travel to the major sites.I have only a tiny complaint. At these prices, I think it's silly to charge extra for an egg in such an upscale setting which has fabulous service in this picturesque breakfast room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laud767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in June and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is beautiful and charming. The location was vibrant and picturesque. We loved it.
We walked everywhere from the Relais and enjoyed the beauty of the city and the cafes along the way.
We were well cared for by the staff. Breakfast was exceptional - delicious, gorgeously presented, and healthy. We were early for breakfast one morning and saw the staff return from a bakery with the fresh bread and croissants.
When we return to Paris we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBLongBeach_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My experience at the Relais St Germain has been wonderful and inviting.
Whether it be at the Hotel Reception or at the Comptoir Restaurant, the staff gives professional and excellent service. I enjoy the delicious and generous parisian breakfast served by Christophe who always shows great efficiency ! The rooms have lovely furnishings and are cleaned impeccably. Centrally located in St Germain next to Odeon station, it is close to fabulous shops and I love its buzz at night.
Stay there you will love it but book early !

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NBC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spent 5 nights in Paris at this charming hotel in a wonderful walking location to many popular sights - the Seine, Notre Dame, Musee D'Orsay, Louvre etc. Mornings began with a walk in the nearby Luxemborg Gardens followed by a sumptuous breakfast of breads, fresh juice, fruit,ham,cheese,eggs etc. Our deluxe room faced the street, with lots of nearby cafes. Even the nighttime activity added to the charm, but could easily be blocked out by closing the windows.The A/C worked beautifully. Our room had a nearly separate sleeping area with a sitting room adjacent and a table where we enjoyed a late afternoon glass of wine while people watching the folks below at the cafes. The hotel owner, Claudine, and her staff could not have been more gracious and welcoming. The day we arrived, we had a delicious lunch at their attached restaurant, Le Comptoir, which is run by her husband. One proviso would be if stairs are a problem. There was a narrow flight to the tiny (2 person) elevator in our section of the hotel, and a few more to our room at the landing.The circular stairwell in this 300+ year old structure might prove daunting for some. For us, it added to the charm as did the stylish blue and white decor, the window boxes with flowering plants, and the original ceiling beams. Having been there once, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else on our next visit to Paris.

Room Tip: We had room 30.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doublebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I've stayed in several small hotels in the Saint Germain/Latin Quarter area and this one was the best. It's an easy walk to the Luxembourg Gardens or the Odeon metro station, and not much farther to Saint Michel. My family had a junior suite and a double room on the third floor. A note for people with mobility issues: the junior suite had two steps down from the entryway into the bedroom area. Also, the elevator is tiny-- it takes a maximum of three not-very-large people. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. While the hotel is located in a busy area little noise was noticeable in our rooms, which faced the street. The included breakfast is more than ample. The personnel are all very pleasant, and everyone on the front desk spoke excellent English. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amaklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#108 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#61 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel d'Aubusson
Hotel d'Aubusson
#30 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#169 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais Saint-Germain

Property: Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Address: 9 Carrefour de l Odeon, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#42 Family Hotel in Paris
#110 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#300 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Relais Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Paris, between the Sorbonne and Saint Germain des Pres, Relais Saint Germain perpetuates the literary and gourmet tradition of the latin quarter while offering its own complete art de vivre. The Hotel, the bar with its hors d'oeuvre, the brasserie during the day and the gourmet restaurant at dinner dinner time, contribute to a unique and outstanding range of services. Our ambition is to offer our clients personalized rooms in a family(style environment while giving them a taste of our vision of luxury a la francaise. Relais saint Germain is your choice location with is sophisticated and convivial ambiance. Because Paris is a "moveable feast" our rooms are dedicated to the writers who contributed to the legend of the capital : Honore de Balzac, Antoine Blondin, Hemingway, Joyce, Proust, casanova, Francois Sagan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Relais Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Saint Germain Paris
Relais St Germain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing