We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Paris Hotel”
Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Aubusson
Ranked #30 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Small Paris Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2010

This is our second trip back to the Hotel d’Aubusson and will return again. The rooms are large and bathrooms are undergoing remodeling (our room had the change and it was very nice). The location is perfect being a couple of blocks from the Seine and the heart of the left bank.

Breakfast is one of the best that we have had in our travels in Europe. Full European Breakfast along with eggs cooked to order if you request. The pastries and meat were wonderful along with scrambled eggs with bacon, ham, etc.

The staff are always available to assist you in your daily travels and making reservations at local restaurants or three star properties. Always a smile and “bonjour” when you come and go.

The bar on the first floor has jazz several nights a week and it is a special time in Paris to sit there and enjoy the music.

We had the romance package and it is well worth looking into if you stay at the hotel for more than three nights.

A wonderful experience and more than reason enough to return to Paris. That we will do!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnASeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    170
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
186
581
36
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

The location is perfect. The concierges are excellent (our three favorites were Audrey, Enzo and Jean). We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we return to Paris. They have free internet on 2 separate laptops in the lobby. The rooms were cleaned every day, but not as nicely as we would expect for the price. The turndown service was okay. Breakfast was good, but didn't vary (BTW the cook at D'Aubusson has no idea how to cook bacon. It was just this side of raw every day). I mention some negatives because no place is perfect, but overall we loved it here.

2 tips: excellent walking shoes are an absolute essential, and the least effort at attempting the language will be rewarded.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Central_Jersey_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel in a fabulous location: close enough to main attractions, but on a fairly quiet yet vibrant street near the Latin Quarter. We were able to walk almost anywhere and especially enjoyed wandering the charming neighborhood at night. The rooms were small, but clean. What set this hotel apart from others for me was the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful and had a big smile on his or her face. I must admit I was a little worried about the reported disdain the French have for Americans. But these folks couldn't have been nicer. We paid 1/2 of what we could have for some of the "big name" hotels in Paris. Hopefully one day we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdelsavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Really great central location. Vibrant St. Germain-des-Pres a few blocks south, Latin Quarter a few blocks to the east. Notre Dame, Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, all easy walking distance. Ze Kitchen Galerie two blocks away was fabulous Asian-French fusion. Highly recommend as it tied with Guy Savoy for less dough. (Side note: Taillevent was a disappointment.)
Back to the hotel itself: nice enough in overall feel but closer to what I'd consider a 3 star, not 4. Standard room was decent but pretty basic and bland in decor. Not noisy at all, although we overlooked Rue Dauphine.
Breakfast was included for us but same thing everyday for a week got old.
Front desk staff mixed bag: one girl gave me wrong metro train directions, one young man was sweet and tried hard but not super knowledgeable, one guy (early 30's?) offered valuable info re Versailles being closed on Mondays when he overheard me talking to the other guy about going there the next day, which allowed us to go on Sunday instead and saved us the aggravation of going all the way out there only to be disappointed/frustrated.
No water one day when I wanted to shower at noon. I left the taps on and got water 10 mins. later. When inquired later, was told it was out for 45 minutes while being worked on. I realize it was an off time of day to shower, but if I'd been in a hurry, that would have been incredibly frustrating. Also, the water temp was preset to 38 degrees and was not hot enough and had weak pressure, while water from the hand-held head was nice and hot and strong pressure. A bit of a pain to have to use both in order to have a proper shower. Lastly, drain plug didn't work and the maid just pulled it out and left it on the sink after the first day when she saw that the tub wasn't draining.
Weirdly enough, though the sheets didn't feel rough to the touch, they made loud paper-rustling sounds when moving around during night. No problem for the asleep one; slightly irritating for the one TRYING to fall asleep.
Nice touch was that each day we got something different gratis: 1/2 bottle champagne, flowers, macaroons, fruit basket, jar of poached pears. And the usual chocolate covered almonds each night.
Hope this info is helpful, as I tried to provide different information than the standard reviews......

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank egfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

This hotel is in a great location in Paris and the hotel staff are very very nice. The room we got was facing street and was not the most calm room (but we booked last minute and it was Friday night - so I recommend telling to give them a room that is not facing street when booking if you are booking in advance). Still the room was comfortable and we had a very good stay.

For some reason there is no restaurant where you can have dinner but there is a in-room dining service available, which offers really good food. I will probably come back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank がゆこ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY,NY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We spent a week in Paris at the Hotel d'Aubbuson. The location was great--only a few blocks from the Seine in St. Germain district. The hotel staff were warm and inviting. We were treated like family.

Before we left the states everyone warned us that the French would be unfriendly. We found just the opposite. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. simply treat people as you would like to be treated.
If you are looking for a nice hotel in a good location this it it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reloga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My aunt and I stayed at Hotel d'Aubusson in March and our stay could not have been improved upon. Everything about the hotel is charming and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to smile and make sure we were comfortable and well cared for. The complimentary breakfast in the beautiful dining room was a great start to each morning.

Once outside the hotel, the location is perfect. You are a couple short blocks from Pont Neuf and all that lie near the Louvre, yet the hotel is nestled within a matrix of cafe's and boutiques. Boulevard St. Germain is two blocks in the opposite direction and Notre Dam and the lovely ile st Louis is a short ten minute walk.

I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmarti24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#82 of 1,801 in Paris
830 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#25 of 1,801 in Paris
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#62 of 1,801 in Paris
741 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#73 of 1,801 in Paris
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Property: Hotel d'Aubusson
Address: 33 rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#57 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#152 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay Museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing