We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like being with Family”
Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel d'Aubusson
Ranked #29 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
NY,NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Like being with Family”
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We spent a week in Paris at the Hotel d'Aubbuson. The location was great--only a few blocks from the Seine in St. Germain district. The hotel staff were warm and inviting. We were treated like family.

Before we left the states everyone warned us that the French would be unfriendly. We found just the opposite. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. simply treat people as you would like to be treated.
If you are looking for a nice hotel in a good location this it it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reloga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    168
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
181
581
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2010

My aunt and I stayed at Hotel d'Aubusson in March and our stay could not have been improved upon. Everything about the hotel is charming and comfortable. The staff went out of their way to smile and make sure we were comfortable and well cared for. The complimentary breakfast in the beautiful dining room was a great start to each morning.

Once outside the hotel, the location is perfect. You are a couple short blocks from Pont Neuf and all that lie near the Louvre, yet the hotel is nestled within a matrix of cafe's and boutiques. Boulevard St. Germain is two blocks in the opposite direction and Notre Dam and the lovely ile st Louis is a short ten minute walk.

I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmarti24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

I will always remember this hotel and most definitely will stay in this hotel. We booked hotel through Travel Agency here in US, however apparently our room was very small to fit a 8 years old kid which was very stressful to find out after 8 hrs flight. Hotel staff( don't remember his name) was extremely helpful and were able to upgrade our room to the junior suite. Excellent room and excellent service. Next time we are in Paris- we will stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ika27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2010

I recently suprised my wife with a trip to Paris in March to celebrate our twenty fifth wedding anniversary and had chosen the Hotel D'Aubusson. Having booked the hotel in August of last year Jean and his conceriege staff stayed in contact answering all the questions about restaurants etc, including recommending the outstanding Taillevent.

The Hotel, its staff, location, rooms, breakfast, are, as other have pointed out, excellent. If you are interested in staying on the left bank, within easy walking distance of everything from the Deux-Magots to Notre Dame you should seriously consider this hotel. Pick an olderstyle room with the exposed beams and dont worry about a little music on a Friday or Saturday night

Thank you Jean and Audrey - you helped make our visit very special

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuanBerbatov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles,ca
Level Contributor
350 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of our France trip. Our welcome was smooth and genuine. The room was well equipped,although it looked like the bathroom needed some remodelling. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet.j Breakfast was good and the location was superb. We also enjoyed the perks that came with our package-tickets to the Louvre, a boat ride on the Seine, tickets to a Vivaldi concert at SAint Chapelle. The most ourstanding quality of this excellent hotel was the quality of the staff. They remembered our names,always greeted us, made some wonderful recommendations for restaurants, and were, in general, very responsive to our needs.They also responded immediately to our critique of the hotel. We will definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel others.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mflickermd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago 'burbs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Loved my stay at this hotel. Great location, walk to Latin Quarter Cafes, Notre Dame etc. Loved the ambiance and the service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearsbigfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a week in March, 2010 after a lot of research on TripAdvisor and other sites. We wanted to stay on the Left Bank in the 5th Arr. but were concerned about the quality of the hotels; the d'Aubusson is in the 6th on the edge of the 5th so it turned out to be a really good location for us with proximity to sights. Rue Dauphine becomes Pont Neuf and crosses the Seine to Ile de la Cite with Notre Dame, Sainte Chappelle etc 5-10 minutes away. Cafes everywhere as well as good restaurants (Le Procope and Allard were favorites) in the immediate area (2-5 minutes walking) and a little farther away (5-10 minutes walking) are restaurants nearer to Blvd St Germain (Fish La Boissonierie was good, as well as Leon de Belge for mussels.)

The hotel is very very very good. 9.5 out of 10. (Our last hotel stay was at a Four Seasons so I am using that standard as a comparison.)

Cleanliness: spotlessly clean everywhere. Lobby, public rooms, guestroom carpet, bedding (sheets, pillows, coverlet), bath towels (including washcloths...no need to bring your own), everywhere and everything was as clean as could possibly be. I looked but did not find even a speck of dust anywhere. If you want to be extremely picky, in some places the shower grout showed a little pinkish or brownish staining but that was IT.

Service: 10 out of 10. Beats even the Four Seasons. Daily coffee delivered to room within 5 minutes of call (coffee service consisted of two individual pots of steaming hot coffee as well as a pitcher of steaming hot milk.) Breakfast room staffed by friencly and attentive people. (More on breakfast later.) Everyone was genuinely friendly and appeared happy to have us there. Jean, Audrey and Vi at the front desk were especially helpful. Jean wears the crossed gold keys on his lapel (I believe it is for the Clef d'Or) and really knows what he is doing. I did not notice the keys for Audrey and Vi but they were no less helpful. One huge help for us was the electrical converter we were able to borrow during our stay. Our older converter did not work, I went downstairs to ask for a recommendation re where to go to buy one, Audrey gave one to me for use during our stay...what a giant help! There is a PC with free internet access in the fireplace sitting area as well as in the "jazz club" area between the lobby and the small bar.

TWICE DAILY MAID SERVICE (main cleaning during the day, shortly after leaving room in a.m. for sightseeing; not once did we return even after a couple of hours to find a room not yet cleaned...and evening turn-down service with towels changed in the bathroom...(how many hotels offer evening turn-down anymore???)

Breakfast Service & Room Service: breakfast served as a buffet (cost included in our room rate) and excellent. Food options are typical European breakfast with extras: cheeses, cold sliced meats, pastries and toast, yogurt, cold cereal including excellent meusli, scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage, broiled tomatoes, two kinds of fresh squeezed juice, fresh fruit. Room service menu was somewhat limited but you aren't in Paris to order room service, right? We ordered a cheese platter one late afternoon after coming in from a day out and enjoyed it with wine purchased that day. Excellent quality cheese and baguette delivered within minutes of ordering.

Room: we asked for a high floor after seeing comments regarding noise from the "jazz club" downstairs. We were assigned Room 407 on the 4th floor. We never heard a peep from the "jazz club" (more on it later.) We did have some street noise when the windows were open and sometimes when a particularly loud Vespa would pass by. Our room overlooked the tiny Rue Christine so if you are particularly allergic to noise, ask for a higher floor on the inner courtyard (but you might then end up with a little sound from the "jazz club" but I am not sure (read on.) Ours was a "deluxe" room with a "double" bed (two singles side by side but that was no problem and was just as comfy as our California King at home.) At first glance I thought the mattress would not be comfortable (it looked a little flat and deflated) but it was firm and neither of us had any problem sleeping due to the bed. Plenty of room on both sides with a nice size nightstand (probably 24-30" on each side of the bed) and the length of the room was about 25'. There was a seating area with small table and chairs as well as a bureau/desk that included a mini fridge/bar where we stored cheese for snacking. The closet was nice size and included a secure safe and shelves for storing clothes. The only thing lacking in the room was a dresser for clothes but we made do with the shelves in the closet. Bathroom was good and plenty roomy for two. Good hairdryer attached to wall. Shower had hand-held nozzle that fit into a holder above (in the usualy showerhead location) so it was a perfectly good shower and also it was high enough to accomodate us as we are both fairly tall (5'11" and 6'3") with no slouching under the showerhead. Note, the European shower "door" is really a half-width of glass which keeps the water in the immediate vicinity of the showerhead from spraying out onto the floor...one must exercise a little care when showering to keep from ending up with a soaked bathroom floor. Towel heater on the wall kept towels warm! And did I mention TWICE DAILY MAID SERVICE with towels changed???

The "jazz club" is really a charming, area adjacent to the lobby fronting the hotel. It is not a "club" at all but a rather elegant spot to relax in the evening with a drink from the small bar. The musical instruments consisted of piano and bass (and I don't mean a bass guitar, I mean a stringed instrument.) We didn't spend time there but passed by many evenings so I can't tell you exactly what other instruments were played. It was NOT noisy. People spoke in hushed tones there as well as in the elegant sitting area with the fireplace just beyond the bar.

Room rate: a little more than we wanted to pay but included breakfast and (this is HUGE) pickup at CDG on arrival. What a relief to have a driver waiting for us as we exited customs. We were at the hotel and out walking within 90 minutes of landing. The area is pricier than the 5th but, it is not as budget/touristy an area. You get what you pay for. We felt perfectly safe and secure staying here (not sure I would've felt the same in the area we looked at in the 5th near St. Michel) and the people were wonderful.

In all, a really nice place to stay. I guess in Paris it comes down to location when choosing a place to stay so if you want something centrally located to all the sights and within reasonable walking distance to a lot of good places to eat and are able to pay a little bit more then stay here and you will most likely be very happy. I am very picky; however, I was very happy at the Hotel d'Aubusson.

Thank you, everyone for making our stay (and my 49th birthday) very nice!

We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pnaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#76 of 1,802 in Paris
815 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#22 of 1,802 in Paris
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#65 of 1,802 in Paris
726 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#71 of 1,802 in Paris
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Property: Hotel d'Aubusson
Address: 33 rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#57 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#152 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay Museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing