We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Boutique Hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel d'Aubusson
Ranked #37 of 1,796 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2008

My wife and I are from Canada, visiting Paris for 7 days as part of a medical conference. We stayed for the first 3 nights at a large hotel in Montparnasse (Meridien, similar to a large Hilton or Marriott) but knew that for our last 3 days we wanted to stay in the best area of the city, in the Latin Quarter, close to landmarks, an easy walk to anything cool in Paris.

We did our research, spoke to friends who had stayed in Paris, and took an educated gamble on this hotel. We are in our late 30's, married for 13 years, and were leaving our kids at home for the first time.

There truly could not be a better hotel for us. We've travelled throughout US and North America, and have a good feeling for what we wanted. The problem with Paris hotels is often that they have small rooms and staff is not friendly. Nothing could be further from the truth at this hotel.

The rooms are very reasonable in size. We paid a bit more, stayed on the top (5th) floor, in the Edith Piaf room. Very large, nice Queen bed, nice bathroom. Lots of light. Not a great view, but you don't stay in a hotel for the view. The staff is really, really nice. Always smiling. We speak French, but they speak English very well. The breakfast is wonderful: eggs, bacon, sausage, croissants, fresh-squeezed orange juice, etc... Every day there is a nice fire in a very large fireplace. Every time we got back to our room, there was a little treat: A bottle of champagne our first day. Chocolates our 2nd day. Tags for our bags the 3rd day. There is a very nice little bar downstairs, with Jazz on Thur-Sat nights. Think about it: sitting by the fire, sipping on a glass of wine, surfing my laptop (free WiFi) while a Jazz band plays 30-40 feet away.

We saw many other hotels in this area, and I can't think of a better place to stay. The location is really the best. You can walk anywhere. There are great restaurants nearby (try Le Christine just 200 feet away).

Fantastic place to stay. Can't see how anybody, even if you have crazy extravagant tastes, would be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mmwrpelletier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    167
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
179
565
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights at the hotel and it was perfect. I planned a surprise get-away weekend for my wife to celebrate our anniversary and her birthday. It was absolutely perfect the Aubusson was a recommendation from a friend who lived in Paris. The hotel is surrounded by tons of fabulous bistros and shops and is located directly in the heart of all the great Paris landmarks...10 minutes to the Louvre and Notre Dame, 15 minutes to the d'Orsay and just about an hour walk to the Eiffel Tower (don't worry it goes by fast as you stroll past all the vendors along the Seine and take in the sights). We had room 401 a delightful, immaculate and spacious room over looking Rue Dauphine. The bathroom was also spacious and spotless. The staff was first class all the way from the doorman to the maids...everyone knew our names and made us feel very welcome, in english. The Cafe Laurent located in the hotel is not to be missed, we spent the end of each night there taking in the sensational jazz and chocolat chaud try it! Breakfast at the hotel was fantastic, fresh and tasty and a great assortment to choose from. I do recommend the Bateaux Moches dinner cruise instead of the daytime cruise that is offered through the hotel, this was the most romantic night of the trip cruising down the Seine eating fine food and drinking champagne. Also, if you are interested in the Moulin Rouge show skip the dinner show save some euros and go to the later champagne show the food was ok by French standards. Lastly, hit the Rive Gauche Chocolatier two doors down from the hotel it is out of this world!! With out a doubt this is the perfect hotel in one fantastic city!!!!!

  • Liked — charming elegant old world feel
  • Disliked — nothing it was perfect
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank danthephotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

Stayed for a week in the Hotel d'Aubusson at the beginning of September and just loved it. The location is great - on a nice quiet street, but just a few blocks off of the happening St Michel/ St Germain area. There is a large market nearby for supplies, and even a laundromat down the street if you need it like we did after a month on the road.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating, checking us in early with no fuss. The hotel has a beautiful small courtyard ideal for breakfast or a drink, as well as a beautiful dining area and bar/jazz club.

Everything is near by - every type of restaurant from Joel Rubichon (L'Atelier) to late night crepe shops, good shopping, wine shops, etc. Major tourist sites are a short walk (Louvre, Pont Neuf, Hotel de Ville) or quick subway ride away. This is the perfect location to base your stay in Paris.

We did not take breakfast since there were so many cafes near by, but did hear another couple raving about it.

We stayed at another Paris hotel later in our stay in France and realized how great the location was for us at the Hotel d'Aubusson when compared to the other place we stayed. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank i_luv_stj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

My husband and I stayed for 2 weeks at Hotel d'Aubusson this month. It was our first trip to Paris; indeed, to Europe. From the point we booked the hotel via emails, it has been the most wonderful experience. The entire staff was a dream: accommodations for restaurants, travel arrangements to/from the airport, suggestions of walking tours, and always friendly, professional service. The hotel is beautiful and it is located in the center of Paris. For future visits to Paris, we intend to only stay at Hotel d'Aubusson.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and helpfulness; location
  • Disliked — Nothing - we loved everything about it
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ksag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

This hotel was meant to be, after our first choice hotel in St Germain de Pres was fully booked, I decided to hit trip advisor and do my homework for another hotel.

Couldn't pick fault if we tried, an absolute delight, fantastic location. Lovely rooms, nicely decorated and plenty of room ( for Paris). Large size bathroom. We received a very good rate inclusive many extras.
The staff were more than helpful and obliged in every way. Breakfast abolutely delicious, freshly prepared and presented.
The sitting area and paved courtyard was tranquil and an ideal place for a drink or a coffee.

This is now our first choice of hotel for Paris, you couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenniferanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2008

My family of four stayed at the D'Aubusson in a duplex room for 3 perfect nights!! We were greeted by the ever charming Laurent who made us feel so welcome!! The room was perfect for our 2 kids who had the downstairs and we had the upstairs room. The bathroom was large and beautiful! But the BEST part of the hotel was the concierge service provided by Laurent and Jean. Both gave us the best recommendations for restaurants, walking tours, cafes, and just their professionalism and charm were fantastic!!! If you are planning a trip to Paris, St Germain des Pres and the Hotel D'Aubusson are the perfect combination!!

  • Liked — the concierge service
  • Disliked — one of the daybeds was frayed at the corner
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LI77a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

This is in a great location on the left bank right near the Seine. You can walk to the Louvre and Notre Dame. The nearest metro stop (St. Michel), is a few blocks away, but not bad. The rooms were a bit small, but I've heard that's just the way it is in Paris. The bathroom was nice and had a great bathtub, for those who appreciate such things. The bar is is nice and had a great jazz combo.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank divefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#65 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,796 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#77 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#33 of 1,796 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Property: Hotel d'Aubusson
Address: 33 Rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#57 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#152 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay Museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing