We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I could have stayed longer”
Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel d'Aubusson
Ranked #29 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The first night we arrived late for checkin to find our room had been taken however we were upgraded to a room which was a loft and not really to my liking and a small bathroom with no windows. However staff put us back in our original booked room the following night which was very comfortable. The bathroom was bigger and lots of natural light with a separate bath and show ever. Hermes complimentary bath products are a lovely touch. The hotel has a lovely bar and garden courtyard. We didn't have breakfast but the room looked inviting. Staff were efficient and helpful. We tried to extend our stay but sadly our room was not available but I will certainly stay here again when I return shortly. Try it out I think you will be very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisatravels100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,062)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

516 - 522 of 1,062 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic, about 300m south of the Seine and a 100m stroll from the lovely bistro's, shops and market stalls of the St. Germain area.

The Grand Luxe room is very generously sized and room 114 was in a separate wing though a courtyard and very nicely appointed.

Staff went out of their way to both greet you and to help and the bar and lounge area was lovely, although on the Friday and Saturday nights I stayed there completely full of locals so very difficult to get a seat.

Breakfast buffet is small but very nice, the only complaint is having a single toaster. On Sunday morning with 20+ people wanting toast it was a mad dash and a long wait for each person to toast their bread, another toaster or a faster/bigger toaster would have been a big help!

Hotel is within a few hundred metres of several metro stations and a few kms walk to the Louvre.

Overall the hotel exceeded all expectations and is a charming well appointed hotel right in the middle of the action, perfect for a weekend or family getaway.

Room Tip: Grand Luxe room is definitely worth the extra coin if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ozelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and would happily stay there again. The staff were all great and gave very good restaurant recommendations. The location is great and the streets just to the west of the hotel are packed with galleries, and good neighbourhood shops/cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with the window open, maybe get a room facing the inner courtyard as it'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcs44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my third or fourth stay at this hotel. I have recommended it to many friends, all of whom have loved it.

I do not think there is a better location in Paris. The Seine is right outside your door, and you are almost in the exact geographical center of the city. In the heart of St. Germain, and just a short walk to Luxembourg Gardens, and steps from multitude of cafes, the D'Aubusson is right there.

Though I like this hotel very much, the hotel needs a little work.

One of the nice things about this hotel is that the room sizes are noticeably larger than many of its left bank competitors; the standard and superior rooms are comfortable, relative to Parisian standards, and not cramped. Unfortunately, the room decor, which I have never loved, is looking a little tired, and is not nearly as nice as the common areas. My understanding is that they will begin room updates soon; they need to. And while our room was not cramped, it had a small dormer window, and a very cramped (though updated) bathroom, which, frankly, was one of the least comfortable bathrooms I have experienced. The hotel's management was very receptive to our comments, and graciously offered to move us, but as the hotel was very busy, we would have had to move twice in order to switch our room, something we did not choose to do. Well, sometimes you get the best room, and sometimes you don't. Management dealt with the situation wonderfully.

Additionally, there can be a lot of street noise at night with the window open. There are a few bars and restaurants that are louder than they used to be due to smoking laws, which forces everyone who smokes to do so outside (I have experienced this at multiple hotels in Paris recently); if you like a cool room, and are sensitive to noise, this might be a concern.

The service here is fantastic. The competence of the management and staff is excellent, though a few people could be a little warmer. Jean, the concierge, is fantastic.

All in all, this is an excellent hotel in a perfect location. I would not hesitate to recommend it. Once the rooms are updated, I will be returning.

But for now, at least, it is not my first choice. There are a couple of other places that I prefer, with beautifully done, though slightly smaller rooms, in quieter locations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fishskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I just returned from our second stay at Hotel d'Aubusson. It has consistently been a great experience. The rates, especifically for a quality Paris hotel, are very reasonable. The rooms are clean, well-appointed and comfortable. And the showers have great pressure (nothing beats a terrific shower in the morning). There isn't a restaurant in the hotel, but room service is available--besdies, you're in Paris' 6th arrondissement that has many excellent bistros and restaurants within a short walk, including L'Atlas, Fish and Le Timbre (a little further), to name a few. And you're an equally short walk to Notre Dame, Louvre, Tuileries Garden, Musée d'Orsay, and just a little further to the Eiffel Tower (you'll feel better about yourself for buring those extra calories when you're eating your second croissant). And after a long day enjoying Paris, come back to the Cafe Laurent at the hotel for a relaxing night cap.

Room Tip: The rooms facing rue Dauphine are a little noiser at night. There is a lively Irish pub across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrankFromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel D'Aubusson for 7 nights in April 2012 on our honeymoon to Paris and enjoyed every second of our time here! We chose an accommodation package which included tickets to the Louvre, a river cruise on the seine, private transfers to the airport, daily wine tastings and afternoon tea, incredible! Our room was on the small side but it was still very quaint and lovely with Hermes products in the bathroom and parisian inspired decor. We enjoyed the jazz singers on the weekend, our walks through the beautiful cobblestone streets, the amazing restaurants just a stones throw away and the always pleasant and helpful staff. We will definately be recommending this hotel to all our friends and family and cant wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lele5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Loved this hotel! The location could not be better.....Approx. 1 block to the Seine and walking distance to all that Paris has to offer and if you want to take the Metro, its an extremely short walk to the St Germain or Odeon stations.....Jean and the staff was wonderful, and the breakfast in the morning was plentiful. Great meats, cheeses, warm entree selections and fresh squeezed juice. The room and bathroom were large by Europe standards and stocked with Hermes products. The lounge had nightly entertainment which was an added bonus. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#54 of 1,802 in Paris
895 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
La Clef Louvre
La Clef Louvre
#18 of 1,802 in Paris
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Regina Louvre
Hotel Regina Louvre
#95 of 1,802 in Paris
1,116 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#25 of 1,802 in Paris
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Address: 33 rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#57 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#151 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $332 - $651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay Museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing