We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A classy treat in a sparkling city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Aubusson to your Saves list
Hotel d'Aubusson
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A classy treat in a sparkling city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

A cheerful & friendly receptionist's welcome, a well-appointed room, wine & chocolates compliments of the hotel management, yummy toiletries by Hermès, even slippers (a small pair for Madame!) put beside the bed at night and we were thoroughly spoilt and made to feel like royalty. The bar in the hotel had entertainment on both nights, the area was full of fantastic Bistro-syle restaurants and 'buzzy' chic bars, so it was a great location too. We walked the 20 minutes or so into the Opera region over the Pont Neuf for shopping but just seeing the bustle of Paris & going through the beautiful Louvre area was worth the longish walk. Breakfast was a feast of just enough of everything you'd want, and apart from a mattress that was a little too firm for us, a lovely treat that we cannot wait to repeat next Year.

Room Tip: No need to choose anywhere particular - they were all lovely. Our friends chose a bigger suite than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babsbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    665
    159
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
160
497
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and loved every minute of our stay. The hotel is small but charming. Excellent value in a very expensive city. Wonderful location on the left bank, about two blocks from the Seine, so we were able to walk over the Pont Neuf and tour around the right bank as well. It is very close to museums, Notre Dame and the Latin Quarter.

This hotel exudes charm. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful (even to tourists who only speak a few words of French). Our room rate included a full buffet breakfast every morning and a wine tasting every afternoon from 5-6pm. We were so full from breakfast everyday that we skipped lunch, enjoyed the wine in the late afternoon and then booked late dinners (as is the culture in Europe). It also included a boat ride on the Seine (a tourist attraction but a nice romantic thing to do especially at night as Paris is beyond beautiful at night) and admission to a museum. We took advantage of all these wonderful activities.

The room was very nice and a decent size by European standards. The bathroom was nicely appointed with granite and Hermes toiletries. The hotel and our room/bath were very clean. And the Rue Dauphine was quiet at night so we had no problems sleeping.

The only minor complaint I have is that the elevator had a bit of a weird and unpleasant smell (but then again, I am very sensitive to scents; my husband didn't seem to notice it).

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay at a small hotel with great service and ambience and a fabulous location. The St. Germaine-des-Pres area, in which the hotel is located, offers wonderful shopping and restaurants as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ALK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at this delightful Left Bank hotel. The location is perfect for sightseeing and restaurants. The staff (especially Royce) were extremely helpful, always friendly and eager to help. Our 5th floor room was large, quiet, and had a newly remodeled bathroom. The breakfast room is charming and featured a large offering. The lounge is elegant and the bar was a nice place to unwind in the early evening. Our stay was perfect and we look forward to a return trip!

Room Tip: Our 5th floor room was very quiet. We faced the back with no view to speak of but with natural ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amw3102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

In a city notorious for small hotel bedrooms, it was heartening to find one in which it was possible to stretch out and relax. After reading previous reviews, my wife and I opted for four nights in a standard room in a mid-priced hotel rather than the most expensive room in a more basic establishment. (That was what we did last time we were in Paris, and we were none too pleased with the result.) On arrival, the receptionist was very helpful and only lapsed into English when my schoolboy French failed fully to deliver the goods. At other times a different receptionist made bookings at restaurants we ourselves chose from the Michelin guide.

Our room overlooked the Rue Dauphine, which is quite a busy street, but thanks to the double glazing we heard not a sound. The TV showed plenty of channels, but the only one we watched was BBC World News. There were plenty of sockets for charging phones, cameras and electric toothbrushes, and we could have had wi-fi if we had wanted it - we didn't. The bathroom was excellent, with a powerful shower over the full-sized bath. Slippers and bathrobes were provided. If I had to make a criticism it would be this: the bed, although very comfortable, was furnished with sheets and blankets rather than the duvets we are used to at home and elsewhere in Europe. As a result we had very disturbed nights, ending up all in a tangle. To be fair, however, duvets are not common in France, and so the hotel cannot really be blamed.

Our tarriff included a full buffet breakfast, which we took in the very stylish breakfast room. The choice of food included a good range of fruits, juices, breads, pastries, hams and cheeses. There was bacon, scrambled eggs etc for those who wanted them. The coffee was fine, if not ultra hot. One afternoon we took tea in the bar, but be warned, the Earl Grey was the weakest ever experienced. Hot water would have been just as good. But perhaps that's how the French like it.

On our final morning we checked out, but were able to leave our suitcases for a couple of hours whilst we went out for a final walk. Finally a taxi was called and took us to the Gare du Nord for our Eurostar train back to London. But had we been unencumbered with luggage and parcels, the metro would have been quite convenient: you can get from the Odeon stop, two minutes walk away, to Gare du Nord by using Line Number 4, with no need to change.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great choice in the St-Germain-des-Pres area, because it's on a quiet street away from the hustle and bustle. Rue Dauphine leads straight to the Pont Neuf, for fast access to the Louvre; also a short walk to Notre Dame or Musee d'Orsay. Comfortable room, excellent housekeeping, good bathroom with Hermes amenities, friendly, eager-to-please front desk staff. Breakfast (included in price) was generous. Plenty of nice restaurants within a short walk--3 good ones on nearby rue Christine. A really good experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelerfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I heartily recommend this hotel. I was there in June with my daughters and granddaughters. The staff is outstanding, our rooms were very good, and our entire stay was a pleasure. I hope I can return. Each one of us enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The location is fantastic, in the heart of the Latin Quarter and still accessible to the Right Bank, being just steps away from Pont Neuf. Staff is very helpful especially for Americans ( one Concierge is actually from Arizona). I would say 90% of the people who stay here are American. Don't expect to hear much French spoken here.
If you are looking for a place, that is French, looks French, but where you will remain in your comfort zone, then this is the place for you. I have stayed many places in Paris, and while I have no specific complaints, I have stayed in more authentic small hotels in the Latin Quarter.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elm1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#36 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#65 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
Hotel Relais Saint-Germain
#46 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#29 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#67 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#22 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Property: Hotel d'Aubusson
Address: 33 rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#58 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#152 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing