We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful What You Pay For”
Review of Hotel d'Aubusson

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel d'Aubusson
Ranked #30 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Be Careful What You Pay For”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Don't get me wrong, this is an excellent hotel. The rooms are nice-sized by Paris standards, clean and comfortable, service is excellent and breakfast is good (but not as good as it once was). The location in the heart of St. Germain can't be beat and the jazz lounge is very popular with guests and locals as well. Our criticism focuses on room value. We booked a deluxe room on a summer package at 395 euros a night for four nights. Upon check-in, we were taken to a two level room--bathroom and living area on the first level and king-sized bed in the loft. Due to the extremely low ceiling in the loft, I knew that at 6'1'' I was at serious risk of bumping my head, especially getting out of bed. So we rejected the room. No problem. We were transferred immediately to another room, less spacious but nice enough. Suffering from jet lag, we simply assumed that this was a "deluxe" room too. Our stay was enjoyable.

Paris was our first destination on a fifteen day trip. It was also our final destination. During the trip, we decided to return to the d'Aubusson for our final night. We booked a "superior" room on the summer package at 280 euros. Curiously, our superior room was larger than our deluxe room two weeks earlier. In fairness, our first room had a nicer bathroom but not 115 euros/night nicer--not by a long shot. Even considering the possibility that prices were a little higher in early July than late July, this huge price differential for practically the same room is troubling. So, before booking a room reservation at the d'Aubusson--which we still recommend--call or email the hotel to determine the difference in size and amenities for superior versus deluxe room. If our most recent experience is typical, you should be perfectly happy in the lowest-priced superior room.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K-traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAubusson, General Manager at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

In response to your review, I would like to make the following comments:

We are happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us, on both occasions!

Because of the fact that the building was constructed in 1634, the layout of the rooms vary eventhough the room category may be the same. The differences can be explained because of different factors:
Wether the room faces the street or the courtyard, the actual size of the room and/or bathroom (separate walk-in shower), whether there are exposed beams in the rooms, etc.. The biggest and most important difference is the actual room size.

There is a clear and distinct reason why the categories are different and hopefully I have brought some clarity to this issue.

For the record, I think that choosing the title "Be careful what you pay for" is very misleading to fellow travelers as it insinuates that we are trying in some way to scam our guests, or that we are dishonest in the way we sell our different categories, which is absolutely not the case.

This I do not accept as we always go out of our way in trying to satisfy our guests every need!

Sincerely Yours,

Andreas Spove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    168
    31
    15
    10
See reviews for
181
581
34
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Having tried several different hotels and apartments in the 6th and 7th, we most recently stayed at the Hotel d'Aubusson (6th) which fast became our new favorite! Rooms are reasonably sized, clean and very comfortable. The staff is welcoming and the location, just a few short blocks from the Sienne, can't be beat. The lounge features live jazz with various artists appearing several nights per week. We especially enjoyed the outdoor center couryard for pre and post dinner drinks with friends. In fact, our only objection is that smoking is permitted in the courtyard. We wish that policy would change. Breakfast is also served in the courtyard, weather permitting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAubusson, General Manager at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your review and we are very happy to have caught your attention especially since you used to stay at many different places in Paris over the years.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to comment on one of your observations:

All rooms at Hotel d'Aubusson are entirely non smoking, the only place people can smoke is in our courtyard. As a nation, we have a shorter history as a non smoking country ( since 2008) and it will take a few more years for people to really get used to the non smoking culture that has spread over the majorityof the globe and has been in effect for a lot longer, especially in the US.

We have many clients who smoke from all over the world that respect the fact that the rooms are non smoking and they, for the most part, make the effort to smoke on our patio and for the time being, we have no intentions on changing this policy.

We would be thrilled to welcome you back to Hotel d'Aubusson in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime, we send you our best regards.

Sincerely,

Andreas Spove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here only one night before going on a barge trip. We stayed at a more expensive hotel at the other end of the trip in the area near the Arc de Triumphe and we regretted that we did not come back here. My husband and I loved d'Aubusson. The staff were more than accommodating, the rooms
large and comfortable and clean.
The location was on a nice quiet street in a very centrally located area. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAubusson, General Manager at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and we would be delighted to welcome you back to the Aubusson in the future.

Please bear in mind that we offer a variety of packages, depending on the number of nights you wish to stay with us, and they include a lot of different amenities & services.

We have great feedback on all of them as they are very popular...

For more information, please feel free to contact us directly!

In the meantime, thank you again for having taken the time to share your impressions with us and fellow travelers.

Best regards,

Andreas Spove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in October. We were on the run from a terrible hotel we had booked in advance (L'amour....) and were lucky to get a room on such short notice so we got the very last room. This was the room mentioned in the other reviews, on the first floor right above the jazz bar. But it was actually not bad at all, some soft jazz music that ended at 12....no problem. The hotel in itself was delightful. Great staff, wonderful "social areas" like the jazz bar, a sitting area with open fire, inner court yard (that was cleaned every night) with cafe tables, excellent breakfast and great location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAubusson, General Manager at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your kind review. It really helps fellow travelers to get a better idea of what experiencing Hotel d'Aubusson is like...

Some guests really enjoy our jazz concerts, some just a quiet evening on our heated outdoor patio...

Now that we are introducing a daily wine tasting, it will be interesting to see how our guests will enjoy it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Aubusson in the near future.

Best regards,

Andreas Spove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We just returned home after a wonderful trip to Paris 10/21-10/29/2011. After alot of research, asking friends, and scouring tripadvisor we decided to stay at the Hotel d'Aubusson on the Rue Dauphine in the St. Germain des Pres. I think this decision was the best of many we made but definitely enhanced our trip more than we expected. I'm sure you have already read that the hotel is immaculate, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms updated and etc etc. What really made our trip was the staff. Royce, Jean, Coralee and Audrey are first class!! They are all friendly, accomodating and provide some excellent recommendations. When the Musee D'Orsay was on strike (as I hear happens quite often!) Jean recommended the Marmotten Monet, a small lesser known Impressionist museum on the outskirts of Paris. It was an easy bus ride across town and it was very impressive. We loved it. Ask Royce for restaurant recommendations-they were both great! They all helped us with our very weak french so that we could navigate Paris much better. My husband especially loved Cafe Laurent. The music was terrific and Laurent is the consommate host.

Thank you to everyone at Hotel d'Aubusson we hope that we will be able to visit you all again soon!

Beintot!
The Simons

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on a higher floor facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LUDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAubusson, General Manager at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you so much for the very encouraging and kind comments. I am absolutely thrilled that we met your expectations and that you were so impressed with our staff.

I am very lucky to have such caring, professional and friendly team members and I will share your comments with all of them as I am sure that they will all be very pleased to read your impressions and thoughts about the quality of service they provide.

On behalf of all staff at Hotel d'Aubusson, we look forward to welcoming you back to Paris on another occasion.

Best regards,

Andreas Spove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights in Sept 2011. We found the front desk staff to be the most knowledgeable, helpful and truly friendly. Simple requests such as dinner reserations to the tough one of getting a taxi in the rain were met with a smile and success. Location was perfect for a walking tour of Paris. The major museums are within close walking distance. Great bakery just up the street and cafes abound. Keep in mind there is no better bar or bartender than in the bar/garden of the hotel. Our room was very comfortable with a huge shower, which made it all the comforts of home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T and J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAubusson, General Manager at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear SIr, Madam,

Thank you for you kind comments and for taking the time to share your impressions with us and fellow travelers.

We are thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel d'Aubusson.

On behalf of the staff, thank you again for choosing to stay with us whilst in Paris.

Best regards,

Andreas Spove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Grande, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Wonderful hotel in a central location, staff is wonderful and very helpful at getting reservations, laundry, room service, breakfast, etc. Cozy bar in corner. Quiet, only 54 rooms but a real treat afte we had stayed a more expensive places in Rome and Florence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solaqne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerAubusson, General Manager at Hotel d'Aubusson, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of Hotel d'Aubusson. I am very pleased to learn thatyou really enjoyed your stay.

You also mention that you stayed in more expensive hotels while in Italy and I would like to take the opportunity to mention that Hotel d'Aubusson was awarded a trophy in september for "Luxury Hotel with the best value in France 2011"

Thank you for having chosen Hotel d'Aubusson as your "base" in Paris and we hope to see you staying with us again in the future.

Best regards,

Andreas Spove
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Relais Christine
Relais Christine
#77 of 1,802 in Paris
813 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#23 of 1,802 in Paris
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#66 of 1,802 in Paris
726 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#72 of 1,802 in Paris
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Aubusson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Aubusson

Property: Hotel d'Aubusson
Address: 33 rue Dauphine | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Odeon / Saint-Michel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#57 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#152 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel d'Aubusson 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stylish and very attractive Hotel d’Aubusson is housed in a true Parisian mansion dating back to 1634 and located in the very heart of Saint Germain des Prés, a stone’s throw away from the renowned Pont Neuf bridge and within easy walking distance to The Louvre museum, the Orsay Museum, Ile Saint Louis and the Notre Dame cathedral. Boasting discrete luxury, Louis XV furniture, original Aubusson tapestries and a wonderful wood burning fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel d'Aubusson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Aubusson
d Aubusson Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing