We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Good Location”
Review of Hotel Balzac

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Balzac
Ranked #698 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and stayed two nights. We booked a deluxe room, which for Paris, given the quality of the hotel, was reasonable in price. The room was very clean and comfortable and had more than enough space, including a queen size bed, desk, chairs and flat screen TV. The bathroom included a stall shower and a deep jetted tub. The bathroom was all marble. We were on the sixth floor (Room 601) and had a good view of the Eiffel Tower. The staff was very nice and helpful. We needed a last minute dinner reservation on Saturday when we arrived and they spent some time calling around to find us a good place. The hotel is located just off the Champs-Elysee near the Arc d'Triumphe, which is along the Metro 1 (yellow line), so it was easy to take public transportation from the hotel. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 601
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 458 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

I was in Paris for business and stayed one night at the Balzac. Charming little hotel, great location. Staff was very pleasant and helpfull, check in and check out very efficient. Room was very nice and comfortable, great size for a Paris hotel. Nice bathroom, with a "high tech" toilet, one of those which heats, cleans, etc. a bit exaggerated, but.... Also, breakfast, which is not included, is a bit disapointing on the variety. Overall, nice place, I recommend it and would be a pleasure to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sissi2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I was in Paris on business for a few nights and the hotels were all busy so I ended up at the better than usual grade Balzac.

The room I was booked into was described as a single and I had visions of a tiny cupboard with a bed barely big enough to lie in.

Fortunately, this was far from the case. The room had a view onto the central void of the hotel (2nd floor) which let in plenty of natural light. The bed was more like a single and a half (two could sleep in it, but you'd want to be on good terms!) and there was a compact, but well appointed shower room/toilet. The main room had plenty of space, including a desk you could sit at in a chair (not on the bed like some!) and there was a small anteroom with the wardrobe in.

The general decor of the hotel was traditional, but light and of high quality. The whole feel of the Balzac, from the entrance to the rooms was of quiet luxury.

The breakfasts were good and the serving staff friendly (I found the reception staff a little frosty, though).

I'm not sure my company would choose such an expensive hotel for me again, but I'd happily stay at the Balzac anytime and if you want a centrally located hotel you can't go wrong as it's literally a stone's throw from the Champs Elysee.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snowman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Balzac for 4 nights during our visit to Paris in September. We had 2 rooms for 2 adult travellers. This is my first review on TA. I loved the hotel so much that I felt compelled to write it. The hotel is amazing. We are well-travelled, and stay in hotels in our home city just for the fun of it, so have high expectations. This hotel exceeded all expectations. The service was impeccable. Stephanie at reception and Patrick at concierge were wonderful. But every staff member that we encountered, from the bartender to the room service delivery personnel, was professional, polite and proficient (pardon the unintended alliteration). We will unhesitatingly call this hotel home on all future visits to Paris. It is located 2 blocks from the Champs Elysses – the location can’t be beat! The rooms are wonderfully Parisian, with all attention to detail and immaculately maintained. We had a gorgeous view of the Eiffel Tower from our room. The bar and breakfast were fantastic. Exceptional hotel!! Book without hesitation!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

My wife and I visited France for our honeymoon, and Paris was our first stop. After reading the reviews, I chose the Hotel Balzac based on its amenities, location to the Champs-Élysées, and price. Needless to say the hotel delivered on all fronts. We chose a deluxe room, which was very comfortable with a bed you could get lost in; plus, the rooms were clean with local décor, but with modern touches such as a LCD TV and free wireless. Special mention and thanks goes to Patrick the concierge, who was nothing but a gentlemen and truly helpful. If you want a great hotel, in an excellent location that will not break the bank this is the place for you

Room Tip: Go with a deluxe room or better otherwise you will find the room too small/
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank julso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was my second time at the Balzac. A great hotel in a perfect location. You can walk most places. Patrick, the concierge, was wonderful with restaurants and reservations. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel and both rooms I've had have been beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bgetze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Just came back from holiday in Paris and stayed at the Hotel Balzac.
1. Location is excellent with George V Metro and Hop on Hop off bus very near hotel. (2 min)
2. Hotel package with American breakfast provides good value as some cost savings from having a simple lunch.
3. Concierge Patrick is incredibly warm, helpful and friendly and makes you feel very welcome.
4. Found cafe staff very helpful as we brought back a bottle of champagne and they got us an ice bucket with glasses although we didn't order any foood or drinks.
5. Three Michelin star restaraunt Pierre Gagnaire is a must try as food and service was awesome and would be one of the very best meals you will ever take.
6. Room size is reasonable by Paris standards.
7. Marble toilet is well stocked with all necessary toileteries, hairdryer etc
8. Any request for assistance is promptly handled.
9. Wifi works without any problems.
10. No road noise as hotel is on a quiet street off Champs Elysee.
Overall hotel is highly recommended and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tzenSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Napoleon Paris
Hotel Napoleon Paris
#114 of 1,805 in Paris
370 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Radisson Blu Hotel Champs Elysees, Paris
Champs-Elysees
De Vigny Hotel
De Vigny Hotel
#1,107 of 1,805 in Paris
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
InterContinental Paris-Avenue Marceau
Champs-Elysees
Majestic Hotel Spa
Majestic Hotel Spa
#802 of 1,805 in Paris
291 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Vernet
Hotel Vernet
#198 of 1,805 in Paris
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balzac

Address: 6 rue Balzac | 08 Arr., 75008 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#372 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#418 Business Hotel in Paris
#430 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $271 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Balzac 5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Balzac is a luxury hotel located in the heart of central Paris' spectacular 8th arrondissement.Just off the Champs-Elysees and moments from the Arc de Triomphe, Faubourg Saint-Honore, Avenue Montaigne and Avenue George V; the hotel is perfectly placed for the very best Paris has to offer. The 69 rooms and suites at the hotel are sublimely decorated in a mix of neo-classical style with rich colours, fabrics and contemporary furnishings. Some of the rooms, including the Royal suite, exhibit spectacular views of the eiffel Tower and across Paris. The hotel contains a rich history and has been immortalised in fiction by a selection of the world's finest writers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Balzac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balzac Hotel Paris
Hotel Balzac Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing