We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great, odd customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Ranked #140 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not Great, odd customer service”
Reviewed April 17, 2017

The location is fantastic but that was really the only thing going for this hotel. First, the front desk staff was very short with us. Second, the room has a system where the lights won't turn on unless you fully close the door then insert the keycard (if you insert the card before the door is completely shut, you have to start over). It was always very dark in the room, so very hard to find the keycard insert. I am very familiar with these at hotels but the one in our room was half-broken. So it took several open and shutting the door to get it to work properly, every time we came back. For the money, the room was very small. Yes, it's Europe and we are used to it, but these rooms were very small. The building is certainly historic but spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJimmyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nath98, Directeur général at Hotel du Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear TheJimmyco,
Thank you to take the time to write a comment. It is always a good way to improve our services.
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with the system of the light. We think this has been badly explained because in any case you have to close the door to turn on the light. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the lack of information. Do not hesitate if you have a problem to ask at reception. They will be delighted to help you.
We are surprised to read that you did not find our rooms spacious enough as this is not the usual feedback from our guests and we are sorry that this had a negative impact on your stay.
We hope to welcome you again to give you a better impression of our hotel!
Nathalie Heckel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    120
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
60
263
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2017

Perfect hotel, very charming, very well maintained and comfortable. Very good bed and pillows. Heater in the bathroom is also good on cold days. The hotel is very well located, in a very charming street and with many bars and restaurants close by. Very good place to go walking. Also close to tourist attractions and very close to an underground station, the port mary station.
But I just found it a bit loud in the room in the morning, you hear the voices of people talking outside.

  • Stayed April 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nath98, Directeur général at Hotel du Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear Rodrigo L
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment!
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise. My team and I are now thinking about solutions to avoid this problem.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the way we have arranged this historical place, to make your stay the most pleasant and restful possible.
The hotel is located nearby many point of interest. Do not hesitate to ask the front desk any recommendations, they will be more than happy to help you :)
We hope to welcome you again very soon
Nathalie Heckel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2017

This is a gem of a hotel. Fantastic staff, beautiful interior, very clean, amazing history held within the hotel. The only thing that let it down was the sound proofing between rooms. the gentleman who took our bags to the room and served us at breakfast was superb. The reception staff were very helpful, everyone spoke very good English, however we attempted to speak French and they responded in French helping us with our pronunciation. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MikeJYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nath98, Directeur général at Hotel du Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear MikeJYo
Thank you for writting a comment
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise. My team and I are now thinking about solutions to avoid this problem!
We are glad to read that you liked the Hotel. We have arranged this historical place to make it the most pleasant and enjoyable possible and we are satisfied to read that this was the case for you.
All the team is devoted to make your stay in Paris unforgettable; it seems it was the case, then we are delighted
We hope to see you again soon
Nathalie Heckel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

So my husband booked this hotel for us so we could have a few days in Paris (bucket list location) and he did do a great job picking this hotel as it was in a fabulous location and was a real quaint, charming, historic and artsy hotel - all qualities I love in a hotel. The room was lovely, spacious and clean and overlooking a quiet courtyard. The Rainforest shower was amazing and the toiletries and bathroom amenities superb. It was great to have a mini fridge and safe although he didn't use either. Plenty of storage space. We stayed over Easter weekend and were so pleased to find some little chocolate treats in our room before Easter Sunday...such a nice touch. My one and only complaint is that the walls are SO thin. From our room (206) I could hear a pin drop and for two of the three nights I was kept awake. I really do not like hearing couples intimacies or having to hear a noisy family preparing to leave the hotel very early in the morning (you could hear the zippers of their bags the noise projected that much!) So for light sleepers I probably wouldn't recommend this hotel. There was a lovely gentleman working at the hotel whilst we stayed there and he was so friendly and helpful (I feel terrible I didn't catch his name) but he deserves so much credit and he was always rushing around and doing things and nothing was ever to much trouble.

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bee04121981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nath98, Directeur général at Hotel du Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear bee04121981,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment!
We are sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise. My team and I are now thinking about solutions to avoid this problem and hope you will have a more restful sleep on your next visit.
We are very touched by your kind words, and we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have arranged this historical place to offer you the best stay possible :)
I will send your message to the person concerned, who will be very flattered!
We hope to welcome you again soon
Nathalie Heckel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2017 via mobile

We stayed twice, firstly on the first floor in a slightly bigger room for one night. The hotel kindly agreed to hold two pieces of luggage while we went to Morocco.

On our return we stayed in a ground floor room adjacent to the breakfast area. We were warned that it might be noisy but on the three nights/mornings we were here it was very quiet.

The room had a mini bar from which we took out some items to make room for our own. There was a half table and two chairs; flat screen tv; separate room for the bathroom with a shower over the bath; a separate toilet; plenty of hot water and plush white towels; a heated towel rack; one luggage rack and so the rest of our luggage had to stay on the floor; comfortable queen bed; 2 white towling dressing gowns & slippers; magnifying make- up mirror; and a safety box but no kettle.

The ground floor room had double French doors opening to a garden area although it couldn't be accessed. The ceiling showed the exposed beams of the original building - once an early 17th C tennis court of Louis XIII and renovated in 1987 to be this hotel. The public areas including reception, lounge and bar and breakfast area show more of the original beam structures. All very attractive.

Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craj11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nath98, Directeur général at Hotel du Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Dear craj11_11
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed comment!
We are happy to read that both time you had a great experience with us :)
We have arranged this historical place and, as you mentionned, equiped the rooms to provide you all the comfort necessary to have a restful and pliant stay!
All the staff is devoted to make your stay in Paris unforgettable, do not hesitate to ask them anything they can help you with!
We hope to welcome you again very soon !
Nathalie Heckel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

When you walk the short distance from St Michel Notre Dame past the great cathedral you are in the heart of a beautiful city, 5 minutes later you are still in that beautiful city, but now on the smaller island of Ile St.Louis. It is much quieter , but definitely still Paris, the hotel is a converted Real tennis court, the staff enthusiastic, friendly and the rooms comfortable. The entrance to the hotel is through the old real tennis court and the exposed beams are clearly evident.
It is a short walk from plenty of bars, restaurants, ice cream parlours, shops on the island, but equally not far from Hotel de Ville and many other sights. A magnificent hotel that allowed us to relax without having to feel like tourists. Enjoy your trip.

Stayed April 2017, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barleychuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nath98, Directeur général at Hotel du Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, April 17, 2017
Dear Barleychuff,
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed comment!
We are very glad you enjoyed the time spent with us :)
As you mentioned, we have arranged this historical place to preserve the atmosphere but we also have done some arrangements to make you feel "home away home".
We are located in a small island Ile Saint Louis which offer you a lot of possibilities as you said. Do not hesitate to ask the reception about advice and recommandations! They will be more than happy to help you :)
We hope to see you again very soon
Nathalie Heckel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We'd always wanted to stay on the island and when we saw this place we couldn't resist. Very nice hotel with great service. Super easy to get to location. Super nice night staff attempted to help me get a lost phone back after it was left in a cab. Would totally stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vox-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nath98, Directeur général at Hotel du Jeu de Paume, responded to this review, April 17, 2017
Dear vox-sf,
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment!
We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. It was a pleasure to help you and relieves that it had an happy ending. All the staff is very devoted to make your experience in Paris unforgettable and help you with anything they can, thank you for mentioning it.
The hotel is located in the Ile Saint Louis, in the heart of Paris. But as it is a small island it preserves you from the bustle of Paris!
We hope to see you again very soon
Nathalie Heckel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#577 of 1,801 in Paris
333 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#919 of 1,801 in Paris
196 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#603 of 1,801 in Paris
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#250 of 1,801 in Paris
892 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#32 of 1,801 in Paris
155 reviews
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#86 of 1,801 in Paris
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Jeu de Paume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Jeu de Paume

Property: Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Address: 54 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#259 Family Hotel in Paris
#272 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Jeu de Paume 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Jeu de Paume is a charming 4* hotel created in a former 17th century royal jeu de paume; it was fully renovated during summer 2010 and decorated in the "Arty" style. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, overlooking the small patio garden in which breakfast or drinks can be served. The Jeu de Paume is located in the historical heart of Paris on the Island Saint Louis, at walking distance from the cathedral Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Jeu de Paume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Jeu De Paume Hotel
Hotel Jeu De Paume Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing