We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Ile St Louis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Jeu de Paume
Ranked #157 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent 6 weeks in Paris and stayed in 4 hotels, this being the fourth on my last 2 nights. I loved both the location and the hotel. You cannot beat the location as it is central to everything - to the right you have the Marais and to the left the Latin Quarter and St Germain and just over the central bridge you have Ile De Cite.

On the Island you have Notre Dame, along with many other must-see-delights.

The hotel has a non-descript facade but inside it is a welcome respite from the hustle and bustle of the isle. the room was larger than I through it would be and I had a lovely view of the courtyard. Fresh flowers greeted me on the desk and my luggage was very kindly transported to my room. Yep there was free wifi, and the usual niceties such as TV, bath, bath toiletries a minibar and fridge. I asked for a kettle so I could make my own tea and coffee and this was happily accommodated.
I didn’t eat breakfast at 18 Euro. This hotel has many nooks and crannies to explore and sit in. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Cannot wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor with a courtyard view. I cannot comment on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

282 - 288 of 477 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

For years I have been going to Paris, and one thing has always been consistent, that the Ile St Louis is my favorite spot in Paris, and now I have found a hotel to match this little corner of Paris. The hotel is both sophisticated and elegant while being intimate and low key. I stayed in one of their single rooms, which was a good size with a nice-sized bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful, and spoke perfect English. They also could not have been more welcoming to my dog. The island is like a small village in the middle of a large city and this wonderful little hotel will seem like home.

Room Tip: If you go for the least expensive room, like I did -- do not expect much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda50Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

You just can't beat the location of this hotel, centrally located on Ile St Louis. The staff were very friendly and also helped with trip planning; they recommended restaurants, confirmed dinner reservations and organized a private car.The apartments are perfect for families. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaLaVie_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

For us, this boutique hotel is the perfect spot to enjoy the sights and sounds of Paris. It is small, friendly, comfortable, beautiful, and located in the ideal spot to either stay-put and enjoy the quieter comforts of Paris, or walk across the bridge and explore the wide world of Paris. Located on the Ile St Louis, a small island that is across from Notre Dame, the hotel is on the only main street. Even so, it is very quiet because it is set back from the street by an interior patio. Our room, number #3, looks out into another lovely, quiet patio, ideal for reading. While breakfast is served each morning, we ventured out and walked down the street to St. Regis, a cafe that makes superb omelets and is the quintessential Parisian cafe (we loved the staff who wake up happy every morning). I would definitely recommend this hotel for first time visitors to Paris (it will make your trip memorable, manageable, and stress-free -- thanks to a very helpful staff). I've added photos of our room --#3 to this review.

Room Tip: We've stayed here twice and both rooms were excellent. Room #3 has a view of the interior patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I go to Paris a couple of times a year, and have tried out different hotels over the years.
Now I think I`m going to stay put for my next visits! The Jeu de Paume is a gem. The beautiful restoration of the old bulding, with the rough old beams quite visible, the pretty and very comfortable room - for a single, it was surprisingly large,the very comtortable bed and lovely bed linen, the welcome of the staff, the location! close to everything, with a metro station 5 minutes away. And all the wonderful and varied restaurans along the Rue St. Louis. I sat on the mezzanine one evening and marvelled about the total silence. Calm and quiet, in the absolute heart of Paris.10 minutes walk from the Notre Dame! I ask you. And the golden retriever of the house is just beatutiful and kind. This is one of the best hotels I\ve stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ithaca96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in April. We couldn't have asked for better. The location is perfect and the hotel staff was wonderful. They were very helpful with any request we had. Our room was very clean and a good size. We had a room on the second floor with a view of the courtyard. It was very quiet as we slept the window open every night. We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny_Botch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We usually stay in a 2 star in the 5th, but slpurged. This was a treat. A boutique hotel with ambiance to die for. The location is the best in Paris. We had one bad night, when a neighbor of the hotel had a party and the music was loud and lasted till 3 am. This was not the fault of the hotel, however. The staff speaks English which is useful and appreciated. The neighborhood around is full of resturants and shops, but you can walk to almost anywhere in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillC599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel de Lutece
Hotel de Lutece
#549 of 1,803 in Paris
352 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel des Deux Iles
Hotel des Deux Iles
#806 of 1,803 in Paris
207 reviews
Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
Hotel Saint-Louis en l'Isle
#662 of 1,803 in Paris
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Les Tournelles
Les Tournelles
#79 of 1,803 in Paris
233 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel de JoBo
Hotel de JoBo
#16 of 1,803 in Paris
184 reviews
Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel le Notre Dame
Hotel le Notre Dame
#240 of 1,803 in Paris
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Jeu de Paume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Jeu de Paume

Address: 54 rue Saint Louis en L Ile, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Ile de la Cite / Ile Saint-Louis , Notre Dame / Marais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#259 Family Hotel in Paris
#272 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $243 - $545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Jeu de Paume 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel du Jeu de Paume is a charming 4* hotel created in a former 17th century royal jeu de paume; it was fully renovated during summer 2010 and decorated in the "Arty" style. The rooms are cosy and comfortable, overlooking the small patio garden in which breakfast or drinks can be served. The Jeu de Paume is located in the historical heart of Paris on the Island Saint Louis, at walking distance from the cathedral Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Jeu de Paume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Jeu De Paume Hotel
Hotel Jeu De Paume Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing