We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint, friendly boutique hotel in great area of Paris” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Ranked #37 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly boutique hotel in great area of Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here at the end of June. We were greeted in the morning when we arrived, and since our room wasn't ready yet, they held on to our bags for us and gave us suggestions on a good place to get coffee and pastries nearby.

The rooms, while small, have a warm and inviting decor. Beds were pretty comfortable, and I'm picky about that. I'm usually bothered by big city street noise, but surprisingly there wasn't much that could be heard from our room. The black-and-white bathroom was quintessential Paris to me, and I was happy to see that.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, and all spoke English very well. They eagerly answered any questions we had.

Location was great. Far enough away from the really-touristic areas but close to three metro lines and the RER if going to/from the airport, so getting around was pretty easy. Plenty of cafes nearby and only a couple of blocks from Luxembourg Gardens. We felt very comfortable walking around the area and to the major sites. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
We were deeply touched by your warm and kind review.
Our hotel is indeed really nicely located on a quiet street, with 3 metro lines and the RER B (to get to and from airports) within walking distance.
Our rooms have different atmospheres and colours, which you can see pictures of on our official website. On the other hand, all our bathrooms offer the same nice Parisian black and white ambiance.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    121
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
95
267
22
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for a total of 9 days, in two separate visits. These people really understand the hospitality business, and take great pains to provide not only charming decor but truly superb service. Staff were always happy to help, even with the most mundane of inquiries. The lobby is very atmospheric, with a warm fire and newspapers to read, like being in one's own stately home. Our rooms had superb bathrooms and were furnished with antiques, giving the rooms a moody ambiance, especially when the afternoon sun streamed in through the net curtains. Being used to larger hotel rooms, we did find it a bit hard at first to get used to the size of the room (it was even a superior room), but then this is Europe. On the second visit we were allocated room 24, a room on the top floor which looks onto a light well, and we found rather cramped (though it has a large bathroom, and gorgeous decor). We asked to be moved, and this was done promptly the next day when our original room became available. The hotel, as others point out, is very well located, being in walking distance to three metro stations, the Luxembourg gardens, two shopping centres and a multitude of restaurants, cafes and bars. One can easily eat at a different restaurant every meal. The hotel is also located in an area not as heavily visited by tourists as, say, St Germaine-des-Pres, so you can experience a little of the life of a Parisian. Would we stay here again? Yes, without a doubt.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are probably a better deal, with more space, though a suite would be the best if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We also pay extra attention to the decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like.
We have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website.
We truly hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manistee, mi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location , near Metro & many bistros, cafes, & restaurants. Felt safe in the area at all times. Runners will like its proximity to Luxembourg gardens. Rooms a little tight , but very nice updated bathroom. Little to no street noise. Slept great for 5 nights straight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allengag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless restaurants in the neighborhood, as well as the Luxembourg Gardens.
We have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in May. As others have already said, the hotel is charmingly decorated, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. We loved being in a quiet neighborhood with great access to mutliple Metro lines and easy walks to restaurants, cafes, and the Luxembourg Gardens. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Amelie seemed to be behind the desk the most during our stay, and she graciously helped us with restaurant resevations, and even confirmed the details of our car rervation for the next leg of our trip. We enjoyed the very ample breakfast at the hotel several times, and also at Cafe Julien a couple of blocks away.

We were in Room 3, a superior. The bed is a very comfortable king; there was ample storage for our clothing and luggage. We liked having the small refrigerator which had enough space for our own water and wine. The bath room was small, but there was just enough space for our personal items, and we appreciated the robes and slippers. The toilet space was a bit tight-- the door could not be opened all the way, but it didn't really cause us any problem.

We slept with the double-doored window open most of the time. Occassionly there was street noise, so we closed the window and found the sound-proofing worked extremely well.

Part of the reason we chose the Sainte Beuve was because it offered the combination of charm, comfort and service and still stayed within our budget. We reserved months in advance and got a discount for staying more than three days. So, I'd say we found great value here, although I must admit that the size of the room was a bit small for a week's stay. But, I wholeheartedly would recommend it for a shorter stay, and would consider splurging on the junior sweet should we return for more than a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SkyRoseBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
We were deeply touched by your warm and kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within walking distance (line 4, 6 and 12) and countless restaurants and bistros.
We pay extra attention to the cleanliness, decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like.
We do have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos and descriptions are available on the hotel’s website.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast. At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hotel on a quiet street off Boulvard Raspail and a short walk from the Luxembourg Gardens. It has a quaint air about it. The elevator could barely fit 4 people. The room was small but the bathroom was huge and the bath was excellent. The surrounding neighborhood seemed to have a student air about it(not that far from the Sorbonne). We opted for the "Continental Breakfast" which was excellent including the fresh squeezed orange juice(the best I ever had) ham, cheese, yogurt croissant, bread and coffee or tea. We were on the second floor facing the street but heard no street noise. We asked the hotel to arrange a car to the airport when we left. The car was on time and very professional. The housekeeping service was quick and effieient.

Being a small hotel the staff was occasionally pulled in different directions. We had some difficulty getting suggestions and directions as the phone and other booking duties often interfered. In addition the street is 1 block long and taxis had difficulty locating it. We quickly learned to use the intersection of Blvds Raspail and Montparnesse; a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPG47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We do have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website. Our lift is indeed not particularly large but is typical from Parisian old buildings.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Le Sainte-Beuve: We couldn't have been happier with our beautiful, charming hotel on the quaint left bank of Paris. Le Sainte-Beauve was everything we could want. It was clean, the front desk staff (Amelie and Laetitia) were so helpful and every recommendation they offered was outstanding, from our trip to the Champagne country to the Vivettes Bateaux on the Seine to the wonderful dining bistros. Our room was quiet and had everything we could ask for. From a comfortable bed to the beautifully designed brand new bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and so much fun to look forward to and at the end of the day our drinks were in front of the real fire in the lobby. The location is one of the best, 1/2 block from 2 Metro lines. We can't wait to return to Paris and wouldn't think of staying any other place but the Sainte-Beauve. Thank you for making our trip a lasting memory. Jill from CT, USA

Room Tip: Upper floors - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guests,
We were deeply touched by your warm and kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within walking distance (line 4, 6 and 12) and countless restaurants and bistros.
We pay extra attention to the cleanliness, decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast. At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
1,767 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 667 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

A beautiful boutique hotel that we fell in love with. We had a 3rd floor room facing the street (with a balcony) and oh my, we will return. The room was of good size by European standards & is yards away from the Jardin du Luxembourg. Superb. Very congenial staff; don't worry about little things like the small elevator... it's Europe. This is the hotel you will love to come back to. A beautiful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We do have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website. Some these rooms have a balcony.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#22 of 1,794 in Paris
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#36 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#81 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#105 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Property: Hotel Sainte Beuve
Address: 9 rue Sainte Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Paris
#28 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#112 Family Hotel in Paris
#482 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a small street on the Left Bank the Hotel Sainte-Beuve, a magnificent "home from home" in which to rest after a walk through central Paris, is an address that has remained secret for several decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing