We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Ranked #60 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights me and my husband. Its a perfect little hotel -excellent location! The room was nice and clean but small as it often is in Paris. Very good breakfast that easliy was brought to you in your room if you wanted. The staff was very service-minded!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljungl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you for your nice review.
We have four different types of rooms in our hotel. You can find a description as well as pictures of these rooms on our official website.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
Our team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 586 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

I loved staying at Hotel Sainte Beuve. The location was perfect for me. I liked that the hotel is in a safe neighborhood far enough from the crowds, but close enough to walk to major attractions. I enjoyed being so close to Luxembourg Gardens as well as many nice restaurants and bakeries. The hotel is also very close to the metro and RER. The room was very clean and stylish and my bathroom was beautiful and spacious. Every member of the staff was friendly, professional, and helpful at all times. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgal999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is really convenient: close enough to major attractions and yet in a typical quiet area. Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
Providing the highest level of service to our guests is one of our top priorities. We were thus really pleased to read that you enjoyed it.
Our rooms have different atmospheres and colours, which you can see pictures of on our official website. On the other hand, all our bathrooms offer the same nice Parisian black and white ambiance.
We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Wonderful stay in a small, boutique hotel. Central location, almost everything is in walking distance. On a quiet narrow street, no street noise to speak of. But, did have two Metro stops within a block. Rooms were nice, smallish as you would expect. Bathrooms were larger than expected and clean. Didn't eat breakfast there, but there are many options for breakfast close. The proximity to the Luxembourg Garden is a very definite plus. Definitely the staff is what made the stay, however. Friendly, accomodating, helpful in every way. Will be our hotel in Paris in the future.

Mark Dellasega
North Carolina, USA

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,
Many thanks for your nice review.
We are always delighted to read that our guests enjoyed their stay.
The location of our hotel is really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Moreover, this is a nice area to wander about with the Luxembourg Garden and countless typical restaurants and bistros.
There are four different types of rooms in our hotel. A small description for each type and a few pictures are also available on our official website.
The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I'm not sure if it's my time of life but I've stayed in some of the better hotels of late (that is in my limited experience). My wife booked this hotel as part of a trip that she planned to mark my 50th birthday. She couldn't have got it more right. Generally the hotels in Paris needn't try too hard, they are after all in one of (if not THE) most beautiful towns in the world another will sell rooms as a result.. The hotel Sainte Beuve is different - we hit on a gem. First it's location - 6th Arr. is just about the best for us. It's a stride from the tourist centre, in fact its a stroll through the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens. But, the district immediately around the hotel is one full of interest too and one in which I'm happy to while away my time in the genuinely original bars, street markets that sell food, not trash and with Parisians. In fact it's like being in the capital of France!

One's arrival at any hotel often sets the tone for a stay, the staff greeting and the reception area form the first impressions. These were both excellent. The interior design of the hotel made us feel good when we arrived, the staff had a competent and relaxed manner. Together, these made us instantly feel like we could make this our home for the next few days.

Paris is easy to walk through, it's beautiful, my favourite city to walk in in fact. After putting a few miles under our belts and photos in the camera, returning to the Sainte Beuve did indeed feel like walking into a home from home.

The room was comfortable, the bed especially and the decor maintained the tasteful yet homely feel to the place. Crucially, the quality was high too. A clever mix.

The bathroom was nice, small (it's Paris after all), but ample and of a pleasingly good standard. Everything worked, and I don't mean just technically. There was no need to accommodate any slight malfunctions in fittings or function.

I'd like to make particular mention of the staff. They were excellent in every respect. Enough said.

I've read that this hotel is noted for its high returning customer numbers. Put me down as one more and I'm certain if you stay here, you'll be one too.

Room Tip: Superior double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael63UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,
We were truly touched by your kind review.
Our hotel is indeed located in a little quiet street in a nice location with genuine charm. Our guests can find within walking distance countless restaurants, cafés and bistros.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service at any time. Our staff is therefore at the guests’ service during all the stay, always ready to help.
Decoration and layout are also really important to us. Therefore we try to maintain this very unique and welcoming atmosphere that our guests enjoy a lot.
The whole team looks forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at the Hotel and would comeback in an heartbeat! Located On a small street in the nice quite neighborhood of the 6th arrondissement close to the metro. A very chic and stylish lobby with an exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. We decided to pay extra for the breakfast and it was outstanding. A beautiful set table greeted us each morning. There were many selections to choose from including a fresh fruit salad, orange juice, cereal, ham, cheese, yogurt and coffee with a little red sugar heart attached to the rim of the cup! Rooms were small like most in Europe, but with plenty of room and immaculate. It was very nice to have a bathrobe and slippers in the modern bathroom as well. Many excellent restaurants close by and just a few blocks from the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens and St Germaine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,
We were very pleased to read your nice review.
Our location is indeed very convenient and greatly enjoyed by our guests.
We were delighted to read you enjoyed your breakfast. We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We have four different types of rooms in our hotel. You can find a small description as well as a few pictures of these rooms on our official website.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My 13 year old daughter and I stayed at Hotel Saite Beuve March 2013 for a spring break trip. The hotel was tucked away on the the very quiet Rue Sainte Beuve, but is actually part of a bustling businss/residential district just steps away. The hotel was very small and cozy, with a very inviting lobby and bar area. The room was spacious and comfortable with a mini bar ($) and safe, lots of cabinets and two armoires for storage. A nice writing desk, chest-of-drawers and a side talble and chairs. The bedding, linens and draperies were very clean and of good quality. A window with small balcony that opened onto the street. The bathroom was very nice and spacious, with a towel warmer (nice surprise), nice toiletries provided and an EXTRA large porcelin tub that we used every night! There were 3 nice, sit down restaurants within a 30 second walk on the same street. We did not eat a meal at the hotel, but had an excellent room service delivery of dessert late one night. There is a pharmacy right across the street. All of the staff was English speaking and in fact, they spoke several languages. They were VERY helpful and knowledgeable of the area and provided nice maps and subway directions for us on several occassions. We could easily walk to the Montparnasse shopping mall and there were dozens of charming bakeries, boutiques and restaurants within an easy walking distance. The BEST thing about this hotel was it's proximity to 4 metro stations, one within a 30 second walk from the front door of the hotel! Due to this great location, we didn't have to take a taxi during our entire stay. The hotel was also VERY affordable by Paris standards, and we will definitely be back. While it was a family trip for my daughter and me this time, this hotel could be a great setting for a romatic getaway.

Room Tip: Our bed had two twins pushed together to make a king. Choose a high floor, because there was upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsFrazior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear guests,
What a delight for us to read your comment!
Our hotel is located only a minute away from the Luxembourg Garden. The area is quiet and yet lively with countless restaurants, boutiques and bakeries close by. Moreover, thanks to 3 metro stations within walking distance, our guests can chose to walk or take a metro to discover Paris.
We take great pride in our level of service and were very pleased to read you enjoyed it.
We also pay extra attention to the decoration and cleanliness in our hotel, but also to the selection of toiletries in the rooms.
Our team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent a very enjoyable three nights here. It's in a quiet location in a very nice, bustling neighbourhood that's well served by public transport, and sites like the Rodin Museum and the Luxembourg Gardens are within walking distance. There are plenty of interesting shops, and good cafes and restaurants nearby.

The hotel's decor is pleasing, and the communal spaces comfortable and inviting. And 10/10 for the staff, who without exception couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

My only reservation was the size of the room - while characterful and not uncomfortable, we did feel it could have been larger, particularly given the room rates. But overall, I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeeTheBee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay in our hotel.
Our hotel is indeed located in a really nice and lively area with many restaurants and metro stations within walking distance.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service at any time. Our staff is therefore delighted to help guests during their stay with dinner reservations or excursion bookings.
We have four different types of rooms in our hotel. You can find a small description as well as a few pictures of these rooms on our official website.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#21 of 1,802 in Paris
1,909 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#83 of 1,802 in Paris
706 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#63 of 1,802 in Paris
1,269 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#100 of 1,802 in Paris
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Address: 9 rue Sainte Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#49 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $162 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a small street on the Left Bank the Hotel Sainte-Beuve, a magnificent "home from home" in which to rest after a walk through central Paris, is an address that has remained secret for several decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing