We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy excellence”
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Ranked #51 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Two friends and I travelled to Paris for one week after our high school graduation (the trip was a gift from one of the girl's parents for the three of us). Only one in our party spoke French. When we arrived, we checked in at the concierge desk. The woman who greeted us was dressed impeccably and spoke perfect English, though she also spoke to my friend in French. She was very warm and helpful and had our bags taken up to our room, which was on the 6th floor. The elevator is a tight squeeze, so be warned if you're in a big party. The three of us could just squeeze inside. The stairs are excellent and well-lit. Our room was amazing! It was a very decent size for a Paris hotel room (nice and cozy). There was 1 queen size bed and a fold-out twin (we rotated) by the window. The window had a lovely flower-pot (although there was no view, which we did not have a problem with) and let in a nice breeze. The room was never too hot or too cold. The washroom featured a tub-shower, an excellent selection of toiletries, a towel warmer, slippers, and robes. On our first day (we had flown from the U.S., which is a rather lengthy flight) when we arrived, my two friends got very sick. The staff was extremely helpful and made deliveries of ice and cool water and recommended a pharmacy. The room was always cleaned wonderfully when we returned (we even returned to see my sock monkey in a few funny poses!). The concierge was always, always lovely (even to us Americans!). The stay was simply wonderful! We three are planning to return in a few years and we will definitely stay here again. Thank you so much for the fabulous experience!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear guests,
Many thanks for your nice review.
We are always delighted to read that our guests enjoyed their stay.
All our staff, from chamber maids to receptionists at the front desk, does its best to provide the highest level of service possible. Our guests can thus always ask questions about Paris, the neighborhood or our hotel to any member of our staff.
Furthermore we pay extra attention to every single details in our hotel: decoration, layout in the rooms, toiletries, breakfasts…
The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sainte Beuve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 566 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here with my mother three days for a mother-daughter treat and the place was excellent. The decor is beautiful, the staff friendly, the location unrivalled and the atmosphere lovely and relaxed. There was a real log fire burning in reception when we arrived and despite a check in time of 3 PM they let us have the room at 2 PM. The room was beautifully decorated, we had room number 12, and the bathroom was lovely. As you expect in Paris the room was tiny, but they had maximised the use of space and the atmosphere again was lovely and calm. I would absolutely come again. The only tiny thing that would have made the stay even petter would be a small caffetiere in the room with some ground coffee for that first morning cup.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed their stay in our hotel.
We pay indeed great attention to the decoration in our hotel to create a welcoming cosy atmosphere. Moreover our staff is always happy to answer any questions our guests might have about the hotel or Paris.
We have four different types of rooms in our hotel. You can find a small description as well as a few pictures of these rooms on our official website.
We took note that you would have enjoyed a small cafetiere in your room. We will then think about this idea.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband and I and our 4 daughters and their spouses/significant others just returned from a Christmas trip to Paris. We stayed at Hotel Sainte Beuve for 4 nights and had 5 superior rooms. We found the hotel on Trip Advisor and were very satisfied with our choice. It was in a great location in Paris - close to Metro, restaurants. The area was safe and walkable. The lobby was beautiful with a warm fireplace and decorated for Christmas when we arrived. For the most part the staff was warm and welcoming. Prior to our arrival they answered my many email questions and helped with dinner reservations for our large group. They arranged transportation for us from the airport seamlessly. All of us felt that Hotel Sainte Beuve provided the exact feel that we wanted for our first trip!

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 11 were on the ends and seemed larger than Rooms 9, 10, and 15 that we also had. These...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lmryan1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear guests,
What a pleasure to read such a kind and nice review!
It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family around Christmas time.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests and were thus delighted to read that you enjoyed it.
Our hotel has indeed a really convenient and nice location: lots of restaurants in the area, Jardin du Luxembourg within a minute walk… Moreover there are 3 metro lines very close to the hotel (line 4, 6 and 12) making it easy to go anywhere in Paris.
The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I wanted to take the time to write this review to thank the hotel for their compassion. We recently booked a six night stay at the hotel for our honeymoon on a non-refundable rate and due to an unfortunate terminal family illness we were unable to travel. This was only 48 hours prior to travel and we have just received confirmation the hotel will refund the booking. The refund is greatly appreciated as it can now be used to contribute towards the cancer treatment. We are so very thankful to the hotel and I wanted to make it noted to everyone. We will rebook Paris after this adversity in our lives and we will most certainly stay at this hotel. Thank you once again to Hotel Sainte Beuve and booking.com for assisting us during this time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear guests,
We were deeply touched by your kind review.
We were delighted to read that our gesture is of any help and that it can improve things for you and your family during this terrible ordeal.
The whole Sainte Beuve team sincerely hopes to welcome you in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very pleased and satisfied with this Hotel. Service was efficient and welcoming. Overlooked a call for a taxi on our departure date however situation was quickly resolved. Apologies from Hotel followed. Small lobby and breakfast - room elegant, adequate, intime atmosphere. Information desk very helpful with directions. Located in Rive Gauche, near Metro, renowned cafés and famous Bon Marché. Pricy but worth it for comfort. Would certainly return on next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms were spacious, elegant and although facing the short street, very quiet. Ample cupboard space...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinic2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear guests,
Thank you for your kind review.
We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay.
We created a French, cosy and welcoming atmosphere in our hotel so that our guests can feel at home.
Moreover our hotel is located in a nice neighborhood with lots of bistros and restaurants as well as Le Bon Marché and the Jardin du Luxembourg within walking distance.
Our staff is always delighted to help our guests during their stay. We are glad you enjoyed their reactivity and the level of service they provided.
The whole Sainte Beuve team hopes to welcome you again soon.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Paris is one of those cities that has thousands of hotels, so we are pleased to have found this place based on the reviews of others here on TripAdvisor. The hotel was perfectly located and priced reasonably. Our room was very comfortable too. We didn't take advantage of the breakfast facilities. We are keen to return to Paris at some point, a city with so much on offer, and will most likely return to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rosemontjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear guests,
What a delight for us to read your comment!
Our hotel has indeed a nice and typically Parisian location. From our hotel it is possible for our guests to walk to many major touristic sites such as Le Louvre Museum, Orsay Museum… There are also 3 convenient metro stations close to our hotel (lines 4, 6 and 12).
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a really good option in Paris. In between Montparnase and St Germain, 12 min walk to each. It is cute and stylish. Breakfast is nice. Perfect for a week end.
Also not far from les jardin de Luxemburg.
It was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others. It is a small hotel and seems to be busy.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our hotel is located in a nice area with lots of restaurants within walking distance. The Jardin du Luxembourg, one of the nicest gardens in Paris, is only 1 minute walk away from our hotel.
We indeed have 4 different types of rooms with different sizes. You can find pictures and a small description of all our types of rooms on our official website.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#18 of 1,804 in Paris
1,857 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Saint Paul Rive Gauche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#54 of 1,804 in Paris
1,247 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Address: 9 rue Sainte Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Paris
#43 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#111 Family Hotel in Paris
#482 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $209 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a small street on the Left Bank the Hotel Sainte-Beuve, a magnificent "home from home" in which to rest after a walk through central Paris, is an address that has remained secret for several decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing