We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, cute and stylish”
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Ranked #58 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a really good option in Paris. In between Montparnase and St Germain, 12 min walk to each. It is cute and stylish. Breakfast is nice. Perfect for a week end.
Also not far from les jardin de Luxemburg.
It was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others. It is a small hotel and seems to be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our hotel is located in a nice area with lots of restaurants within walking distance. The Jardin du Luxembourg, one of the nicest gardens in Paris, is only 1 minute walk away from our hotel.
We indeed have 4 different types of rooms with different sizes. You can find pictures and a small description of all our types of rooms on our official website.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 590 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Hotel Sainte Beuve was very much as described by other travelers on TripAdvisor. The hotel is absolutely lovely, down to every detail. The lobby area is small but elegant, and our room was just as depicted in pictures. We had the larger room, and it was quite comfortable and very handsome. Great care has been taken with the decorations throughout. To me, the only negative is that the location is a little out-of-the-way, but it is very close to two metro stops, and it is walkable to the Saint-Germain area, albeit a good, healthy walk. But I think it is an excellent value, and I would be delighted to have the opportunity to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We pay extra attention to the decoration and layout in our hotel so that our guests feel at home during their stay.
Most of our guests usually enjoy being able to visit major touristic sites during the day and then in the evening come back around our hotel to find a more relaxed and quiet area. Our hotel is indeed located at less than 20 minutes walk away from boulevard Sainte-Germain itself (i.e. 4 metro station away).
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second stay at the St. Beuve Hotel, and it was just as pleasant as the first. We love the location near the grand cafes on Blvd Montparnasse, and yet close to the Luxembourg Gardens and 2 metro stops. The lobby and rooms are beautifully decorated. The bathroom is large and very clean, and quality products are provided, including bathrobes and slippers! We had a king-size bed. Our room did not have a view, as it overlooked an airshaft from the 6th floor, but it was very quiet and had a pretty windowbox. You could open the window for fresh air without being overwhelmed by noise.
The staff are all pleasant and very helpful. They made us a reservation at Le Timbre, right down the street. It was the best meal of our trip. All in all a great hotel and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 24 is located on the 6th floor--very quiet and calm but no view. Still a pleasant and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Sainte Beuve for five nights as part of our honeymoon trip in France. We absolutely loved it. The superior room was not large, but it was a good size and perfect for two people. We had a charming, small balcony overlooking the Rue Sainte Beuve - and we did not hear any street noise at night even though we were on the second floor. The bathroom was large and included a deep soaking tub - I loved taking baths every night! Also, ladies, there is plenty of counter space and shelving in the bathroom for make-up and other accoutrements. A hair dryer was included in the room and the free wireless internet worked perfectly. The best part of the hotel was the staff and the location. The staff were incredibly nice - they helped make restaurant reservations and gave helpful suggestions. They all spoke perfect English. The location was very walkable - but in a neighborhood area that did not feel very touristy. We walked everywhere! A lot of great boulangeries and patisseries nearby, as well as some fabulous restaurants including Le Timbre which we loved!

We would absolutely recommend Hotel Sainte-Beuve and would stay here again our next trip in Paris. Great for a honeymoon!

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Most of our guests enjoy the location of our hotel. They can indeed easily walk to major touristic sights during the day, thus discovering busy “touristy” Paris. In the evening they can come back to a quieter area in to relax in our hotel or have dinner in one of the many good restaurants around our hotel.
Our staff is delighted to help our guests during their stay, especially for dinner reservations.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Actually I forgot review this hotel as iv staid now in Paris couple of times but it was my first hotel in Paris ever and I loved it!
Part of a partner family trip I didn't booked this hotel myself but I was very happy with it and it made my first time in Paris very well remembered.lol
Its pricy but its worth- good service, rooms, location and list can go on.. just great!
If you never been in Paris I suggest to go for it, classy people who staid & service was excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londres40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
The hotel is located in a nice and lively area with lots of restaurants within walking distance. There are three metro lines (line 4, 6 and 12) close to our hotel which is very convenient for our guests if they get tired of walking around Paris.
Last but not least, our staff is always delighted to do its best to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Just returned from a five night stay at the Sainte Beuve. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. I had Room 20 which is the Junior Suite on the fifth floor. Quite spacious and beautifully decorated. I think the location is ideal -- centrally located but not in the middle of tourist action. Very close to two metro stops. Hope to stay here again soon. Kudos to the owners and their staff on doing such a great job.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeniseinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We know how important it is for our guests to feel at home in our hotel. Therefore we pay extra attention to the decoration of the hotel to have a nice French welcoming atmosphere. Moreover, our staff is always delighted to help our guests with dinner or guided tours reservations. We indeed love doing our best to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sainte Beuve was highly recommended by friends, and my wife and I stayed there for a week after a week barge trip. We were joined by friends from London, and had a wonderful time, enjoying walks in the 6th, and all around Paris. The hotel staff was superb-knowledgeable about restaurants and very efficient in making reservations, helpful at the bar and breakfasts. The hotel is so warm and welcoming, with a very comfortable lobby and nice rooms. We could not have been more pleased.

Room Tip: Very satisfactory range of rooms and prices: book by web to save.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inchau, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear guests,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
Our staff always does its best to make our guests’ stay as enjoyable as possible. They can recommend restaurants for dinner, places to visit, shops to discover.... in the 6th and the whole Paris.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Six
Hotel Le Six
#20 of 1,804 in Paris
1,914 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#83 of 1,804 in Paris
716 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#96 of 1,804 in Paris
412 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
Hotel Luxembourg Parc
#67 of 1,804 in Paris
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Address: 9 rue Sainte Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Paris
#48 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#49 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#56 Family Hotel in Paris
#481 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $169 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a small street on the Left Bank the Hotel Sainte-Beuve, a magnificent "home from home" in which to rest after a walk through central Paris, is an address that has remained secret for several decades. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing