We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An Absolute Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verneuil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Verneuil
Ranked #66 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois, United States
1 review
“An Absolute Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Hotel Verneuil. It's in the heart of Paris, yet tucked away in an amazingly quiet side street. Literally a five-minute walk from the Louvre, shopping, restaurants, metro, and bus. If you truly want the ambience of the Left Bank, you'll love Verneuil. Comfortable bed, crisp linens, cozy yet stylish decor -- and scrupulously clean. A lovely haven after a long flight or a long day of sightseeing. I travel alone and have never felt anything less than totally safe and secure there, which is worth a lot to me.

The staff are always friendly and always helpful, day or night, and thank heavens everyone speaks English, because my French often fails me. Breakfast is always good, fresh, and ample, and the ancient, stone-arched cellar makes an awesome breakfast-room. The lounge -- with fireplace and plenty of overstuffed seating -- is a wonderful place to relax and have a glass of wine.

Yes, the rooms are small, but, again...if you want a true Paris Left Bank hotel, this is it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    137
    40
    3
    3
See reviews for
115
364
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Verneuil in early December. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of St Germain - 5mins from the Louve, 15mins to the Champes Des Elysees. We got a cab from Garde de Nord for only €10.

Our room was a club room which was very well decorated, comfortable bed but a small room - the size of the room was not a problem as this is what we expected. I would like to note that
I had one of the best nights sleep I have had in ages - no noise, good a/c and nice bed.

The bathroom was well decorated and very clean but had a VERY small bath and lacked power in the shower.


The lounge area was very nice as was pretty much everything in this small, but well maintained hotel.

My only slight issues include the breakfast, which whilst perfectly fine, could have been included in the room price. Secondly, I just feel the €200+ per night is slightly expensive for what you get.

I would recommend this hotel based on service, location, cleanliness and character, with the only negative being that I did not think the price necessarily justified what we got (hence the 4/5).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Griffithsthomas1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Cute hotel on a great location and not too busy of a street. Rooms are small, but tastefully done and completly renovated bathrooms. Service was great!! They had great recommendations for dinner spots -- not your typical tourist sposts. Breakfast room was great -- a cave like room food was very good and service was outstanding. recommend largest room -- they other ones are very small, no where to put luggage

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank csp420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We always stay in the same neighborhood, usually at the Danube. This time, we were looking for something with a little more style, and we found it. The hotel was just recently renovated. What we appreciated most was the high quality, big bed. We recommend the superior room with a king bed - - it's worth it after a long day on your feet. The bathroom was fantastic ... with a rainfall shower. We didn't bother with the breakfast -- there are plenty of options in the area.

Our room was on the top floor on the street side. Very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RogerZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a lovely stay in early November... I couldn't recommend it more. It's a great location to begin with, and that alone might make it worthwhile, but the service at the hotel before and during our stay was outstanding. The beds were very comfortable, the bathrooms terrific, and the sitting area in the lobby with a fireplace? A perfect place to relax and end perfect days. It's a hotel I would recommend again and again and I'm looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 564Niks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sandrine was the best concierge that we encounter during our travel! She helped to make our stay at the hotel great with her natural warmth and caring - my mother was not feeling well during this part of the trip and Sandrine did everything possible to make sure she was comfortable. The eating area in the basement was quaint and the food was very good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Proctor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Have just returned from our second stay at the Verneuil. It had recently been renovated and looked better than ever. The location is wonderful and the staff were extremely helpful before and during our stay arranging taxis, restaurant bookings etc . Our room was not large but the bathroom was spacious and the filltings throughout were extremely stylish. Breakfasts were great.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank val g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#67 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#110 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 465 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel d'Orsay - Paris
Hotel d'Orsay - Paris
#65 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci
Hotel Da Vinci
#25 of 1,812 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#71 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#98 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verneuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verneuil

Property: Hotel Verneuil
Address: 8 rue de Verneuil, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Paris
#48 Business Hotel in Paris
#50 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#101 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verneuil 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century building fully renovatedHotel Verneuil is housed in a small 17th century building situated in a quiet street in the Saint-Germain des Prés area, at the heart of Paris.

The location of this unique and charming hotel is enhanced by the close proximity of antique shops, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, cafés (deux maggots, Flore), and major museums. 600 meters to the Louvre and 500 meters to the Musée d'Orsay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Verneuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verneuil Hotel Paris
Hotel Verneuil Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing