We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Ranked #86 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hotel Verneuil. It is most certainly a classic boutique hotel in Paris; the rooms are small, yes, but we did not find this to be any issue whatsoever. Our room was absolutely spotless, charmingly decorated, and had all the amenities anyone would want in a room (minibar, nice shower/tub, high quality towels/bathrobes/bedding, safe, good-sized closet, a very comfortable bed/pillows, air conditioning etc). Beyond that, it was on a very quiet street (and right across from the house of Serge Gainsbourg- so cool!) and the rooms, as a result, were very quiet. The location of the hotel is truly perfect-- right in Saint Germain, down the street from the delicious restaurant Le Cinq Mars (and a number of other great restaurants/cafes/boulangeries), only a few blocks from the Louvre and Musee D'Orsay, within easy walking distance to the Notre Dame and Rue de Rennes (great shopping), and close to several metro stops! Based on this alone, we probably would stay here again.

Beyond all that, we found the hotel staff to be great! The ladies at the front desk during the week were welcoming, friendly, and very helpful, the housekeeping staff efficient and accommodating (and despite what other reviews said, we never had any issue with them not paying attention to the "do not disturb" sign), and the night staff was charming. Joseph, the front desk night staff during the week, was the best! He always had a witty joke ready for us that made us laugh all the ways up the stairs to our room, and we found him to be extremely kind and helpful.

Though we did not eat breakfast at the hotel, we did use the service to the airport. It was efficient, stress-free, and easy.

All in all, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend others to do so as well!

Room Tip: If you are claustrophobic or unable to climb many flights of stairs, I'd ask to be put on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 796 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

We didn't arrive in Paris until 11pm at night and were both very tired, however, the Verneuil was easy to find and we were greeted by a very friendly gentleman who had a few kind words of advice for our time in the city.

The neighbourhood is just beautiful; every other shop is an art gallery. Rue Verneuil is very quiet so we slept soundly. We loved being so close to the pesdestrian bridge pont des arts and the islands.

The hotel is newly rennovated and looked stunning. It is modern but had character. It is a small building but I felt this added to its charm, and is obviously unavoidable due to the architechture of the neighbourhood it's in. With only 25 rooms the service feels personal.

The room was perfect, nice and cosy (yes the rooms are smaller than you may expect) and there was eveything you may require, plenty of closet space, safe, fridge minibar, snacks, hairdryer, toileties by L'occtaine. The room was spotless and had excellent air conditioning, which was always on for us when we returned to the room. The shower room was also spotless and the towels were really good quality. The shower deserves a special mention - two different kinds, hand held and waterfall. The bed was extremely comfy and we both commented on how well we slept. There are lots of mirrors on the walls of the room, as a sort of feature, which come in handy for getting ready for an evening!

We were able to leave our bags at the hotel after checking out so that we could enjoy our last day in Paris without lugging them around. We found all the staff to be extremely friendly and genuine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lil_blenky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had originally booked two nights but found we needed to switch our booking to one night the day before. Even though we had just missed the deadline, a conference call with the online booking firm and hotel made the process simple and we still got the reduced rate for our one night stay. On arriving in Paris we went straight to the hotel and asked to leave our bags with them which they were happy to store for us and take up to our room when it was ready. Brilliant service and on checkout we were also able to leave them there for longer to....we had timed our return for when they had their safety drill! We knew that our room on the 4th floor would be small, but it was well appointed wikth great toiletries. The only issues we had was the furniture meant that we couldn't effectively draw the curtains...but we didn't find this a major problem for us. I also found that the sink plughole was a bit hairy/gunky (very unexpected as the room was otherwise spotless and my DH managed to flood the bathroom on first use of the shower. Problems overcome we found that the hotel was a gem in a quiet location near the batobus stop and romance of the gardens and galleries. It was perfect for a short stay and exploring on foot. We tried the breakfast at the nearby boulangerie as we fancied something hot, but wish we didn't , the omelettes weren't great and we should have stayed at the hotel where it was 15 euro pp. NB: If your claustrophobic you will dislike the tiny lift, .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fionips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a reasonable (for Paris) and quite comfortable 2-3 star hotel well situated on the left bank in a relatively quiet street. The room is pleasant and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was quite good (fresh bread, average croissants, fresh fruit salad, jams in little jars, some good cheese but no sign of egg potential). Toiletries in the bathroom were occitane, which I like. Staff were friendly and the place was clean including the small but newly furbished shower room with separated loo. Only two small niggles - at least 5 minute walk to the nearest metro, and the room was actually quite noisy owing to street noise (loud voices and motor bikes) and noise from poorly insulated adjacent rooms. I would return.

Room Tip: Get one at the back if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKandFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Verneuil ideally located for visiting museums, shopping and, fo course, eating and drinking. This was our first time staying in the the Saint Gemain area, although we have eaten at many restaurants there and in Saint Sulpice.

The rooms are, of course, tiny, but they are very well appointed. The bathroom is shower only, but it is a very nice shower, and the towels are delightful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highermath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I spend 4 nights in this nice and fantastic small boutique Hotel in Paris and I did enjoy every minute of it. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, nice rooms with all amenities and a good selection of breakfast. Walking distance to the Louvre and to the center of St. Germain and still in a quiet quarter with no noise, really can recommend this Hotel and I am for sure will be back to this Hotel on my next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelAndreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The hotel is located on a side road near St Germain and close to many of the attractions and river. The hotels location is great for exploring Paris on foot and there are many cafes and restaurants close by. Our room was on the fifth floor - lift access from first floor level, and although small as most Paris hotels are, it was well furnished and immaculate. The bedding was comfortable and the bathroom which was again small was very clean with good toiletries and fluffy towels. The room was quiet with no street noise and the staff pleasant. We did not eat breakfast there as the breakfast room was in the basement and our preference is to eat al fresco whenever possible.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#83 of 1,804 in Paris
714 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#58 of 1,804 in Paris
589 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Lille
Hotel de Lille
#182 of 1,804 in Paris
270 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#96 of 1,804 in Paris
412 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
Hotel Da Vinci & Spa
#24 of 1,804 in Paris
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain

Address: 8 rue de Verneuil, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Paris
#68 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#100 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $196 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century building fully renovatedHotel Verneuil is housed in a small 17th century building situated in a quiet street in the Saint-Germain des Prés area, at the heart of Paris. The location of this unique and charming hotel is enhanced by the close proximity of antique shops, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, cafés (deux maggots, Flore), and major museums. 600 meters to the Louvre and 500 meters to the Musée d'Orsay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verneuil Hotel Paris
Hotel Verneuil Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing