We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Ranked #150 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great location and staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

to be clear, this is not a luxury hotel.
it is, however, ideally situated in the heart of paris, walking
distance to any locale of note. bonus is the great, nay, world
class, shopping directly out the front door.
the staff is charming in the utmost. warm, generous with information,
genuine in a city reputed to not be. for location and staff, five stars indeed.
the rooms are a bit drab, though. run-down in a not uncharming way. not too
shabby and threadbare, just not polished and freshened as i might want. for this, a 3-star review.
all-told though, the staff made up for the chinks in the physical armor. very pleasant place.
i would stay here again, if price was an object. on the company dime, perhaps another address.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vinocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    138
    31
    10
    9
See reviews for
61
204
38
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very nice little hotel in a fantastic location. A bit on the old side but maintains a very comfortable and quaint atmosphere. The rooms were, for Paris, a very good size, clean and comfortable. The service and staff are very good - kind, helpful and proficient in numerous languages. The location is what makes the place; perfectly situation for cafes, boutiques, shops, restaurants not to mention 5-7 minute walk to the Louvre, 10 minutes to Notre Dame or the Musee d'Orsay. To put it simply we stayed there in October 2010 and when planning for this month we did not seriously consider any other hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidB373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

The location of this hotel makes it worth the price of the rooms. We had a fairly spacious room with 2 double beds and a roomy bathroom. There was adequate storage space for both of us to feel comfortable on our 6 day stay. The lobby area has a sitting room with a small bar and there is also a nice enclosed garden which is used in good weather. The front desk was very helpful with any of our questions including restaurant recommendations. There is a small elevator to transport one person and your luggage if you are staying on the second floor. Our entire stay was pleasant and we were never too far from the local sights or a metro station.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We checked into Hotel Des Saints-Peres after our original reservation fell through. I am glad we ended up here. The room, a triple, is priced well for the St. Germaine area. The room is actually a suite, with a nice bath that has both a shower and a tub. We are close to the Seine, but also close to the beautiful boutiques and cafes of this area. The staff is friendly and very attentive. I don't know why people say Parisians are unfriendly snobs. This staff could not be better! They will even dial your phone for you. Breakfast is included and is very nice, continental, with fresh bread and coffee. I would be very happy tostayhere again. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because there is no restaurant or bar, although there is room service if you wish. Tres bien!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memphismom0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Nice cozy hotel in good location. less then 10 minutes walk in many sights like Notre Dame, Louvre etc... also shopping possabilities are just around the corner. Prada, Armani, RL, Gucci, LV and rest.. all in same and street next to hotel. But still located not in the main street so it's quiet. Individual rooms with old furnitures and paintings. Bed are standard hotel beds. Room is clean. Nice and helpful staff. Safety box and minibar in every room. Not too small rooms and bathrooms, this is because of building age.
Brekfast is small but there enough, possible to order it in the room without extra charge (i think). Would deffinately come again.
Metro, HopOnHopOff tour and Busses are going also street next to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donjohnsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

My wife and I arrived late Saturday afternoon after spending three weeks in the South of France. We had book a four night stay and were eagerly anticipating the deluxe room that I had reserved 6 months earlier based on the internet pictures. Hah!! Our ground floor room was dark and dingy, the carpet was heavily stained wall-to-wall with ground in dirt and was ripped at the seams. The painted woodwork was chipped throughout the room, the ceiling was cracked and the only daylight came from French doors to a tiny, muddy terrasse whose paving stones were green with mildew from lack of sunlight. Furnishings were basic and minimal and I could easily touch the ceiling. My wife, who happens to be French, was not amused and expressed our displeasure to the manager most vociferously. After assessing the situation he declared that he would have the chambermaid give the carpet "un nettoyage a fond"!!! (a deep cleaning). Not acceptable; the carpet was just one of the many problems with this supposedly deluxe room. We insisted on another room, and one that looked like their website!!

Since the hotel was understandably full that evening we would be moved to a different room the next day. In fairness, when we returned at 6:00 p.m. after spending a beautiful day sightseeing in Paris, our luggage had been moved to a very nice room on an upper floor; much more like a “deluxe” room this time. From then on our stay was great. The staff were most helpful and very pleasant, and the hotel is perfectly located for Paris sightseeing, so what started as a nasty bump in the road finished very well.

What I can’t understand is why such a nice little hotel would risk it’s reputation with such an awful room (perhaps rooms?). There are over 600 3- and 4-star hotels in Paris, so why should visitors have to play Russian room roulette by reserving here? Certainly we won’t do it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiamondBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

The hotel is located a block off of Saint Germain, a short walk to the Lourve, and in the heart of the best shopping in Paris. We opted out of using the Metro, so we actually walked everywhere from here. 45 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower, about an hour to the Arc, Less than 15 minutes to the Lourve, Notre Dame, and the Latin Quarter. Less than 5 minutes to Cafe de Flore, Le Bon Marche, Le Grande Epicerie.

The hotel itself is lovely. The staff is friendly, English speaking, and very accomodating. We especially appreciated all the help finding a creperie after a night of drinking (Thanks Louis)! The courtyard and lounge are perfect places for a pre-dinner cocktail.

The lift was down when we stayed, so the 4 story trek to our room was not fun with luggage or a few cocktails under tow, but we managed. The room was Parisian, charming, very spacious. Not modern, not dirty but not spotless, but overall comfortable. The air conditioning wasn't working too well, but luckily the temperature was cool enough at night that it didn't become a real issue. Internet is free, but you have to ask for a code at the front desk.

I would absolutely go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyRN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#101 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#56 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#151 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#91 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#377 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France

Property: Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Address: 65 rue des Saints Peres, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Business Hotel in Paris
#106 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#208 Family Hotel in Paris
#215 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Saints Peres Hotel
Hotel Des Saints Peres
Saint Peres Hotel Paris
Saints Peres Hotel
Hotel Des Saint Peres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing