We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #723 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location but......”
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Hotel des Marronniers is in a great location I have stayed there now on three occasions.
The rooms are rather typical of most 3 star hotels, small, the bathrooms very small although they have been remodeled. As we had flown for 22 hours to Paris, I had requested our room be available on arrival at 8.00am. It was not immediately available and the desk said they had no knowledge of my (email) request. To fill in time we had breakfast, only the once as at 13 euros each it is not worth it. We went to 'Paul's' just around the corner, much better coffee too.
After 4 nights stay we were travelling to visit friends and when I requested our account I had been overcharged 40 euros (rate as per email confirmation). When I queried this I was told I was mistaken and as we had a train to catch I left it at that as we had intended returning in a couple of weeks on our way home. I did email the confirmed rate and requested the 40 euros be credited. When I emailed two weeks later the rate they offered had increased by 30 euros per night. We decided to stay one night and found alternate accommodation in another hotel nearby for 35 euros less per night. When we arrived to check in I notified the (3) women at the front desk of our intention to stay one night as the rate was not suitable. I was humiliated and spoken to so rudely by one of the staff which caught me off guard so rather than cause a scene I said of course we would stay for the full 3 nights. I will never go back though. I think the staff member in question should definitely not work in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saffronpixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    122
    36
    13
    12
See reviews for
53
119
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

This hotel is located in St Germaine des Pres. It is off the street,Rue Jacob, so there is little noise. It is within walking distance of the seine Musee d'Orsay, and St. Germaine des Pres,the oldest church in Paris. Public Transport is handy.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel des Marronniers for St. Valentine's Day 2009. We booked this hotel after a suggestion of my boss who used to live in Paris in the past.

The hotel is just 2 blocks from St. Germain des Pres cathedral, and is located on a quiet street, but right in the heart of Paris... 2 blocks away from the Seine and the Louvre museum and from the metro!

We stayed in a small but very nice and quiet room overlooking the courtyard. the room was old-fashioned decorated, but modern in its amenities.

The service was wonderful -- very friendly, even if we had some trouble w/ language (the first receptionist had problems w/ English) and w/ our room (they assumed we were a different couple of Italians and gave us a smaller room, not our ).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedetta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

The pictures on the hotel's website are completely misleading. The hotel is old, musty and in disrepair. The carpet has holes in it, the room I was given smelled like backed up sewage and the halls were musty. The rooms were miniscule. The beds were like college dorm cots. For the first time in years, I left the hotel without even staying the night.

  • Disliked — Decrepit
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank JuliaMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

My wife and I booked a room at Hotel des Marronniers for our first anniversary, based on the recommendation of a friend. We stayed 6 nights. In the on-line booking, I mentioned that we were coming for an anniversary trip. Imagine our surprise upon arrival that they had moved us to a larger room, not to mention champagne and cookies. Very good first impression.

The reception staff were very easy to get along with. I speak French, which was helpful. Otherwise, they all spoke perfect English. The room was comfortable and charming. We overlooked the courtyard from the 6th floor. It was quiet and private. The bathroom was small, it was difficult to sit on the toilet. The television only had one English channel - CNN Int'l.

The location is amazing. You are right in the heart of the St. Germain district, with any number of cafes, boutiques and sights within walking distance. Of course, it is also a more expensive part of town (i.e. hard to get a drink for less than 10 euro).

We enjoyed Hotel des Marronniers, it was a perfect spot for our anniversary. We would definitely stay there again.

-Sean & Lindsay

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Disliked — Small toilets
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rockuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2008

It was a Sisters and Daughters trip, except one daughter couldn't make it and we had an excellent substitute. We had checked out the Hotel on our previous trip to Paris and absolutely loved the location and the fact that it was "off the street".

Yes, the rooms are not spacious, but they are clean, and well appointed. Our room was on the 5th or 6th floor and we tried to used the spiral staircase as much as possible to work off all those baguettes, etc. But we had a fabulous view over the rooftops over Paris, and the Courtyard. The bathrooms are small, and yes, everything gets wet when you take a shower so work with it. Internet access in the lobby for a small fee. We did not take breakfast at the hotel because there are too many great spots nearby to do so......also a grocery store (with wine) a short walk away. Missed a little fridge, though as we like to do stinky cheese with our wine!

Plan to stay there in the future for sure--it is a great spot and walking distance to absolutely everything we love in Paris.

  • Liked — Location and Charm
  • Disliked — Small Bathrooms....but its Europe!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SurfsideInnkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel des Marronniers from July 6-8, 2008. The hotel is just 2 blocks from St. Germain des Pres cathedral, and is located on a quiet street but actually in a very vibrant area of Paris. I reviewed literally tons of hotels online trying to discern what would be good and what not, and we were a bit concerned choosing a hotel that was not a major corporate place, but we absolutely loved it. We went with our 2 children (4 of us total).

We stayed on the fifth floor in a quad room, which was actually similar to having 2 rooms with a bathroom in between. The room was lovely, with a window opening onto a courtyard. From the fifth floor we were able to see over the rooftops of Paris, and it was very bright and sunny. As is to be expected in any of the hotels in the older part of Paris, the bathroom was very nice but small, but it was more than adequate for our use.

The hotel is somewhat of a surprise in that it is located about a hundred feet off of the street towards the middle of the block, giving it a quiet location with a wonderful garden in back, but when you leave the hotel and walk down the street you are in a very vibrant area, with outdoor cafes, artisanal gelato stores, art stores, history such as St. Germain church, etc. It is also just 2 blocks to the metro, and we used that about half the time to get around Paris.

The service was wonderful -- very friendly and they helped us to book a restaurant as well as to figure out places to go.

Just so you know, Notre Dame is no more than a 10 minute walk from this hotel; jump on the metro and Monte Martre and the Sacre Couer are only 6 stops away; the Louvre and the Tuileries are 10 minutes; etc. You can't beat the location.

And in the morning there are plenty of places to have breakfast with crepes, etc.

  • Liked — Friendly service, great location.
  • Disliked — Not palatially large rooms with high ceilings, but its in an old part of Paris so you expect that.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#707 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#164 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#62 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Millesime Hotel
Millesime Hotel
#178 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#671 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#804 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Property: Hotel des Marronniers
Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#338 Family Hotel in Paris
#460 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing