We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #748 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderfully convenient”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

a very nice quiet hotel in a superb location on the left bank, right by the shops, restaurant and markets of rue de seine and boulevard st. germain. friendly, helpful staff. rooms small but perfectly adequate for central paris.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidm02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear davidm02,

Thank you very much for your kind comment.
Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful location, central and very lively. There is a lot of cafés and nice restaurants. If you need some advice or some help for a reservation, do not hesitate to ask reception desk.

We will be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    122
    36
    13
    12
See reviews for
53
119
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I always want to stay here when I come to Paris. I love the friendly and helpful staff. Love the unique rooms, the small elevator and curving stairs, the warmth and serenity of the garden and courtyard, the great location in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, and the reasonable rates for the quiet and comfortable rooms. Also loved hearing the tolling of the bells from the "oldest church in Paris" around the corner. When I dream of Paris, I dream of the Hotel des Marronniers.

Room Tip: Every room is different and all are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Raven G,

What a nice comment!!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.

Thank you for your loyalty and for your message.
We hope to welcome you back soon to Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

there are accomodations you come in and feel home immediately. Hotel des Marronieres is definitely one of them: very 'Parisienne', excellent located, heavently quite, cosy well furnitured rooms, a yummy breakfast, a beautiful garden and the most friendly staff makes it hard to departure at the end of your stay. I will be back again.

Room Tip: please choose a room with a bath tube
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oberon10777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Oberon10777,

What a pleasure to read your kind comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
The all staff was pleased to see that you felt at home in our hotel. Our relationship with guests is so important that your comment is a real reward.

Thank you very much, we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers very soon, and we wish you a Merry Christmas.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A great place to be in Paris. Convenient for the Metro. In a delightful street. A very traditional set back entrance. Friendly. Quiet. Comfortable bed. Neither room nor bathroom capacious but if you are out on the town who cares?

Room Tip: The rooms over the courtyard to the rear overlook the garden and then the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtwoodfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jtwoodfield,

Thank you very much for writing a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain Des Près is a very nice area, and in December, you could see the Christmas market in front of the Church.
It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I always stay here when I go to Paris, and just got back (November 2013). It has all that I need: friendly, helpful staff; reasonable prices; clean, comfortable rooms; lovely breakfast room; and a great location near the Metro in a delightful, walkable neighborhood full of markets, bookstores, shops, historical spots, and great little restaurants. It's tucked off the street on a courtyard – a warm, unique little hotel not putting on airs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Rae S,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

What a pleasure for the staff to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Well being of our guest is our main priority, and your feedback is our best reward.
Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful area, we totally understand why you like so much. We can tell you that we love working there too!

We hope that you had a nice trip back home and that we will see you soon at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel at least 4 times in the last 12 years. The staff is always welcoming (even though they do not necessarily remember us) The location is perfect, a quiet neighborhood, but close to everything. The rooms are small, but compact and decorated in an interesting manner. Staff is very helpful, made dinner reservations for us, gave suggestions. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Regina O,

We thank you very much for your kind comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful location, specially for a visit of Paris. You can access many touristic places by walk and you can then have a rest in the garden or in your room. Our staff love testing restaurants and they always have good advices for you! They also make reservation of course.
We will be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel des marroniers in september 2013.

Pros: The hotel is located in the busy St Germain neighborhood but nicely hidden in one of a quiet side streets giving you peace and calm after the busy vibrant crowds in the surroundings. Location is perfect to walk to Notre Dame, the Seine River or any of the hundreds of cafes, bars in this district.
They have a nice patio in the back, very green with tables. Make sure to ask for a room view a view on the garden side. Even though the street is quiet, cars and pedestrians still make noise.
We did not try their breakfast.
Bed was very comfortable and room decorated with taste. Felt like a B&B more than a hotel. Small TV with limited channels but that worked.

Cons: Can you say tiny? These rooms are super small. For two people we had a hard time managing our 2 luggages and kept bumping into things. The shower is small and easily overflows in the bathroom. I know this is Paris but just a few extra square meters are truly needed for 2 people. 1 person should be just fine.

Neither a con or a pro: The staff is quite nonchalant. When we arrived we said our name and were handed a key. No explanation, no description of the property, of the checkout time, not a word. I did not even realize there was a lounge/business center downstairs until the day we left. The internet code had to be requested and kept logging us off. I guess it is relaxed but I like a sense of organization, This felt a bit unprofessional (but then again nothing bad happened and they were expedient).

All in all this a good place to stay if you want to be close to the action and still have a quiet retreat at night. For a couple on a weekend that will be OK. Any longer stay will feel painful and cramped. Not super cheap but in Paris, it seems always like this. They only work with booking.com and I don't think you can find them on Expedia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jean-François R,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Your review will certainly help travelers to choose their hotel.
As in many other comments, the size question comes back. Parisian size can be surprising and we totally understand that. Maybe next time, you could ask for a twin room with two single beds, to have more space.
We apologize for the welcoming you had. Relationship with our guests is a priority and we are sincerely sorry to read your feeling about that. It never should have happened.
Following your remark, we inform you that just work with booking.com but the best offers are always by phone or on our website.

We would be pleased to welcome you back for another Parisian trip, maybe in another kind of room. Do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will help you to choose the type of room and we will propose you the best offer.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#705 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#198 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#67 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Millesime Hotel
Millesime Hotel
#168 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#695 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#804 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Property: Hotel des Marronniers
Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#338 Family Hotel in Paris
#460 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing