We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #655 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I always stay here when I go to Paris, and just got back (November 2013). It has all that I need: friendly, helpful staff; reasonable prices; clean, comfortable rooms; lovely breakfast room; and a great location near the Metro in a delightful, walkable neighborhood full of markets, bookstores, shops, historical spots, and great little restaurants. It's tucked off the street on a courtyard – a warm, unique little hotel not putting on airs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Rae S,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

What a pleasure for the staff to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Well being of our guest is our main priority, and your feedback is our best reward.
Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful area, we totally understand why you like so much. We can tell you that we love working there too!

We hope that you had a nice trip back home and that we will see you soon at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    126
    38
    13
    12
See reviews for
54
128
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, NJ USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel at least 4 times in the last 12 years. The staff is always welcoming (even though they do not necessarily remember us) The location is perfect, a quiet neighborhood, but close to everything. The rooms are small, but compact and decorated in an interesting manner. Staff is very helpful, made dinner reservations for us, gave suggestions. We will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Regina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Regina O,

We thank you very much for your kind comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful location, specially for a visit of Paris. You can access many touristic places by walk and you can then have a rest in the garden or in your room. Our staff love testing restaurants and they always have good advices for you! They also make reservation of course.
We will be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at the hotel des marroniers in september 2013.

Pros: The hotel is located in the busy St Germain neighborhood but nicely hidden in one of a quiet side streets giving you peace and calm after the busy vibrant crowds in the surroundings. Location is perfect to walk to Notre Dame, the Seine River or any of the hundreds of cafes, bars in this district.
They have a nice patio in the back, very green with tables. Make sure to ask for a room view a view on the garden side. Even though the street is quiet, cars and pedestrians still make noise.
We did not try their breakfast.
Bed was very comfortable and room decorated with taste. Felt like a B&B more than a hotel. Small TV with limited channels but that worked.

Cons: Can you say tiny? These rooms are super small. For two people we had a hard time managing our 2 luggages and kept bumping into things. The shower is small and easily overflows in the bathroom. I know this is Paris but just a few extra square meters are truly needed for 2 people. 1 person should be just fine.

Neither a con or a pro: The staff is quite nonchalant. When we arrived we said our name and were handed a key. No explanation, no description of the property, of the checkout time, not a word. I did not even realize there was a lounge/business center downstairs until the day we left. The internet code had to be requested and kept logging us off. I guess it is relaxed but I like a sense of organization, This felt a bit unprofessional (but then again nothing bad happened and they were expedient).

All in all this a good place to stay if you want to be close to the action and still have a quiet retreat at night. For a couple on a weekend that will be OK. Any longer stay will feel painful and cramped. Not super cheap but in Paris, it seems always like this. They only work with booking.com and I don't think you can find them on Expedia.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-Francois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jean-François R,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Your review will certainly help travelers to choose their hotel.
As in many other comments, the size question comes back. Parisian size can be surprising and we totally understand that. Maybe next time, you could ask for a twin room with two single beds, to have more space.
We apologize for the welcoming you had. Relationship with our guests is a priority and we are sincerely sorry to read your feeling about that. It never should have happened.
Following your remark, we inform you that just work with booking.com but the best offers are always by phone or on our website.

We would be pleased to welcome you back for another Parisian trip, maybe in another kind of room. Do not hesitate to contact us directly, we will help you to choose the type of room and we will propose you the best offer.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I tiny bijoux hotel with faded elegance. Rooms tiny but manageable and a lovely large window overlooking the courtyard. Easily accessible for the city and some lovely little restaurant's very close by. Day staff extremely helpful and nothing to much trouble, though night staff were slightly huffy and their English was not good so made for directions etc quite difficult. Would highly recommend, and visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Jules K,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
Hotel Des Marronniers is lucky to be located in the heart of Paris. And Saint-Germain des Près is very lively district.
All the staff was pleased to read your nice comment, but we are sorry for language difficulties of the night staff.
It will be a pleasure to see you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stay at this hotel if you want to have the perfect location for visiting typical Paris sites. Staff is helpful, kind, and competent regarding taxi service, directions, metro etc. CLean rooms, private bath, good breakfast service, just a nice place to stay. If you want to blow into town, drop your stuff, and head out to enjoy, not overpay for a hotel, stay here. Rooms are small so you shoud be too. This isn't a criticism of the hotel, it's common in the area, but just know what to expect. If you are the type to enjoy large spaces, formal lobbies, hang at the hotel, go to a chain, St Germain is not the place for you to stay. If you enjoy easy access to main sites, authentic experience, and a value price, this is your place. We were two people, three days, super fun, super easy, we will come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear John S,

What a pleasure to read your comment about Hotel Des Marronniers!
You wrote all the information our next guests could need to reserve. What can we add? Nothing!
All the staff was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you very much for your message.

We hope to see you soon at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were 3 friends over in Paris for 2 nights and we enjoyed our stay at the Marroniers. I shared a room which was at the top of the hotel and we had quite enough room with an extra bed at one end . The bathroom was very small and difficult to sit on the loo with the door closed and the bath was tiny -still we managed by sitting sideways and it was easier to shower than have a bath! The beds were comfortable with good linen and we overlooked the front of the hotel which was set back from the Rue Jacob so reasonably quiet for Paris. The lift was very slow but fine for two/three people with small suitcases. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we would have had breakfast in the hotel if it had been less expensive. All we wanted was a delicious croissant, some good coffee and maybe a juice but thought 15 euros too much. We went out and found just what we wanted for about 8 euros. In the Summer the little courtyard at the back would be delightful for a drink. The hotel was very good value for money and we would definitely come back again. The single room was tiny but had everything you wanted and my other friend was happy there and slept very well. All in all a very happy stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and for as much space as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear GertrudeLondon,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful area and a perfect location for a visit of Paris. The atmosphere, the "Parisian" style, restaurants, shops... Everything you need is in Saint-Germain!
However, rooms size is also "Parisian" and we totally understand your remark. Next time, do not hesitate to book a triple room to have more space, even for two.
Concerning breakfast, you can take a coffee and a croissant "à la carte". Because of the buffet, our guests are used to order a full breakfast.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back with your friends for another stay in Paris.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are tiny, the views entrancing and the lift eccentric. The bathroom is easily missed if you are not paying attention.

The service was non-existent. No help with the baggage and no quick laundry. Why?

On the other hand the position is perfect in Rue Jacob and a great base from which to explore.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Anthony B,

We thank you time for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain Des Près is a very nice area, full of old Parisian buildings. And as many of others, Hotel Des Marronniers offers rooms and bathrooms of a "Parisian" size. We are sorry for the trouble it caused you.
Concerning luggage, we are just a three star hotel, however, if you need help, do not hesitate to ask the reception. The staff is always pleased to help you if possible.
We also inform you that we do propose a laundry service. You just have to leave your clothes at reception desk before 10.00am and you have it back after 8.00pm the same day.

Informations are written in the room directory, but reception desk is open 24 hours a day to answer your questions.

We would be pleased to welcome you back, maybe in a triple room with 3 single beds to have more space.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#726 of 1,801 in Paris
148 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#703 of 1,801 in Paris
316 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#150 of 1,801 in Paris
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#72 of 1,801 in Paris
643 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#781 of 1,801 in Paris
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Property: Hotel des Marronniers
Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#338 Family Hotel in Paris
#460 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing