We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and a real Parisienne Hotel with great charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #738 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and a real Parisienne Hotel with great charm”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were 3 friends over in Paris for 2 nights and we enjoyed our stay at the Marroniers. I shared a room which was at the top of the hotel and we had quite enough room with an extra bed at one end . The bathroom was very small and difficult to sit on the loo with the door closed and the bath was tiny -still we managed by sitting sideways and it was easier to shower than have a bath! The beds were comfortable with good linen and we overlooked the front of the hotel which was set back from the Rue Jacob so reasonably quiet for Paris. The lift was very slow but fine for two/three people with small suitcases. The staff were very helpful and friendly and we would have had breakfast in the hotel if it had been less expensive. All we wanted was a delicious croissant, some good coffee and maybe a juice but thought 15 euros too much. We went out and found just what we wanted for about 8 euros. In the Summer the little courtyard at the back would be delightful for a drink. The hotel was very good value for money and we would definitely come back again. The single room was tiny but had everything you wanted and my other friend was happy there and slept very well. All in all a very happy stay!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and for as much space as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear GertrudeLondon,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is a wonderful area and a perfect location for a visit of Paris. The atmosphere, the "Parisian" style, restaurants, shops... Everything you need is in Saint-Germain!
However, rooms size is also "Parisian" and we totally understand your remark. Next time, do not hesitate to book a triple room to have more space, even for two.
Concerning breakfast, you can take a coffee and a croissant "à la carte". Because of the buffet, our guests are used to order a full breakfast.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back with your friends for another stay in Paris.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    122
    36
    13
    12
See reviews for
53
119
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are tiny, the views entrancing and the lift eccentric. The bathroom is easily missed if you are not paying attention.

The service was non-existent. No help with the baggage and no quick laundry. Why?

On the other hand the position is perfect in Rue Jacob and a great base from which to explore.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Anthony B,

We thank you time for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain Des Près is a very nice area, full of old Parisian buildings. And as many of others, Hotel Des Marronniers offers rooms and bathrooms of a "Parisian" size. We are sorry for the trouble it caused you.
Concerning luggage, we are just a three star hotel, however, if you need help, do not hesitate to ask the reception. The staff is always pleased to help you if possible.
We also inform you that we do propose a laundry service. You just have to leave your clothes at reception desk before 10.00am and you have it back after 8.00pm the same day.

Informations are written in the room directory, but reception desk is open 24 hours a day to answer your questions.

We would be pleased to welcome you back, maybe in a triple room with 3 single beds to have more space.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Location plus charm plus comfort, Room 63 has twin beds, ample bath, tasteful and fresh furnishings. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast served in courtyard is very good. Elevator is small and slow but you get used to it. If you want big and fast elevators go to a chain hotel and avoid the charm of Rue Jacob. Have stayed here before and hope to return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Pointc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Pointc,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Weather was not too bad in September, and you were part of the lucky persons who had breakfast in the garden. What a nice moment! In Winter, breakfast can be served in the veranda, where you can admire the snowy garden... It is magical!
Yes, elevator is slow, but do not worry, the engine is new, and it works very well!

We hope to welcome you soon for another Parisian trip.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Chose this from other Tripadvisor reviews, and they were right on. Great location - quiet back street but easy walk to the Louvre and Notre Dame and Musee d'Orsay. About 400 yards from nearest metro stop. Rooms are typical European size but nicely appointed and comfortable. Lovely private courtyard. Breakfast at 12 euros was very good considering that a café nearby was charging 10 euros for a cup of coffee, orange juice, and a croissant, whereas our hotel had many more items to choose from. Every employee was pleasant and most were fluent in English. Would definitely stay here again when we return to Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Anonymous1908,

What a pleasure to read your message about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Comments of previous guests are very helpful, and yours too!
Saint-Germain des Près is a central location, perfect for visiting the City. And after walking for hours in Paris streets, you can come back and relax in the garden...
We just wanted to inform readers that breakfast is at 15 euros (not 12 as mentioned). We propose now scrambled eggs, sausages, hot drink, juices, fruits, yogurts, bread (baguette), croissant, pastries, ...

We will be pleased to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I have fallen in love with this hotel 25 years ago, and have returned many times ever since.The hotel has significantly upgraded its rooms and overall quality during these years: from slightly ramshackle and inexpensive to tasteful but subtly simple - so much in tune with its surroundings. A lovely base from which to explore our favourite part of Paris!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jan Q,

What a pleasure to read your comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Because a hotel lives, we need to make some renovations and to improve our services constantly. There is always something to improve. That is why we pay much attention to our guests feedback.
And your loyalty after all those years is our best reward.

We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers for another nice visit of the mythical Saint-Germain Des Près.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a fine little hotel. Located in a courtyard, set back from a quiet side street, the lack of external noise is amazing for such a marvelous, central location. True, the rooms are small and the bathroom tiny, but they are adequate for a short stay. Breakfast is good, the staff competent and friendly, and the garden charming. Very good value as well, in comparison with what you can get in central Paris.

The only negative is the noise from air conditioning and fans in adjacent rooms. If you're the sort of person who finds that a problem, then it may be am issue here. Otherwise, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ted M,

We thank you for your kind comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain Des Près is a lively area and we feel very lucky to keep a quiet atmosphere while being located in the center of the district.
We took note of your remark concerning air-conditionning and and we will try to find a solution. Your feedback is important for us, that is why you do not have to hesitate to contact us during or after your stay.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers for another visit of Paris.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We (me, my wife and two young daughers) arrived tired after a day's travel to find that our email reservation had not been received by the hotel. This was totally my fault (2 'n's in "Marrionniers"...), but the receptionist could not have been nicer and more helpful. She found us a room (I think it was better than the one we had originally tried to book but she gave us it at the same price) and so, relieved, we settled in. The rooms were compact but very comfortable (and astonishingly quiet) and perfectly fine for what we needed, which was a base to explore the fantastic local area. A restaurant round the corner had been recommended and we had a lovely meal, then a short stroll to the river where we watched the sunset from the Pont des Amants. The hotel also has a lovely garden which, sadly, we didn't actually have time to go and sit in. But, if we come back to Paris, then we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSJS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauriane C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear MSJS80,

It was with a real pleasure that received your comment on Trip Advisor.

Mistakes can happen specially with an "n" or "r" missing at "marronniers". However, we always try to find a room for guests arriving without reservation, at Hotel Des Marronniers, or in the neighborhood. As it was low season, hotel had rooms available, and you could stay with us!
All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Paris is a nice city with a lot of places to see. You will need more than one stay to visit it. That is why you will have to come back and so you will be able to enjoy the garden!!

We hope to see you soon at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#708 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#201 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#71 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Millesime Hotel
Millesime Hotel
#147 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#674 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#807 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Property: Hotel des Marronniers
Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#338 Family Hotel in Paris
#460 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing