We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsch feeling, best location in Paris”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #496 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

When I first walked into the hotel, I thought it might be a little old-fashion But the service and front desk positive attitude changed my opinion. I then noticed the roses on the rugs, the roses on the walls and the delightful top floor room with a marble bathroom and the quietest room I've ever had in central Paris. Their breakfast room looks onto their garden which I would have used to read and have tea if only the weather in April had been a bit warmer.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Blythe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Dear Blythe M,

We would like to thank you for writing such a nice comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Well being of our guests is a priority and relationship with them is very important too. That is why we were moved by your comment.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Des Marronniers, maybe in Summer to enjoy Paris under the sun...

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 345 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a pretty, quaint hotel- right in the heart of St. Germain. Antiques, boutiques and delicious restaurants nearby. A short walk to the Seine. The rooms are very small- but delightful! Ask for one at the back- no street noise at all. Eat breakfast in the courtyard garden. Excellent value. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesleygrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear Lesleygrah,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is a lively district and a central location for a visit of Paris. After walking to the Louvre of the Luxembourg garden, you can come back to the hotel and have a rest in the garden or in the veranda. Rooms overlooking the garden are very quiet, but rooms on the courtyard too. We are lucky to have no rooms on the street.
As you could see, Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building, that is why rooms are not big. However, we paid much attention to comfort and decoration, and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be pleased to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the Latin quarter, where there are lot of small restaurants, cafés and bars on walking distance. The rooms are very small, but cosy. The whole atmosphere is a bit old fashion, but there lays its charm. There is no noise from the street, so you´ll sleep well. The staff is very friendly. You can have breakfast in the winter garden or in the garden, if the weather allows. What a luxury in the middle of Paris. We stayed in this hotel for the second time and I´m sure it won´t be the last. If you want to enjoy old time charm, choose this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kilkki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Kilkki,

We want to thank you for your nice comment regarding Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is very lively area and a central location for a visit of Paris. You can walk to many touristic places and have a rest in the garden or in the veranda after a long day walk.
The ambiance of the hotel is very important for us, we really want our guest feel like in an old Parisian place. That is what it is. Hotel Des Marronniers was a part of the Saint-Germain Abbey (that explains size of the rooms), and History has to be reflected everywhere.
We hope that you will come back in Summer to enjoy your breakfast in the garden, we are sure you will like it.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early Aug. 2012. They have done a wonderful job of renovating the rooms while keeping the charm. As most everybody else has said, the rooms are small, but they are certainly adequate and comparable to most rooms in all of Europe. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that breakfast was kind of a rip-off. Our trip was 4 weeks long and we stayed in very similar hotels all over Europe, and this was the only hotel in which breakfast was not included in the room price. We didn't realize it, but when we got the bill, we saw that we could have gone to any of the nearby restaurants and had a much better breakfast for less.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the rear courtyard which was very quiet and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Carole C,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Des Marronniers for your stay in Paris.

All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding concerning breakfast. We never include breakfast in the room rate but we always write it on confirmations, in the rooms, and at reception desk. We understand that if you thought it was included, you must have been surprised and disappointed.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers and we wish you also a Happy New Year!

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This lovely hotel is in the very heart of those streets roamed by the ghosts of past American intelligensia. But, even more than that, just a few doors away in Rue Jacob, American history had its most influential moment.
In 1777 Benjamin Franklin stayed at 52 Rue Jacob, and in 1783 he signed the peace treaty with Great Britain at 56 Rue Jacob. This treaty recognised the independence of the United States.
Arriving at this hotel you walk in the footsteps of your history,
Café des Deux Magots and Café de Flore were the meeting places of great minds like Jean Paul Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir and are just minutes away.
From the rooms at the rear you can see the eleventh century square tower of the church Saint-Germain-Des-Pres, the oldest church in Paris. The Café Procope, dating from 1686, and the haunt of Voltaire, is within a few minutes walking distance.
This hotel is close to many art galleries and a street of multi-cultural restaurants that illuminates into vibrant activity as the sun fades, Rue St Andre des Arts.
Relax upon the atmosphere of Paris, a city of flair and imagination. Take a padlock inscribed with your name, secure it to the rails of one of the bridges across the Seine and drop the key into the river; that is your lasting memory of a treasured moment in Paris with the knowledge that Paris has its eternal memory of you and the key to its heart.

See the video on youtube:- Paris France. A lovely autumn day. 31st October 2012.
Paris has wonderful ambiance at any time of the year.

Room Tip: Rooms can be small but think of them as time capsules of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tebbuch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Tebbuch,

What a pleasure to read another of your comment on Trip Advisor. We thank you for that.

Paris is one of those cities where you can feel history in every corner. And in Saint-Germain Des Près, histories of different countries meet.
The past is reflected in the stone, but Paris add another atmosphere. Take a walk with your lover and you will understand. Paris at night, on a bridge, in front of the opera, or at a table of nice restaurant. All Paris is romantic. And Hotel Des Marronniers likes welcoming lovers.

We would like to thank you again for your interest and for your nice comments about Hotel Des Marronniers. We are always glad to read it.

We will be pleased to welcome you soon and we wish you a Happy New Year.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent hotel. Ideal location. Very clean, quiet and safe. Lots of great shops, cafes, and great attractions all within walking distance. Yes the rooms are small but this is typical of most French hotels in a city. If you want to spend all your time in your room go George V and pay for the bigger room or stay at home. The breakfasts are very good and if you drink more then one cup of coffee are cheap. The staff are friendly and very helpful. This is our fourth holiday this year and was the best due to being able to totally relax and have fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Jacqueline R,

We thank you for your nice comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice district full of restaurants and cafés. We understand why you enjoyed that area, we love working there too.
All the staff was pleased to read your comment and we hope to welcome you as soon as possible for your next visit to Paris.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My parents used to stay here, and loved it. But rooms are small, not well cleaned and breakfast is a rip-off extra. Perhaps it was more charming 20 years ago. The location however is perfect for a trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotFish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Scotfish555,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

We are sorry to read that your were disappointed with your stay with us. The size of the rooms is something we can not change but we started big renovations: stairs, lift, corridors, and most of the rooms. We apologize if you did not like the new one.

Concerning continental breakfast, we imagine that you would have prefered ham and bacon maybe. You can order eggs, (hard eggs for free and others in extra) even it is not included in continental. Do not hesitate to send us an email in order to tell us exactly what you expected. It will help us to improve our breakfast.

The last thing is the cleanliness of your room. We were surprised to read it in your comment. We pay much attention to cleanliness and condition of the room. We are sorry that you have not had that feeling.

We would like to apologize again for that experience at Hotel Des Marronniers and would be pleased to welcome you again on order to make you forget it.

Sincerely Yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#507 of 1,802 in Paris
192 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#117 of 1,802 in Paris
547 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Millesime Hotel
Millesime Hotel
#219 of 1,802 in Paris
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#695 of 1,802 in Paris
326 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#338 of 1,802 in Paris
468 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#1,154 of 1,802 in Paris
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#337 Family Hotel in Paris
#459 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $138 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing