We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #653 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We stayed here mid-week in early February 2008 and really enjoyed it. The hotel is in the heart of the St Germain area, surrounded by boutiques, art galleries and cafes, and within easy walking distance of the metro, the Louvre and Notre Dame.

Our room was small but clean and delighfully furnished with upholstered walls. The hotel is set back from the street so isn't affected by traffic noise, but the plumbing is very noisy!

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma_Jane_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Marronniers
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 317 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is a great hotel located in the heart of St. Germain des Pres. Yes, the rooms are small but they are delightfully decorated with colorful fabrics and elegant window treatments. The hotel, itself, is situated a good distance from the street and although the location is in a very bustling area, the hotel is quiet. I slept very soundly. Lawrence, Sylvan and Charlotte are all so friendly and accommodating... your stay will be even more pleasant because of them. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank slimK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2007

We returned to Hotel des Marronniers having enjoyed previous visits, but being mindful of messages left by other travelers about certainr dissatisfactions. We were thrilled at our reception ,gracious front desk staff, and even more so by our room on the 6th floor, Room 63, which was not only spacious by left bank standards, but which had a rennovated bath and two generous sized closets (we fully expected to have to live out of suitcases). Our room was clean, quiet and perfectly appointed in this incredibly located hotel at 21 rue Jacob. There was, however, one drawback. On the day of our arrival, shortly after we squeezed into the tiny lift to the 6th floor to drop off luggage, we departed the hotel in search of our mid day meal. Sated we returned to unpack and regroup only to learn that the lift was broken. kaput. And so it was for the next 4 days. We learned there were 129 steps to the 6th floor which felt like double the number after treking through the cobblestoned streets of Paris. And so, while this is not the Ritz, it's a great left bank spot but we recommend highly checking to see first if the lift is operating!

5  Thank MarilynG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2007

If you're looking for a small, charming, individual hotel on the left bank then stay here - it's great. Its location, on the rue Jacob, is spot on for this area, full of great boutiques, quaint streets, and just around the corner from the St Germain church and metro. It's also really quiet, especially with the set back courtyard entrance, nice touch, and the garden at the back.
Yes - the rooms are tiny, the bathrooms even tinier, but if you come to Paris for room size you're in the wrong city. They are really nicely decorated, no neutral beiges here though, it's all colourful crimson striped fabrics - but tasteful. My room (23) had a beamed ceiling and antique furniture, and the bathroom was novel but newly done and clean. The noisy pipes were a bit of a nuisance late at night/early morning and the beds could not be described as luxurious, but I slept well. If you want to spend alot of time in the hotel during the day it may be too small, but was perfect for us as we were out roaming the streets literally all day. We were also only 1 person per room, probably helped alot, I could see you might struggle a little with 2 unless you had a larger room than I did.
PS the Patisserie Paul round the corner was AMAZING for breakfast - be prepared to queue

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicsterLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2007

The really good stuff first:

Lawrence! She was the person at the front desk when we arrived. Being French-impaired, Lawrence was a life-saver as we got direction to navigate the streets, find local amenities and to take advantage of all the hotel had to offer. And it was personal!

The intimate rooms are airy and air conditioned too, though our preference was to allow the huge windows to fly open and make the space feel both indoors and outdoors at the same time.

The neighborhood is fun, eclectic, centrally convenient and just that right dose of funky. Pastries and Baugettes from Paul's, basic groceries from Champs, delectible fruits and meats from vendors who's shops are as much on the street as off, all served as terrific compliments to the row after row of fun and interesting cafes that dot the immediate vicinity. All that and still, the hotel was private and quiet.

The okay stuff but be prepared for it anyway: If you get a single room don't expect a lot of floor space. But hey! you are in Paris, who cares about floor space! The shower only bathroom was big enough for one and that's a good thing because without a shower curtain or door, water, water everywhere! Still, that shower was powerful, with plentiful hot water and the whole bathroom was spotlessly clean.

The elevator is quirky but reliable at the same time. If you are carrying luggage for more than just a couple of days, expect to travel up seperate from your bags.

The bad: There was no bad. Go, enjoy Paris. Have a glass of wine, grab a hunk of bread, walk or bike through the streets and have a memory to get you through the rest of your life!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank KACKAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I've been to Paris four times in the last seven years, and particularly enjoy the St. Germain des Pres area. This hotel was just perfect for us, three female friends. Set back from the street, quiet, the room was nicely decorated, fabric on the walls, and plenty large. We requested a triple room, and actually had a suite (#16) - the larger room with two twin beds, and another room with a twin bed that connected. The bathroom was certainly roomy, and nicely done. The room was a bit dark, but how much time do you spend in a hotel room in Paris? Not having seen other rooms in the hotel, I can't speak for anything other than our accomodation, which was more than comfortable for a moderately priced hotel room in a wonderful neighborhood in a European capital. The hotel staff was friendly, and considering what things cost in general, I think the price was fair. The garden looked lovely, but we were happy breakfasting at Paul's.

I've stayed at more expensive hotels, and less expensive hotels. I would happily return to des Marronniers on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank parisfreak_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Yes, it's Paris, and yes, it's expensive, but we subsequently went to Venice (also expensive) and got much, much more for our money. Oh, well. The location of Hotel des Marronniers is terrific--great neighborhood and the Metro is closeby. The staff was friendly enough. As almost all others note, the breakfast IS NOT WORTH 13 Euro! Follow the advice of others and head over to Paul's or another pasticcerie. The room was small but clean; the bathroom was surprisingly nice. Great Internet access.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank doctorkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#633 of 1,803 in Paris
169 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#125 of 1,803 in Paris
516 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#686 of 1,803 in Paris
320 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#818 of 1,803 in Paris
312 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
Grand Hotel de l'Univers
#685 of 1,803 in Paris
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#338 Family Hotel in Paris
#460 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $157 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing