We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #687 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We enjoyed the terrific location with so many amenities to hand. I agree with all who have said that the staff were friendly and helpful. The price was reasonable considering everything. The rooms certainly aren't that spacious and that might give us pause if were contemplating a longer stay. For the three nights that we were there it wasn't a serious drawback: we spent most of our time out in the city and didn't really require a hotel room as a retreat. The weather was pretty bad. If it had been better we would probably have been able to enjoy the hotel garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Martin H,

We thank you for your comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Size of the rooms is explained by the age of the building but do not hesitate to ask for a bigger room like a twin room with two single beds or a triple room with three single beds to have more space. People with lot of luggage are used to book twin or triple even for two.

All the staff was pleased to read that you had a nice stay at Hotel Des Marronniers and we hope to welcome you soon to make you discover the garden under the sun...

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    127
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
54
130
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The rooms is small, just sufficient for a bed with a tiny bathroom next door. It you had 2 suitcases it would be very cramped. I was travelling on my own, and out all day, so it wasn't an issue. What I required, was a quiet, clean, comfortable and safe place to stay. The room I was in was on the second floor and overlooked their lovely courtyard. I was able to open the window each night to get a breeze. I do not know what it would be like on a hot day as the weather was pleasant while I was there (early June 2012). The location was perfect for walking everywhere. The staff were pleasant and helpful and their English was way better than my rudimentary French. I had breakfast there every morning, which I12 Euros. It was good - baguette, croissant, sweet pastry, selection of museli and cereals, boiled egg, cheeses and lovely cafe au lait or chocolate. There is a fabulous little bakery across the other side of Rue Jacob and down a little bit from Rue Bonaparte. Great for baguettes for lunch or a little pastry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1840MMOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear 1840MMOD,

We want to thank you for writing a nice comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

We were glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Even if our main goal is your well being, feedback are the best way to know your feelings.
Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building which explains size of the rooms. Next time do not hesitate to ask for a bigger room like a twin room (2 single beds) or a triple room (for 3 persons) in order to have a larger one.
Concerning breakfast, we are used to think that it is the best moment of the day. That is why we chose a good bakery and we try to propose a good choice of food.
All our staff was delighted to read your comment and we thank you for that.

We will be pleased to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed over a week and we noticed that the rooms were not cleaned very well. We did not feel particularly comfortable and felt itchy and had red spots. One night we could not sleep and took a good look of the room and the bed and found bed buds. We had to endure complete cleansing with bottles of chemical and threw away sme items. Very unpleasant and shocking, given that the hotel is in a good location and should be properly cleaned regularly.

Room Tip: Stay away, bed buds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamesmartin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear JamesMartin2001,

In response to your comment about Hotel Des Marronniers, we would like to tell you that we did not find any bed buds in your room or in one of our other rooms. And we looked carefully after reading your message. As you did not say anything to the reception, we could not react.
We are sorry to learn that your experience at Hotel Des Marronniers was not the one you expected. However, be sure that cleanliness et well-being of our guests are our main priorities.
Do not hesitate to contact us directly at hotel-des-marronniers@wanadoo.fr

We hope we will have occasion to welcome you again in order to show you what is a good night at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The location, on the left bank, is superb and staff are helpful. But... rooms are the size of a shoe box (ours, Monty Python fans will he pleased to know, had a roof) with a bathroom that had a Russian doll relationship to it. With no air conditioning, and not even at the height of summer, the room was simply hot and stuffy despite having the window wide open.

Cleanliness (the headboards were sticky) left something to be desired, as did the bathroom sink with its two cracks spreading across the full width.

An alarm clock, or a wake-up call, are superfluous: bins rolled across the courtyard at 06:30, and again at 07:10, achieve the same effect. Breakfast, at 12 Euro, is poor value with a limited choice of cereals, meats and cheese, as well as bread that has been bred to be knife resistant!

All-in-all, disappointing. This hotel could be so much better but, at 200 Euro per night on the four night rate, it's just not good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Digitl,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
Feedback are the best way to improve our services and be sure that we noticed all your remarks.

Hotel Des Marronniers is part of a very old district. Indeed, St-Germain des Près and especially rue jacob were born with Henry the 4th. Charm lives in history and in stones. The age of the building explains size of the rooms. We decided to pay much attention to comfort and decoration in order to reduce narrowness feeling.

Air-conditionning was started in June at Summer arrival. We are sorry to learn that you had a problem with yours. If you had told the reception desk, they could have sent someone to repare it or proposed you to change of room. Next time, do not hesitate to report.

As a 3 stars hotel, cleanliness represents more than a daily task, it is a moral duty. We do not understand what happened with your headboards, this is quite unusual, however you could have asked for changing it too. Reporting is the best way to find solution.

Concerning breakfast, we try to propose a different hot and cold food, but after reading your comment, we will think of how improving it.
Last thing is your wake up by bins rolls. We can just inform you that we do not decide the schedules. City Hall does. But we understand your trouble and we can assure you that people usually find our courtyard very quiet.

We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers in order to alter your feeling.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

After spending 6 nights in Paris there was no other location in Paris which we would have preferred to have stayed in. The location of this is hotel really is perfect.

The biggest draw about staying here is that it's set away from the street, so outside noise is at a minimum - especially our room which was overlooking the rear garden (which is a nice spot to enjoy a drink). The only noise is the flushing of toilets - which given the highly pressurized water supply is really quite loud.

The reception staff were terrific and the two restaurant recommendations they made were spot on. They're also happy to make reservations on your behalf. We would have preferred tea facilities in the room - but you're welcome to come downstairs and use the kettle... though not later at night when the bar closes.

It's difficult to comment on the value of a hotel room in Paris, because it's an expensive city. The hotel rooms are small, so be aware of that - but they are well maintained and the bed had a firm, comfy mattress.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank planetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Planetjones,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
We are very happy to read that you had a nice stay with us. Being located in a backyard make your room quiet and we will have a look at flushing of toilets. We are sorry for that disappointment.

Concerning tea, we do not have room service after 11.00 am, however, you can ask reception desk. Our staff is pleased to prepare it for you, and you can drink your tea in the garden, in the lounge or in your room, if you take it with you. Bar and Salon de thé are closed after 11.30pm because of noise, but you need something, you do not have to hesitate to ask us.

We hope to see you again at Hotel des Marronniers and thank you again for your message.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel as a last minute change to other reservations and was very happy with my decision. I originally planned to stay at a chain hotel that was about 5 miles from the main attractions. After considering how nice it would be to avoid having to make the extra walk to the train or bus stop from the original hotel I opted for this hotel and I am so glad I did. My room was on the 6th floor and on the small side, but very clean and pleasant. The desk personnel were friendly and all spoke english so it was easy to ask questions. The hotel is within a courtyard away from the street and any noise from cars. It is two blocks in all directions from some wonderful cafes and restaurants. The bathroom was large with space to keep sundries on and the bathtub/shower had good water pressure. They have a beautiful courtyard on the main level where you can buy breakfast for 13 Euros per person which I thought was a little pricey for what they offered. However came to find that if you want any substantial breakfast you will wind up paying this much or more anyway. The hotel is within two blocks of the Left Bank and just across the Seine from the Louvre, so very close to a great tour jump off spot. I also felt the hotel is in a very safe location and was comfortable walking around at night as well as in daytime.

Room Tip: We had a view of the courtyard from the room. The courtyard is about all there is to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdesim5342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Jdesim5342,

It is a pleasure to read your comment about Hotel des Marronniers and we want to thank you for that.

Saint-Germain Des Près is a perfect location in Paris and we feel very lucky to work there too!
Most of the museums, gardens, and monuments are at walking distance. The district is also full of nice restaurants. Do not hesitate to ask the reception for some advices.

As Hotel Des Marronniers has no room on the street, just on the courtyard or the garden, you can sleep well at night, without feeling all St-Germain activity. It is very quiet. And we read that you had breakfast in the garden. It is a nice experience, and we are glad to see that you enjoyed it. Maybe next time, you will discover the garden under the snow... Totally different, another atmosphear but very nice too.

We hope to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

First the good points:

- location, location, location... The best in Paris! In the heart of Saint Germain, close to many nice restaurants and bars, very lively neighborhood and still tucked in a quiet silent street. 3 subway stations around.

- The room is quite small (mine was smaller for being a single), but well fitted and manageable.

- Good and clean bed and bed sheets.

- It is not cheap, but considering the location... fair.

Now the downsides:

- The bathroom is not just small, but really tiny. You can't use the toilet with the door closed. It just doesn't fit. The shower has no curtain or door, so water spreads all over the floor. The drain is poor, so water floods the shower floor and runs over the whole bathroom.

- The room has a heavy dark red carpet that does not look and feel clean.

- The bathroom was never cleaned properly.

Conclusion: although tidy, it could be pretty good if better kept.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M&J_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear M&J_BR,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
It is true that St-Germain des Près is a central location to visit Paris and we are happy to keep a quiet atmosphear in that area.
Concerning the room, you booked a single one which explains the size. We inform you that you can book a double room, with a large bed, even if you travel alone. As Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building, rooms are not as big as it could be in another district. However, we try to make it nicer and more comfortable to compensate. That is why we are renovating all the rooms, but it takes time.
Bathroom is tiny, you are right, and we chose not to put a curtain for hygiene reasons.

Feedback is very important for us and be sure that we noticed all your remarks.

We will be pleased to welcome you at Hotel Des Marronniers during your next stay in Paris.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#681 of 1,800 in Paris
159 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#138 of 1,800 in Paris
476 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#712 of 1,800 in Paris
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#791 of 1,800 in Paris
307 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#77 of 1,800 in Paris
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Property: Hotel des Marronniers
Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#338 Family Hotel in Paris
#460 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing