We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best locations in Paris. Could use a GOOD clean up!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Marronniers
Ranked #362 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

First the good points:

- location, location, location... The best in Paris! In the heart of Saint Germain, close to many nice restaurants and bars, very lively neighborhood and still tucked in a quiet silent street. 3 subway stations around.

- The room is quite small (mine was smaller for being a single), but well fitted and manageable.

- Good and clean bed and bed sheets.

- It is not cheap, but considering the location... fair.

Now the downsides:

- The bathroom is not just small, but really tiny. You can't use the toilet with the door closed. It just doesn't fit. The shower has no curtain or door, so water spreads all over the floor. The drain is poor, so water floods the shower floor and runs over the whole bathroom.

- The room has a heavy dark red carpet that does not look and feel clean.

- The bathroom was never cleaned properly.

Conclusion: although tidy, it could be pretty good if better kept.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M&J_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear M&J_BR,

We would like to thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
It is true that St-Germain des Près is a central location to visit Paris and we are happy to keep a quiet atmosphear in that area.
Concerning the room, you booked a single one which explains the size. We inform you that you can book a double room, with a large bed, even if you travel alone. As Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building, rooms are not as big as it could be in another district. However, we try to make it nicer and more comfortable to compensate. That is why we are renovating all the rooms, but it takes time.
Bathroom is tiny, you are right, and we chose not to put a curtain for hygiene reasons.

Feedback is very important for us and be sure that we noticed all your remarks.

We will be pleased to welcome you at Hotel Des Marronniers during your next stay in Paris.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2012

great location in paris, 2 minutes from the metro, 1 minute from bike stations, great reception.
overall, extremely satisfied. charming place.

had a cosy little room, very nice.
for the people saying the rooms are too small: if you're looking for huge rooms, you shouldn't go in a hotel located in the heart of paris, in an old parisian building. You don't go there to get a 50 m^2 room, you go there for the charm of the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Julien B,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment about Hotel Des Marronniers. It is a pleasure to read that you had a nice stay with us.
Saint-Germain Des Près is a very nice area and you can visit most of the districts walking or cycling. It is true that rooms are not big, because of the age of the building, and that is why we balance with intimistic atmosphear and nice décoration.

We thank you again and hope to see you soon at Hotel Des Marronniers, maybe during Summer in order to enjoy our garden...

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Hotel de Marrionniers is located a short walk from Notre Dame and the Louvre in St. Germain de Pres. The room was larger than expected, and the staff is helpful and courteous, but it is the location that is a great sell for this place. It's on a side street in a clean, interesting neighborhood a short walk from great cafes and restaurants. Every attraction in downtown Paris is walkable from the hotel. They also have wine in the afternoons and breakfast available in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear Paul L,

It was very nice from you to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers and we thank you for that.
We are very happy to read that you had a nice stay in Paris. Walking in Paris is a pleasant way to discover the city and you were right to choose St-Germain as the place of departure.
We inform you that wine and other cold and hot drinks are served in the veranda, or in the garden until 11.30 pm. Good to know after a long day walking in Paris!
We thank you again for taking time to post a comment and we hope to see you again at Hotel Des Marronniers...

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I have stayed here a number of times over the past 12-15 years. It has always been a wonderful experience. The rooms are lovely, small it is true but that is the same for every other hotel we have stayed in Paris. The location is great, ten minutes walk to the left bank of the Seine, a bit more to some of the best of the various museums and art galleries of Paris. The area,the hotel is in the 6th arrondisment, is surrounded by excellent bars and restaurants. I have tended to take breakfast in some of these rather than in the hotel. The hotel has a wonderful garden where one can take breakfast in the summer.Reception is both friendly and efficient. Can't recommend too highly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexWembley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2012

Dear AlexWembley,

We thank you for your nice comment about Hotel Des Marronniers and for your loyalty during those years.
As you wrote, Hotel is well located in the deep heart of St-Germain, and we can tell you that we are very happy to work in this area! That is why you do not have to hesitate to ask our reception for any advice or reservation. It is always a pleasure to help our guests to make their stay easier and nicer.
Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building which explains size of the rooms. We would like to inform you that you have the possibility of booking a triple room for 2 persons if you need more space and if you wish it.
We hope to see you soon at Hotel Des Marronniers and maybe next time, if the weather is nicer, you will enjoy our garden!
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

well located in an interesting area, clean, excellent bed, excellent desk personnel - just what I was wanting as a non French speaking person. Hotel was full of native French so it is perceived locally as great value.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Public Relations Manager at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Dear John M,

We would like to thank you for your message and for taking the time.
We are very happy that you had a nice stay with us. Be sure that all the staff try to do the best to satisfy our guests and it is always a pleasure to read such nice comment.
We hope to see you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The rooms are well equipped and like most Paris hotel rooms compact. The staff are friendly and helpful. What makes des Marroniers worth a visit is its location. Five minutes walk from the Seine and over the river to the Louvre. Five minutes walk from a busy local market and shopping area with cafes galore. Five minutes walk from Boulevard St Germaine. Equally important is that this hotel is set back from the street in a small courtyard which makes it quiet at the front and the back it overlooks a garden where you can sit out for breakfast or a drink if the weather is fine. The street it is set back from contains lots of small specialist shops -antiques, books, olive oil, fabrics, clothes, shoes so there's lots to feast the eyes on as you walk to and from this quiet oasis in the heart of the left bank.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vandasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Public Relations Manager at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Dear Vandasin,

We thank you for your comment and we are glad to see that you had a nice stay at Hotel Des Marronniers.
St-Germain Des Près is of course a perfect location to visit Paris and if you like walking, we understand that you chose this central place. As you could see, Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building which explains the size of the room. That is a reason why we pay so much attention to equipment and decoration. The most important for us is to make you feel comfortable.
We hope to welcome you again and maybe you will discover the garden under the snow during a winter stay...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

That said, the room, though pleasantly decorated, was just large enough for the double bed. The closet could only be accessed by swinging the wall mounted flat screen TV out of the way and the WC door couldn't open fully. The WC was also very small and with no shower curtain the entire room was awash after its use. Luckily the towels were so soft and large, after drying yourself off, they still had enough absorbency to dry the floor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Public Relations Manager at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2012

Dear A W,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
It is very important for us to know your feelings with regard to your stay. As you could see, Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building, and that is why rooms are not big. Two years ago, we built a big room using two double rooms. Now you can choose between a standard double room with a French matrimonial bed or rooms for 3 or 4 persons. Concerning bathroom, we decided not using curtain for cleanliness reason, but we understand problem with water out of shower tray. Be sure that we pay attention to all your remarks and will use it to improve our service.

We hope we will welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers in spite of that experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#549 of 1,809 in Paris
215 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#129 of 1,809 in Paris
577 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#360 of 1,809 in Paris
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#703 of 1,809 in Paris
332 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Millesime Hotel
Millesime Hotel
#320 of 1,809 in Paris
502 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#83 of 1,809 in Paris
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Address: 21 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#159 Family Hotel in Paris
#459 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $156 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Marronniers 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Marronniers is a charming hotel tucked in a small courtyard. Our 3 star hotel has kept the intimacy and authenticity of Saint-Germain Des Pres. In the heart of a lively area, peace and tranquility can be found in the rooms overlooking the courtyard or the garden. Because the jewel of this hotel is undoubtedly the garden. In summer, breakfast can be enjoyed in the shade of chestnut trees. Otherwise, breakfast is served between 7:30 am and 11:00 am in the veranda, in the vaulted cellar or in your room. A tea room is available for guests of hotels and passers-by in the veranda, in the garden or beautiful vaulted cellar of the Hotel Des Marronniers. The property is ideally located in the center of the capital. The Louvre Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral or the Luxembourg Gardens are just a few minutes walk. It is the same for the famous Café de Flore and Deux Magots. The rooms are equipped with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi access and a flat-screen TV. Staying at the Hotel Des Marronniers is the promise of a peaceful and romantic night in a mythical district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing