We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Ranked #671 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value, great location”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

After many trips to Paris, I still haven't found the perfect hotel. Hotel Danube has a fabulous location, walkable to many area of Paris including Right Bank very well priced, had helpful reception, and nice rooms. Nice to have small fridge for those pastries I bought and nice big sink.

Two problems. Need a bigger wastebasket for the room. A tiny basket in bathroom that didn't lift with foot pedal is not sufficient to throw things out. Would leave trash next to it that wasn't always picked up.
The other bigger issue that facing the interior courtyard leaves one listening to constant doors slamming shut especially in morning. Asked to fix and it was better but still had to listen 50 times each morning especially door at bottom of stairs right below room- maybe proximity made it louder? Also on Monday morning trash day doors shutting 10 times at 5:30 am. Maybe should prop open for awhile? Not a picky traveler but it drove me a little nuts. If this could change, the hotel would be perfect.

Room Tip: No to room 34 due to door directly below slamming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenb348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing this review and sharing your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us except the two issues that mention but I like to assure you that both of them are fixed.

We hope to welcome you again in our property upon your next visit to Paris!

Sincerely,

Michel SARIO
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    111
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
40
110
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
743 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our room was very spacious, especially by Paris standards, with a sizable bathroom and shower. (No face cloths so if you need one, bring your own). Room was clean, with large windows, a small fridge and a nice sized closet. And, there is an elevator in the hotel.
The front desk staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable about the area.
The hotel is within walking distance of many great restaurants and the Metro.
No doubt about it, we will return to Hotel du Danube without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 10 is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear guest,

It is really nice to read your wonderful review for which we are grateful. We hope that you will come back here to Paris and visit us soon!

Best regards

Michel SARIO
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Excellent value.

The room price is "fair market value" and not a "discount deal" but the hotel delivers a very high level of service for a *** hotel.

I stayed here twice in July 2014 after a long term apartment rental fell through, and both stays were excellent. I looked at about 8 hotels in person in this price range in July 2014 between the Musee d'Orsay and St Michel before staying here.

Very professional staff, bi-lingual French/English, clean and attractive lobby, clean and attractive rooms and linens, wifi & cable TV worked consistently. I stayed in the smallest room in the hotel and it was indeed small - the bathroom door opened about 45% before hitting the bed. However, the price was fair for this size room and the bathroom was a reasonable size and had been recently updated.

The hotel has been owned by one family for 25 years and some of the staff have been at the hotel this long. The family and staff seem to take a high level of pride in maintaining the hotel. I can confirm comments in other reviews that the staff went out of its way to be helpful to me.

Great neighborhood on the corner of two streets with luxury window shopping. Reasonably priced cafe immediately next door does a great job of being kind to tourists without pandering to them. There is a newspaper store within 100 feet, as well as a gourmet take-out deli and wine shop (not cheap but really excellent carry out food) within 300 feet.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsideCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much indeed for choosing our property among others. Thank you also for wrting this kind review and we do hope that upon your next visit you'll try one of our superior or prestige rooms!

We hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Sincerely,
Michel SARIO
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have stayed at the Hotel Du Danube for all of our visits to Paris (4 times) and will never stay anywhere else when there. The staff is wonderful and so helpful in every way. I was looking for a Pandora store and the young lady went out of her way to look up on the computer locations all over Paris. I found the shop and purchased the must desired charm (the Eiffel Tower, of course,) to take to my daughter-in-law. She loved it! All staff members are charming, polite, and so helpful. Our room had air conditioning and was beautifully decorated in oriental design. The bathroom was large, had a modern shower and bath, as well as a hair dryer. The location is ideal to the Louvre, the Champs-Elysees, the Conciergerie, Notre Dame, the Eiffel Tower, and many other tourists attractions. We walked! Be sure to stay here!!

Room Tip: Stay in Room 34. It is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimWLouisville_Ky_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and post this nice review. We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Danube and we simply hope to welcome you once again.

Best regards

Michel SARIO
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last year and liked it a lot, so returned for a short stay this June. We enjoyed it just as much, not least because we were given room 26 (anachronistically on the top floor) with a lovely small terrace. Both the manager Michel and the front desk man Jeremy are as pleasant and helpful as can be, while Nashrol (sp?) will help get any day off to a good start serving an excellent breakfast. For a hotel in the heart of left bank Paris, hard to beat and heartily recommended.
AF

Room Tip: No problem with room street side, as windows are double pane and virtually sound-proof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for wrinting such a nice review about Hotel Danube and its staff. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do thank you for recommending our property.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Sincerely,

Michel SARIO
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Danube September 2013 and since it was one of the best experiences we have had after eight trips to Paris I had to describe this hotel. (I thought I had but had computer problems.) We are starting to plan our next trip and I have to say it will include the Hotel Danube St. Germain. The hotel is lovely, in a great location, rooms are wonderful, but the absolute tie breaker is the staff. (Hint, hint, "St. Germain" is part of the name! No better place to stay in Paris.) They truly are totally dedicated to making your stay as wonderful as possible. Any problems just talk to them and they make every effort to accommodate you. The quality of all their rooms is excellent and all are represented in the hotel website photos. All the bathrooms are luxury and the mattresses must be very new because totally comfortable which has not been our experience in all hotels in France. We originally got one of the rooms in the back of the hotel but it was very modern in decor and no view. This was our 25th wedding anniversary so we wanted something more romantic. We talked to the staff and were able to move the next day to one of the Prestige rooms on the front. The "pink" room in their photos. As others have said, there are double windows that block out the street noise - we were surprised how well this worked. We opened the window in the morning to get the sounds of Paris which were delightful. This hotel is across the street from a university so in the evening and on weekends is absolutely one of the quieter streets in Paris. There is a MAC computer in the lobby so you can do your own searches if you did not bring yours but really no need with such an accommodating staff. On a Sunday my husband needed to visit a pharmacy. We had found one that said they were open but Jeremy insisted on calling them before we set out just to make sure they were open. This hotel's location can't be beat whether this is your first trip to Paris or like us, one of many. It is close to all the main sites for the newcomer as well as those less well known searched out by the experienced Paris visitor. The breakfast room, indoors and out, are such a delight and the breakfast well done. And we enjoyed talking about Cuba to the woman running the restaurant, where she was from. Best croissants, coffee, orange juice in Paris and there is also room service if you prefer. Absolute best value and service for any hotel right in the middle of Paris. You won't be disappointed. We are older so wanted the better room because unlike when we were young and visiting Paris, we have seen all the main sites many times so are not rocketing out the door in the morning to pack as much in as possible. We wanted to experience Paris as a native and this hotel is excellent for both methods. If you are young and rocketing out the door in the morning, touring the bars and restaurants at night, get one of the less expensive rooms at the back if you insist on saving yourself some money. You won't be in your room much but you will have a great bathroom, sparkling clean well decorated room and great mattress when you finally do decide to turn in. If like us, you want something more leisurely and are older so can afford it then go for one of the Prestige rooms. But really, you are in Paris!! This is no time to economize! This hotel is exceptionally well-priced for the location and you will add to your happy memories of the trip if you stay here. We will always stay at this hotel due to the accommodations and location but most of all, due to the wonderful staff. They make you feel as if you are guests in their home, not clients at a hotel. Au revoir!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lslaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write and post such a wonderful and comprehensive review about Hotel Danube for which every single member of my team and myself are truly grateful.

We do hope to have once again the oppotunity to welcome you here in our propoerty.

Sincerely,

Michel SARIO
Axecutive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matching Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I have stayed at the same time as other family members twice at this lovely small hotel in a perfect location in St Germain within a short stroll of the Musee d'Orsay to the west, and also of the Louvre and Notre Dame etc to the north. Reception service is first class and a variety of rooms are offered. Some are small and relatively dark but this is not unusual for Paris boutique hotels. The room we last stayed in however is at the front on the top floor and is large and bright with beautiful windows and a first rate modern en suite bathroom. Traditional good quality French petit dejeuners are served in a quaint room off the internal courtyard. Pricing is expensive but nevertheless competitive for hotels in this location. Many cafes (inc Cafe de Flore & La Duree, restaurants and shops are close by and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great location and an authentic atmospheric experience en Paris!

Room Tip: The room we like most is at the front on the top floor and is large and bright with beautiful window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teddyLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel and for recommending our property for which we are truly grateful.

Looking forward to welcoming you here again!

Sincerely,

Michel SARIO
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#707 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Universite
Hotel de l'Universite
#202 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Academie
Hotel de l'Academie
#322 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#89 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
Hotel du Quai-Voltaire
#910 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Danube St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Danube St. Germain

Property: Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Address: 58 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Paris
#516 Business Hotel in Paris
#637 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Danube St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3-star hotel in the heart of Saint Germain des Pres, family owned since 1962. We offer a choice of standard rooms (small and economical), some superior rooms and a few family rooms. All our bedrooms feature private facilities; they vary in size and comfort according to their rates; all the rooms are very personalized (with cable-TV, telephone, individual safe). The entire hotel is air-conditioned except our standard rooms. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Danube St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Danube St Germain
Du Danube St Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing