We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Ranked #677 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I had been to Paris about 8 years ago and had been thoroughly disappointed. In May of 2012 we stayed at the Hotel du Danube for two nights. Unlike our first time in Paris, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Not only was this hotel in a PRIME location, but the staff was also extremely helpful and knowledgeable. They were able to arrange a shuttle to the airport for us and gave us excellent restaurant advice. Our room was spacious and nicely remodeled and we had a good view of the courtyard. I can honestly say that because of this hotel, we were finally able to enjoy all of the charms of Paris that we missed our first visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelsaewhite33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
58DANUBE, Assistant de direction at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Madam,
It is a pleasure to read such a superb review. Thank you for taking the time to write and post it on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you liked your room and the location of Hotel du Danube. Thank you also for your comments regarding the staff. I am happy that they were able to assist you during your stay with us. We are all proud that we were able to make your visit to Paris such a memorable one.
My team and I truly hope that you will come back and visit us again one day, perhaps for longer than a 2-days stay next time?!

Best regards

Michel SARIO
Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 322 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned from an enjoyable stay at Hotel du Danube for our first time in Paris. I went with my family and we had two rooms- one family room and one other room for 2 adults and a baby. My sister and I, who were staying with the baby, got upgraded to a superior room when we arrived (we're thinking because it was private and perhaps they didn't want a baby to disturb other guests) and it was quite a treat- it is beautifully decorated and had a HUGE bathroom with the best shower I've ever been in. I would say the best thing about Hotel du Danube is the location. It's just blocks from the major attractions yet far enough that we enjoyed retreating back to the area away from all of the tourists. It's also not too far from all of the wonderful restaurants and shops in the St. Germain area. The staff was friendly and helped us find reasonable restaurants and other suggestions if we needed them. Overall, my family and I were very happy and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lghgs2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Nothing special about the room, which had seen better days - though sound proofing worked perfectly which is a relief in a busy city. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Good value for us and our young adult daughter to share a room - a tight squeeze of course but economical.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmaxwellb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel is in a great location with easy walks to many of the attractions of Paris. Most importantly, the staff and service at this hotel is excellent. The staff was so helpful, informative and eager to assist in any way. Most of the staff were bi-lingual so language was never an issue. Francois (who worked nights) provided a wealth of information and helpful hints. The rooms were clean and more roomy than most European hotels. The wifi was easy and dependable. If you want to stay in a great location with easy access to Paris sites and enjoy a wonderful hotel staff, this is your place!

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are quieter than street side rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was able to stay at the Hotel du Danube for 150 EUR/night in June 2012. Most other hotels in the St. Germain area were charging 200 EUR and up. The location is great - very near the Abbaye St. Germain and all of the cafes of the Latin Quarter. I requested a courtyard room, which was very quiet for Paris. Room was normal size for a 3 star hotel in Paris (i.e. very small) with a fairly new bathroom. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoette0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Saint Germain des Pres is my favorite neighborhood to stay in when I visit Paris. It's a short walk to the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, fabulous shops and cafes, close to two Metro stops and a number of excellent restaurants.

I've been to Paris dozens of times and for the past few years stayed in numerous hotels in the Saint Germain des Pres neighborhood but Hotel du Danube is my favorite for the reasons that matter. 1) the rooms are always clean, comfortable and quiet! This year I have stayed in a standard room on the top floor and it was roomy by Paris standards, very comfortable bed and super quiet. On another visit I stayed in a Superior room and it had a large bedroom, separate toilet and a large bathtub with shower. Both rooms had safes in the room big enough for a laptop. The only thing I would have enjoyed is a fridge in the room but that would have made noise. 2) The hotel has fast, free and widely available WIFI both in the rooms as well as the lobby. This is so important these days for getting information as well as staying in touch. When you go to a hotel where you have to pay a lot by the hour or day and by device for spotty Internet access ( which we did at another hotel in France a few days before), it makes travel that much more difficult. Fortunately the Danube is like a WIFI oasis.

3) Wonderful staff - the staff at the hotel were the best of any hotel I've stayed in Paris. They were personable, did everything quickly and with genuine thoughtfulness for your welfare and really made me feel welcome.

Don't be swayed by the number of stars a hotel has. They assign stars based on the number of services they have like 24 hour food service or whether or not there is a restaurant on premises, conference facilities, etc.

Those things are not nearly as important to me as nicely appointed clean and quiet rooms with good quality bedding and linens, clean bathrooms where everything works, no fuss wifi, and terrific staff who are like your friends and family welcoming you back home.

There are so many bistros and cafe's nearby (next door) that I don't miss having a restaurant in the hotel. I stayed at Hotel XXXXX nearby before and for what they charged for a poorly prepared breakfast I could have a good dinner a couple of my favorite nearby restaurants.

I've stayed at other hotels in the neighborhood and some have more stars than the Danube but all have come up short in one way or another compared to the Danube while sometimes costing much more.

I look forward to my next trip to Paris and staying in the Hotel Danube.

5  Thank CurtisWong
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
58DANUBE, Executive Manager at Hotel du Danube St. Germain, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Wow! What a fantastic review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and post such a fabulous and detailed review on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to read your kind words regarding Hotel du Danube and we really appreciate being given top marks for location, staff, rooms and service.
My team and I are happy that you had a pleasurable experience with us and we are truly proud that Hotel du Danube is your favorite hotel here in Saint-Germain-des-Prés. We look forward to your return very soon!

Warm regards

Michel SARIO
Executive Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel has been renovated recently, and unfortunately I think the previous decor was more appealing than the new palate. Very nice hotel, and rather good value for the area, which is perfect to walk to most of Paris's central attractions. Free wifi is basically ubiquitous for hotels everywhere, so that's no longer a good discriminator anymore. The rooms are quite different to each other, so if the hotel is not full on your night, ask to see a few available rooms, as I hear they are quite hit-and-miss. We had. Hit this time, room 41 underwent renovation and has a huge bathroom, separate bath, shower and separate toilet - ahhh, a bit of me time is always nice. Quiet, but watch for staff smoking in the courtyard beneath your window, I found myself having to close the window quite often to keep my room smoke free. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 41 has really good bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gazmol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#569 of 1,804 in Paris
177 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Universite
Hotel de l'Universite
#181 of 1,804 in Paris
422 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Marronniers
Hotel des Marronniers
#600 of 1,804 in Paris
324 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
#157 of 1,804 in Paris
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Danube St. Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Danube St. Germain

Address: 58 rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#237 Family Hotel in Paris
#516 Business Hotel in Paris
#637 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $194 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Danube St. Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 3-star hotel in the heart of Saint Germain des Pres, family owned since 1962. We offer a choice of standard rooms (small and economical), some superior rooms and a few family rooms. All our bedrooms feature private facilities; they vary in size and comfort according to their rates; all the rooms are very personalized (with cable-TV, telephone, individual safe). The entire hotel is air-conditioned except our standard rooms. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel du Danube St. Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Danube St Germain
Du Danube St Germain Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing