We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Artus Hotel by MH
Nearby Hotels
$343
$283
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$286
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$405
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$255
$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
$231
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$309
$241
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$284
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Saint James Paris(Paris)
$503
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
$265
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$1,653
$1,182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,028)
Filter reviews
1,028 results
Traveler rating
710
234
51
19
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
234
51
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrue de buciconcierge sanjayhead conciergenotre dameperfect locationleft bankst germaingreat conciergerooms are smalldinner reservationswithin walking distancethe entire staffsister hotelrain showerrestaurant recommendationsgreat boutiquewonderful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
544 - 549 of 1,028 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights here for our 25th wedding anniversary. Such a great location! Rue de Buci is a typically vibrant, yet quaint, Paris street and is full of nice shops, restaurants, and fun nightlife. There is also a local market if you like to bring snacks to your room. The hotel is nicely appointed and easy to get in and out of. Bathroom is good size and the bed is comfy. Best part - Sanjay, the head Concierge, goes out of his way to welcome you and take care of your every need! I wanted to bring him home with me. Sanjay's style should be duplicated by all hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Kathleen,

We are so pleased to know our hotel was a perfect backdrop for a romantic anniversary getaway.

We hope to see you again for your next anniversary or special event.

Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently returned from our fifth trip to Paris -- and our third stay at the Artus Hotel. When we first found the Artus in the 90s, it was known as the Buci Latin. Since then, the Hotels Maurice Hurand group acquired and remodeled the hotel. The new look is sharp and colorful, and the layout of the rooms and baths has been significantly upgraded. The rooms are small by US standards, but this is Paris, right?! (Call ahead if you plan to bring children or family -- the larger suite or multiple rooms may be needed.)

What keeps bringing us back to the Artus? The service and location.

Sanjay Kaloya, Chief Concierge, is always friendly and very helpful. When we could not find tickets to an opera, voila, they magically appeared. New art exhibits? Museum tickets? (So you can avoid the line.) Restaurants? A special bottle of wine for your anniversary? Sanjay and the Artus team are always ready to make our stay as perfect as possible.

... and when you step out the door, the best location in Paris, on the Rue de Buci in the middle of the 6th and the Saint Germain des Prés neighborhood. Rue de Buci is a small 'walk' street in the evening when the restaurants come alive, without the traffic noise of busy Paris. We love to pick up a baguette and cheese at the local market, stop at the neighborhood wine shop, and relax in one of the cafes. The 6th is in the middle of the Left Bank, so we can walk to the Louvre, D'Orsay, the Ille and Notre Dame. Don't miss the ancient Saint Germain des Prés and the Musée national du Moyen Âge (formerly Musée de Cluny) with a fantastic collection from the Middle Ages. If you want to go further across Paris, just hop on the metro. Forget about taxis and rental cars.

A few tips:

Shopping is excellent in the 6th. You can spend a fortune on the best brands -- or save on quality fashion. My wife bought an entire collection of clothes for business in one day during our last trip, and saved quite a bit with better fabrics and quality than she could find in Boston.

Stop at the Cafe de Flore around 4 or 5 in the afternoon, find a table on the outside with a view of the street, ignore the prices on the menu, buy a glass of wine and just watch Paris go by. The high cost of your glasses of wine is the 'rent' for your table and front row seat to the life of Paris -- not based on the cost of the bottle of wine. Waiters will not pester you while you sit there, enjoying the afternoon. (This is true in restaurants as well; waiters will generally leave you alone until you ask for something -- not rush to deliver the check and clear your table for the next customer, like many restaurants in the US.)

The Masses in Saint Germain des Prés and Notre Dame are magical. We happened to be wandering through Saint Germain des Prés one afternoon when a service began, and stayed. I am not Catholic and do not know French, but it was quite an experience. Concerts are also held at Notre Dame, a wonderful place to spend time in.

Avoid Paris in July / August if you can -- when the rest of the world is there. Everything is different without the crowds, just like other major destinations. (That said, we had a great time this year in early August.)

Learn some basic French and try to use it! Embarrass yourself; the waiters and clerks have heard it before -- but they appreciate the effort.

I hope this is helpful!

Mark

Room Tip: Even the rooms on the street are quiet, thanks to triple-pane windows and the lack of traffic on Rue de Buci.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Greatings from Rue de Buci !


We love to see we have the opportunity to continuously welcome you back throughout the year.

Glad you enjoy your treats!

We look forward to seeing you back soon.
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ended our honeymoon in France with four nights in Paris, at the Artus Hotel. We are so glad we chose the hotel! Everyone was very friendly, welcoming, and incredibly helpful. Sanjay was able to make reservations for us in advance of our arrival, and we're thrilled that he could do so. The room was quiet, clean, a very good size, and had everything we needed! I especially appreciated the tea pot to make a cup of coffee or tea when we needed a pick me up in the morning. The hotel is modern, excellently decorated, and we found the bed very very comfortable! If we return to Paris again (i hope!) we will certainly put Artus hotel at the top of our list!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear kelinnyc,,

We are so pleased to know you enjoyed your honeymoon and the sparkling was a nice touch to help you celebrate. We love knowing we are now your new favorite hotel!

We hope to have you return again soon.

My warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is located in St. Germain area. This is on a street with many open seating cafes. At night the place is really alive with Paris nightlife but the rooms are still quiet for sleeping. We were walking distance to the Louvre or Notre Dame. The rooms are on the small side but charming. The beds and pillows were comfortable. The showers worked well. This hotel is the authentic paris experience designed mostly for folks like us who want to walk everywhere and explore the city. The fact that the open cafes are right near the hotel makes returning at night very safe. Also a delight to get breakfast one block from hotel. The size of the rooms may come as a shock to fellow Americans. We were looking more for an outpost to sleep in between trips into the city. One of our rooms had excellent air conditioning during the heat wave that the city was enduring. The other one had passable air conditioning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dochop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear dochop,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope you are able to enjoy a personal trip on your next stay and have fun in the city.

We look forward to having you return.
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at Artus Hotel and we had a room on the 5th floor that was beautifully renovated. The bed was comfy and the rain shower head was a nice touch. The best part of the hotel is Sanjay the concierge, he truly went out of his way to make us feel welcome and special. Sanjay made excellent dinner suggestions/reservations along with printing out walking directions to each location. We look forward to coming back to Paris and staying at Artus Hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear JK,

Thank you for your amazing review! We feel privileged to have shared such a special occasion with you !

Cheers to you both!

We hope to celebrate with you for years to come!
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews