We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Tiny room”
Review of Artus Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Artus Hotel by MH
Ranked #106 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Hotel is located in the heart of Saint Germain des Près, near resturants and shops. Perfect area for walking trips. The nearest metro station is 50 meters away. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. WiFi is very good all around the hoted, and the room is equipped with Bose speakers with iPhone Jack.
Yet, the "Classic Double Room" is Tiny. No cabinets near the beds, the bathroom is directly connceted to the room without wall, you cannot turn the toilet light without turing the light in the whole room. There is hardly a place for 2 suitcases. Definitely, it is not a room for a couple, for a single, maybe.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, dont order a "Classic double room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eitan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear Eitan,

I thank you for your comment and for taking time to share it with us.
I am pleased to see you found our property a nice location to stay in where travelling in Paris.

I understand you highlight the small size of our rooms and as for many hotels of the Left Bank of Paris, the size is always different from the Right Bank.
Please note we offer 4 different room types (from Standard rooms to Suite Duplex) allowing you to get a larger room if you want depending on availability.

Once again I thank you for your past stay with us and hope we will be able to see you next time you will travel in our city.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 954 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Artus with my boyfriend for our whistlestop tour of Paris. We loved its location on the Left Bank and were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. I also thought the price was very reasonable considering the rates charged at some of the grander hotels in Paris. The service one received at the Artus was just as good in my opinion.
There is no restaurant but that does not matter considering it is near St Germain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear May F,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great time at the Artus Hotel and enjoyed our location in the very center of Paris.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon, on your next visit.
Sincerely.
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

When my husband and I were looking for a hotel in Paris, we read some reviews on this site saying that the hotel was great, but the concierge Sanjay was the best part of it. NOw I see those reviews were right. The hotel was great, confortable and well located, but the highlight, with no doubt, is the concierge, which is the best concierge ever! I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone I know!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giselapequeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Giselapequeno,

Thank you so much for your four star review ! We love that you felt so warm and welcomed, I hope we see you soon for another quiet and elegant visit to Paris !

Warm regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We always stay in St Germain, but switched hotels this year, and were very glad to have done so. Artus is not just wonderfully located - we adore the neighborhood - and close to everything vital in Paris (to us, anyway: great restaurants, cafes, museums, boutiques) but also nice and modern and clean with incredibly helpful staff and good facilities. Our room was a pretty good size for a hotel on the Left Bank. All in all, we loved it, and will be back. A special thank you to Sanjay, concierge extraordinaire.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meralbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Meralby,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your time in Paris. We are so happy to see Sanjay created a welcoming and warm environment at the Artus Hotel !!

We greatly appreciate your support and positive feedback! I hope you keep in touch and let us know the next time you plan to visit !

We would love to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This boutique hotel is in the middle of st germain. We had the superior room above the standard it was nicely appointed and just big enough with 2 large and 2 small bags. I noted that some rooms included breakfast but our travel agent hadn't. Breakfast is quite good but you can also get really nice meals any time of day with just a short walk. We took our time and walked to all the main tourist sites near the seine.We would go back.

Room Tip: Street view is fascinating in the morning or afternoon but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrischatswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Chrischatswood,

Thank you for your great review ! We hope to see you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Hotel is part of a chain of about 5-6 hotels in Paris. I love this neighborhood and my normal hotel was booked for this night, so we stayed at the Artus. It was a nice property, with good service from the front desk at all times. The room was larger than some in Paris, but we paid more for that for sure, the room was about 80 Euro than the hotel we normally stay at a block away on Rue Dauphine. Still, a nice property in a nice location, well run and clean. Not much else needed. There is another hotel down the street Hotel de Bucci which is part of the same hotel group and is priced even slightly higher.

Room Tip: make sure the wifi signal is strong in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Fine Silver,

Thank you for this great review ! That's right, the Artus Hôtel is part of Group Hotels Maurice Hurand. This is a collection of five Boutique Hotels in Saint Germain des Prés, near the National Assembly and in Montmartre.

We will be more that pleased to welcome you in our properties for your next stay in Paris.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in this wonderful boutique hotel in Saint Germain in July 2012. The hotel is in the perfect spot and all you have to do is walk out its front doors to really feel like you're in the heart of Paris. With countless restaurants and shops at your doorstep, this hotel is also only a ten minute walk from the Seine River.

The service in Hotel Artus was excellent - particularly that of Sanjay the Concierge! Upon making my booking via the internet, I was promptly contacted by Sanjay asking me if he could do anything to assist with our upcoming stay. We enquired about making a dinner reservation for the Saturday following our arrival and Sanjay sent back an excellent assortment of restaurants for us to choose from. We settled on Le Christine and were not disappointed. Sanjay made the reservation for us (on what turned out to be Bastille Day!) and the food was simply sensational. It remains as one of our favourite meals during a six and a half week trip to Europe.

The rooms are small (aren't they all in Paris?) but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and tidy. We had a little trouble with our air conditioner (we couldn't get it cool enough) but to be fair, we didn't ask the front desk to assist.

The breakfast assortment was fabulous and we really enjoyed the variety of foods - cereals / toast with jams / pastries / fresh cheeses and meats / eggs etc.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and cannot speak highly enough of Sanjay! We wished that all front desk staff were as friendly and professional as he was. Thank you Sanjay for making our stay in Paris that little bit more enjoyable!

We will be back to Hotel Artus when we return to Paris.

Tiffany and Matt, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TandMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#72 of 1,804 in Paris
773 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#71 of 1,804 in Paris
690 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#82 of 1,804 in Paris
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#118 of 1,804 in Paris
1,095 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#133 of 1,804 in Paris
532 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#103 of 1,804 in Paris
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artus Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel by MH

Address: 34 rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Paris
#70 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#82 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $195 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artus Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing