We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, fine hotel”
Review of Artus Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Artus Hotel by MH
Ranked #91 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, fine hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We always stay in St Germain, but switched hotels this year, and were very glad to have done so. Artus is not just wonderfully located - we adore the neighborhood - and close to everything vital in Paris (to us, anyway: great restaurants, cafes, museums, boutiques) but also nice and modern and clean with incredibly helpful staff and good facilities. Our room was a pretty good size for a hotel on the Left Bank. All in all, we loved it, and will be back. A special thank you to Sanjay, concierge extraordinaire.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meralbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Meralby,

Thank you so much for staying with us during your time in Paris. We are so happy to see Sanjay created a welcoming and warm environment at the Artus Hotel !!

We greatly appreciate your support and positive feedback! I hope you keep in touch and let us know the next time you plan to visit !

We would love to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    220
    46
    17
    11
See reviews for
136
534
46
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This boutique hotel is in the middle of st germain. We had the superior room above the standard it was nicely appointed and just big enough with 2 large and 2 small bags. I noted that some rooms included breakfast but our travel agent hadn't. Breakfast is quite good but you can also get really nice meals any time of day with just a short walk. We took our time and walked to all the main tourist sites near the seine.We would go back.

Room Tip: Street view is fascinating in the morning or afternoon but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrischatswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Chrischatswood,

Thank you for your great review ! We hope to see you back soon!

Warmest Regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level 6 Contributor
851 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Hotel is part of a chain of about 5-6 hotels in Paris. I love this neighborhood and my normal hotel was booked for this night, so we stayed at the Artus. It was a nice property, with good service from the front desk at all times. The room was larger than some in Paris, but we paid more for that for sure, the room was about 80 Euro than the hotel we normally stay at a block away on Rue Dauphine. Still, a nice property in a nice location, well run and clean. Not much else needed. There is another hotel down the street Hotel de Bucci which is part of the same hotel group and is priced even slightly higher.

Room Tip: make sure the wifi signal is strong in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Fine Silver,

Thank you for this great review ! That's right, the Artus Hôtel is part of Group Hotels Maurice Hurand. This is a collection of five Boutique Hotels in Saint Germain des Prés, near the National Assembly and in Montmartre.

We will be more that pleased to welcome you in our properties for your next stay in Paris.

Warmest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed in this wonderful boutique hotel in Saint Germain in July 2012. The hotel is in the perfect spot and all you have to do is walk out its front doors to really feel like you're in the heart of Paris. With countless restaurants and shops at your doorstep, this hotel is also only a ten minute walk from the Seine River.

The service in Hotel Artus was excellent - particularly that of Sanjay the Concierge! Upon making my booking via the internet, I was promptly contacted by Sanjay asking me if he could do anything to assist with our upcoming stay. We enquired about making a dinner reservation for the Saturday following our arrival and Sanjay sent back an excellent assortment of restaurants for us to choose from. We settled on Le Christine and were not disappointed. Sanjay made the reservation for us (on what turned out to be Bastille Day!) and the food was simply sensational. It remains as one of our favourite meals during a six and a half week trip to Europe.

The rooms are small (aren't they all in Paris?) but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and tidy. We had a little trouble with our air conditioner (we couldn't get it cool enough) but to be fair, we didn't ask the front desk to assist.

The breakfast assortment was fabulous and we really enjoyed the variety of foods - cereals / toast with jams / pastries / fresh cheeses and meats / eggs etc.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and cannot speak highly enough of Sanjay! We wished that all front desk staff were as friendly and professional as he was. Thank you Sanjay for making our stay in Paris that little bit more enjoyable!

We will be back to Hotel Artus when we return to Paris.

Tiffany and Matt, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TandMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We're a couple (40) who travel regularly and visit Paris quite often. St. Germain for us is the perfect place to be to really get a feel for Paris. You're 5 minutes walk from the river, Notre Dame, Musee d'Orsay etc, and at night, the streets are busy and friendly as cafes and bars fill up with locals and tourists into the early hours.
At the end of one of these streets is the Hotel Artus. 2 minutes from the Metro station, it exceeded our expectations in every way. We were treated like old friends and made to feel at home throughout our stay. The friendliness of the staff is well documented online but they really did impress. We asked to use the sauna/suite downstairs and it was booked out exclusively to us, robes & slippers provided, toiletries supplied etc.
The bed was very comfortable, the room was kept clean, housekeeping would come in and close the curtains if we were still out before it started to get dark.

Room Tip: as a disclaimer - we were upgraded to a room on the top floor (162), it was not small at all like so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shutterswipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Shutterswipe,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and that our staff was helpful. We are looking forward to your return at the Artus Hôtel, on your next visit.

Sincerely,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Arriving in Paris in the middle of heat wave was no problem whilst staying at Artus Hotel.
Not only was Sanjoy an excellent host, he and his very capable staff went out of their way to make sure that our stay was enjoyable. No request was too much and a frienly manner was always displayed. Rooms although small were very well thought out and workable with a comfortable bed, room for cases and bathroom fine and everything was spotless.
Breakfast was delicious with a very good selection. You would go a long way to find better.
Air conditioning worked a treat and the location was excellent.
All in all I have no hesitation in recommending and using this hotel again when next in Paris.
Anne and Colin.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne99999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Anne & Colin,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review sharing on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Artus Hôtel. We are very grateful to receive such a positive feedback about Sanjay which I will be very pleased to share with him and the rest of the team.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you back at the Artus Hôtel very soon,

Sincerely,
Romain Binet- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denmark
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I dont understand all the fantastic ratings here. Yes the location is perfect - yes one guy in the reception is really attentive and nice. But - rooms are really small and worned down. Some rooms looks out to a wall, and two persons cant pass each other in the room. No nice place to rest and sit for a coffee - like I have had in other hotels. When I say this its because I compare with the price which is not cheap.
But you cant beat the location.

Room Tip: If you dont mind a litlle noise I would ask for a room to the street - the one to the yard is dark a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teskeTeske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear TeskeTeske,

I thank you for your comment and for taking time to share it with us.
I am pleased to see you found our property a nice location to stay in where travelling in Paris.

I understand you highlight the small size of our rooms and as for many hotels of the Left Bank of Paris, the size is always different from the Right Bank.
Please note we offer 4 different room types (from Standard rooms to Suite) allowing you to get a larger room if you want depending on availability.

Once again I thank you for your past stay with us and hope we will be able to see you next time you will travel in our city.

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#80 of 1,800 in Paris
754 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
#104 of 1,800 in Paris
1,081 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#79 of 1,800 in Paris
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#86 of 1,800 in Paris
443 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#109 of 1,800 in Paris
378 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Verneuil
Hotel Verneuil
#69 of 1,800 in Paris
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artus Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel by MH

Property: Artus Hotel by MH
Address: 34 rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Paris
#70 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#74 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artus Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing