We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel to enjoy Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Artus Hotel by MH

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Artus Hotel by MH
Ranked #98 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel to enjoy Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed 4 nights during late June 2012. Location is fantastic--vibrant neighborhood with many cafes, restaurants, and shops. Metro stations for seveal lines are very close, and you can walk to the Louvre in 10 minutes. The rooms are very nice and well-maintained. The hotel has small, cozy feel to it. However, the true bright spot with this hotel is the staff. Without exception, everyone behind the front desk is kind, courteous, and helpful. They really worked hard to ensure we enjoyed our stay, making restaurant reservations, giving us detailed instructions for how to get to Versailles, etc. Overall, I think its a great value and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Dana_SF,

What a joy to read, you have made my day along with my teams. We love to know that our clients have had a wonderful time. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    212
    45
    17
    10
See reviews for
127
498
43
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you are looking to stay in the heart of St. Germain and to living like a true parisian this is definitely the place to stay. The rooms are very clean and extremely modern for european standards and the staff is very helpful. There is a great italian restaurant right beside it which is very good. I would come back to this hotel without the slightest hesitation because of its wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpozas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear sjpozas,

Thank you for making this bright sunny day that little bit brighter. I am so pleased to read that you felt our hotel was a cut above the rest, I hope to see you back at The Artus Hotel very soon.

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Could not have a more perfect location. They have added a new bar on the first floor that is delightful! But the best part of this hotel is Sanjay, their wonderful conceirge....he made our trip so memorable by his perfect suggestions! The hotel was very, very clean and the beds were so comfortable. Pretty soon they will have to do some routine touch ups, but it was delightful. The decor is NOT bizarre, it is hip......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Sidney B,

Exceeds your expectations, I can’t really add anything to that but to say a very humble thank you !

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our experience with the Artus Hotel dates back over 15 years when it was the the very hip and trendy Buci Latin hotel. It has since morphed into a more sophisticated four star establishment, so what was absolutely fabulous is now fantastic.

We returned last Monday after five nights at the Artus. We were fortunate to have been in room 140 which, because it is located on the top floor, has some special features. It's a two level room with the bed, closet, couch, desk and toilet on the first level. The second level is a loft where you find a wonderful shower, gigantic bath, dual sinks, espresso maker and fridge. The bath loft overlooks the sleeping area and also includes a large scale and towel heater and the lighting is excellent. The ceiling features several windows which provide light and made the cold, rainy days more enjoyable. There was something romantic about sleeping with the sound of the rain on the windows and roof.

The Artus breakfast is excellent, featuring a tasty assortment of cold meats, cheeses, fresh ripe fruit, cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, juices and fresh breads and fattening pastries. Breakfast is served until 11 AM, so if you enjoy the nightlife, you don't have to get up at the crack of dawn to make breakfast.

As others wrote, the location is fantastic, near both the Mabillon and St. Germain des Pres metro stops for starters. There are excellent places to eat and drink from seconds to a few minutes away, Almost next door is a tasty Italian place. Venture out the front door an turn left down Rue de Buci and you find so much, including Fish (Rue de Seine) (see your tour books)...there is a small Chinese take out place that we hit each time we visit (shrimp dumplings to die for and incredibly cheap, good wine)...honestly, there are so many excellent places within five minutes...Da Rosa on Rue de Seine, a very handy mini super market Carrefour (buy your water and other consumables there) a nice jazz joint down Rue Dauphine, incredible relative newbie fusion restaurant Ze Kitchen Galerie..... Over the years we've spent more than forty nights in this neighborhood, so we know our turf.

The hotel staff is very professional, lead my the incomparable Sanjay. The bed was comfy and the linens all luxurious. The bath towels are huge and super soft and they do provide wash cloths.

While we were there they opened the new hotel bar and we were impressed by the work of the mixologist.

Of course, we highly recommend the Artus.

Room Tip: See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powerharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Powerharp,

Thank you for taking the time to share your very complimentary feedback about the hotel and the staff.

I was thrilled to read that your birthday celebration was a success and especially that the hospitality provided by Sanjay and by our barman. Please rest assured that their service will be duly recognised.

I am delighted to hear that you will be returning to the Artus Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed in July and was surprised as the photos on their website are not the same as the actual rooms.
The rooms are generally dirty such carpets, bizarre decor and badly maintained bathrooms. Toilet unclean.
Ran to another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madamelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at the Artus Hotel for 5 days recently. The hotel is is a perfect location - you can walk to just about any attraction, or take bus / subways located nearby.

The hotel staff are professional, knowledgeable, and friendly. All of the front desk staff speak perfect English, and willingly give restaurant recommendations, travel directions, and tour information.

Our room was small, I would stay in a junior suite if I had it to do over again. The beds are small but comfortable, and the showers were very good.

The Artus is an excellent, small hotel in a perfect location for vacationers.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go with the junior suite. The lesser rooms are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Kevin B,

I thank you for all of your complimentary and kind words regarding our hotel. We genuinely have a passion for all of our guests and I am glad that they can feel it like you did.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My first trip to Paris, and we hit the jackpot with the Artus Hotel. The location off Saint Germain is very convenient to the metro, buses, cafes, museums, and shopping. Absolutely wonderful for experiencing Paris!

The staff was always very helpful and really wanted to make our stay pleasant. Sanjay the concierge/manager is in a class by himself. Not only is he knowledgeable and helpful, but anticipates your needs before you can articulate them!

I love Paris and plan to return soon, and I will be staying at the Artus Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pritha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel by MH, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Pritha S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your very nice feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that you found the staff to be great.

Thank you for your personal recommendation and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Artus Hotel very soon.

Yours sincerely,
Romain Binet - Directeur General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#80 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#58 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#161 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Baume
Hotel Baume
#91 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#101 of 1,798 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artus Hotel by MH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel by MH

Property: Artus Hotel by MH
Address: 34 rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Paris
#70 Business Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#73 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#99 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel by MH 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Artus Hotel by MH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing