We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel/Superb Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
Ranked #821 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent 6 nights at this wonderful hotel between Xmas and New Years this past year. Located on a quiet street in St.Germain des Pres, it is within walking distance of the Louvre, Notre Dame, Sainte Chappell and the Musee D'Orsay in addition to lots of restaurants, bakeries, Henri La Roux caramel shop, Gien China store and lots of other good places to go. The staff was excellent and helped us out when 2 of our party got a bit ill. A nice little bar to meet before going out for the evening; a great little breakfast room with a nice selection of continental breakfast goodies. The front desk folks were excellent and helpful. We had a junior suite - it was very roomy and a large bathroom. Closet space was limited but there was plenty of floor room to put suitcases, etc. The center courtyard was beautiful even in the winter months and offered a nice place to sit quietly during the day or evening. I would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants to be within walking distance of wonderful historic sites and close to restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SEW724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 242 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in 02/2012. The rooms need updating, if nothing else some lighting and new mattresses would do wonders.
The mattress was horrible and sunk in the middle. Additionally what the website does not note is that the beds are not full size. Needless to say neither my husband or I slept well for 7 nights.
The maid service was not up to par and not very friendly. However, the majority of the rest of the staff were very kind, the morning breakfast was a nice addition and the small, quaint restaurant across the street is fantastic.
If given the choice, I would stay elsewhere considering that are multiple options in Paris.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadWarriorInHeels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Hotel is convenient to many restaurants and attractions. A short walk to Louvre, Boulevard Germain des Pres, metro stations and not too far to Champs Elysees and even Notre Dame. It was enjoyable to walk around the area surrounding the hotel as there are many art galleries, restaurants and shops. We felt safe in the area. At the hotel we stayed 4 days in a standard room which looked out on the street. It was very quiet and room was a reasonable size, with comfortable bed and modern bathroom fittings. Heating in rooms was good and welcome after a chilly day sightseeing. Breakfast is provided and is quite good. We arrived very early in the morning and were offered breakfast at no charge and though our room was not available for a while we waited in the lounge room off the breakfast room. We went to Bordeaux for the weekend and left our suitcases at the hotel. The next week we stayed in a Deluxe room but were upgraded to a suite, a large bedroom and lounge room. The rooms we stayed in were not the character ones on their website but were comfortable. They do however need refurbishment. Staff were always very helpful, spoke good English and were entertained by our poor attempts at French.They are excellent offering advice and directions and booking restaurants when needed. They also made coffee when requested though this is charged to your room and at times involved a long wait. Our only problem was getting shampoo and conditioner which was not replenished by housekeeping and we had to ask for it at reception. We would happily stay again next time we are in Paris.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located in near Boulevard Germain des Pres.
There are many nice restaurants, bars and cafe's nearby and good shopping opportunities.
The rooms is in need of refurbishing but the complimentary breakfast in the room makes up for it.
We excperienced that the cleaner forgot to lock the room wich was very unfortunate. But the wonderful service from the night-receptionist mad up for it. He found us an 24-hrs open pharmacy and got us a taxi early sunday morning. The hotel should be proud to have such employees.
We would like to come back!!!

Room Tip: Rooms high up and towards the courtyard are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel, from the charm & character to the value & service. Stayed here for 4 nights in May 2012 and would definitely book again. We had the Hemingway room, very spacious and tasteful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Situated in the Latin quarter of Paris & close to the Saint Germaine de Pre Metro station. It is in that quaint part of town where the streets are narrow & often cobbled. I'd probably class this as a boutique hotel, a far cry from the chain hotels. We were enthusiastically greeted at reception & establishing that my French was pretty limited, he seamlessly switched to English to complete the check in. We had a nice room on the ground floor with sitting area, double bed & separate bathroom & toilet. The room is a rustic style' with a stone wall on one side & windows onto the internal courtyard. The room had safe, hair dryer & TV & was very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful & polite. Breakfast was included & was continental style buffet, although you could order an omelette. A very pleasant breakfast could be had to set yourself up for the days sight seeing. Each of the bedrooms are of individual design, with the hotels's main claim to fame being that Ernest Hemingway stayed in one of the rooms. Within a few hundred yards is the St Germain du Pres Church & allegedly the two oldest cafes in Paris. It's a very comfortable & safe feeling area to stroll around with plenty of cafe/restaurants nearby. A few points to note. The rooms have radiators but no air conditioning, so this was fine even though the daytime temperatures reached 23C but I'm not sure how comfortable they would have been if it had not cooled quite a bit at nighttime. Our room (38) was directly onto the inner courtyard which was very pleasant & although people were allowed to take breakfast n the courtyard they were not allowed to do this until after 9am. Unfortunately people did sit in the courtyard until quite late to chat, so if you are a light sleeper I would recommend you request an alternative room. I read in reviews prior to attending the hotel that service at breakfast e.g. To get omelettes or clear the tables was slow. That turned out to be true, however, it was somehow conducive to the relaxed atmosphere at the hotel & I simply requested my omelette from reception (a mere 10 steps away) & it was ordered immediately & arrived promptly. I thought the charm of the hotel & the lovely staff made this a place worth staying & I would stay here again if I returned to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Coolonela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel d'Angleterre is just a great place to stay in a fabulous part of Paris. Whilst there was a mix up when we first arrived with the room booked this was very quickly rectified without fuss. I have no hesitation in recommending nor will I have in booking and staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
La Villa Saint-Germain
La Villa Saint-Germain
#86 of 1,804 in Paris
714 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Hotel Le Regent
Hotel Le Regent
#753 of 1,804 in Paris
333 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Victoria Palace
Victoria Palace
#259 of 1,804 in Paris
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Deux Continents
Hotel des Deux Continents
#489 of 1,804 in Paris
202 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
Hotel Saint Germain des Pres
#675 of 1,804 in Paris
327 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
Hotel du Danube St. Germain
#685 of 1,804 in Paris
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#567 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $210 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing