We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and perfectly located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Ranked #245 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
117 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice and perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Paris (far too short a stay!) and were extremely delighted with our choice of hotel. Close to Ile de Cite and Latin Quarter, with an abundance of nice restaurants, shops, and sights just steps away. Breakfast is available for a reasonable add-on, or you can choose to head down the street for a cosy cafe. Rooms can be tight at times for two, but really quite comfortable and surprisingly quiet (we stayed in a street-front room on the 1st floor, but barely noticed noise from the street). Staff are helpful and gracious and get to recognize you quickly.

This is the place I'd recommend to those who visit Paris and are happy with a midrange hotel. Overall, a very good value!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rickf902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T, Propriétaire at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you for having time to put a comment regarding our hotel.

In fact, as you pointed out, we are right in the center of Paris that is why there are so many things to do around.

Thank you again for your recommendation.

We will be glad to welcome you whenever you want.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    297
    57
    26
    11
See reviews for
158
378
45
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Peter, my husband, planned a trip to Paris for us for Christmas. We have always shared Christmas with family, and this would be our first one away, together, on our own. Hotel Dauphine was recommended to us by our wonderful travel agent so we were confident that we would be comfortable. That week in Paris now seems like a dream and thanks to the friendly and helpful staff, the fantastic location and the amenities at the hotel we had a perfect holiday. The location is so central and close to all the beautiful places we wanted to visit. Around the hotel we strolled through the narrow lanes and streets absorbing the atmosphere and eating and drinking and people watching in some of the cafes, bars and restaurants in the area. On our last night we had dinner at Le Procope, a famous restaurant nearby, and enjoyed a delicious, memorable, and not inexpensive evening. Our stay at the hotel was all we could have wished for. Our room was so warm, quiet, cosy and intimate. The bathroom was quite large and well equipped. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the breakfast room every morning. Most importantly for us, the staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming at all times. We attempted to speak our very limited French but I think the staff preferred us just to speak English because for them it was so much easier! I would particularly like to thank Adrien and Eva for their service and assistance with our all our questions. Thank you for making our holiday so memorable. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T, Propriétaire at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for having time to put a comment concerning our hotel.

It is a real plaisir to read that you spent a nice Christmas with us. The best Christmas gift that you can give to us is a review like yours.

We will be always glad to welcome you and you can consider our hotel like your home in Paris.

Best regards,

Adrien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've just returned from a week's stay at the Dauphine from 12/28 to 1/4. It was our first time back in the hotel since having been bought by new owners, so we were curious to see how we'd react to it. Well, happily, the hotel is still lovely and the staff are still friendly and welcoming. We were delighted to be welcomed by Najib whom we knew from our many previous visits to the Dauphine. All of the staff - especially the day staff when we had questions - were particularly helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean. And, there's a new elevator (still small, but that's Paris) that works regularly! The breakfast is ample, although we did miss the pot of coffee that used to be served. Guests can still have as much coffee as they want, but it's now by the cup. Ditto for the orange juice: It's no longer self-serve, but served by the glass. (As an orange juice lover, I missed being able to help myself.) But, none of that really mattered because the food was good and cheerfully overseen by a young man working there while on break from school. Our only disappointment was the spotty WiFi connection - I would be in the midst of email and WiFi would stop... In short, we had a very enjoyable week at the Dauphine and look forward to reconnecting with this hotel. (As mentioned by another reviewer, guests also received a bottle of red wine from the owners on New Year's Day - a very nice touch!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T, Propriétaire at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you very much for taking time to put a detailed review as yours. It will be very helpful for us and and especially the others guests

It was a real plaisir to read it! As you pointed out, we are always trying to keep the same familial and cozy atmosphere while modifying or improving some decorations, services or others...

Unfortunately, as you mentioned it, the wifi could have sometimes a bad fluctuation but since your departure we had an appointement with the IT technician regarding to set up of the optical fiber.

We will be always glad to welcome you !

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Ok so everyone else has told you about the 'small rooms'. Its Paris and it's a 17th century building! What do you expect? There's so much to see and experience in Paris other than spending all of it in your room. Its cosy, the bedroom was lovely and warm and you have fully functioning windows that will open and let some fresh air in (if you find the heat a little stifling) its charming and I loved it. My husband and I spent Christmas in Paris and spent 3 nights at the Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The place is spotless clean. All guests got a bottle of wine from the Hotel on Christmas morning - something they really didn't need to do but how very kind and thoughtful. We can't wait to return to this hotel - homely, perfect location.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 42. Perfect for a couple and perfect for a street and rooftop view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T, Propriétaire at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to give a huge thank you for taking time to write a review on our hotel. The team had his heart filled when they read your comment.

Indeed, we gave a bottle at every guest who were staying in our hotel for Christmas day but in return the best gift from a customer is a comment like yours.

It is often difficult to explain to customers that the size of the rooms in Paris is particularly small.

Again thank for your precise explanation, it will help the other guest to understand which kind of hotel we are!

We will be always glad to welcome you whenever you want.

Best regards & Happy new year !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The hotel is located one block from the Sienne with cafes and shops just steps away. I thought this was the perfect location. The lobby is comfortable and nice with seating in 3 small areas. The room was small and a little shabby with a small bathroom. It was clean enough, but could use an upgrade.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllenPSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T, Propriétaire at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank for having time to put a comment from your stay spent with us.

Indeed, what makes the charm of our hotel is that the spaces are small and cozy. In addition, our building is a historical one from the XVII century

We hope to welcome you a next time !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel is clean, the staff are friendly, and the location is fantastic. It is nestled within a quaint neighborhood that is what you imagine Paris to be: cafes, patisseries, lots of foot traffic, great boutiques, etc. The wi-fi is not reliable however- we were trying to work in the mornings, and the wi-fi is intermittent. For example: you wouldn't be able to hold a constant signal to make a skype call.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhenrysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T, Responsable réception at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It will help us to improve and avoid all kinds of disappointment from our guests especially for the Wifi.

Indeed, some guest told us about this problem and the I.T Technicien came several times this month. We still not understand why at certain times of the day the signal is intermittent.

Actually, it should be fixed but with this kind of thing sometimes we cannot do anything if it is a busy time or something else !

We keep in touch with this problem and will do our best to never have this problem again.

We wish you happy holidays

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The location was a walking distance from all the attraction. Good neighborhood. Coffee shops and restaurants all around. Metro close by. The hotel is awesome. Rooms are Good size ( for Paris). The staff is super helpful. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samzzzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie T, Propriétaire at Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we thank you for taking time to put a comment about our hotel.

It is fast, accurate and concise! We sincerely thank you for your recommodation

We hope to welcome you a next time

We wish you happy holidays !

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#169 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#145 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Odeon / Saint-Michel
Left Bank Saint Germain
Left Bank Saint Germain
#177 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#138 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Odeon Saint-Germain
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel De Buci by MH
Hotel De Buci by MH
#68 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain

Property: Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain
Address: 36 rue Dauphine | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#240 Business Hotel in Paris
#281 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#287 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE HOTEL DAUPHINE SAINT GERMAIN (LEFT BANK)The hotel provides a warm, friendly welcome and attentive personal service in a charming and authentically Parisian atmosphere, guaranteeing you will enjoy a memorable stay with us.The unequalled charm of Saint-Germain-des-Prés springs from the association of culture and savoir-faire: you must see for yourself the slightly leaning stone buildings, the narrow streets with their flowered balconies, the gourmet shops and specialty bookstores, the famous cafés with their large terraces (Le Flore, Les Deux Magots). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Dauphine Saint Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Saint Germain Hotel
Dauphine Saint Germain Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing