We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #181 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel is situated in Quartier Latin, the wonderful place in Paris, next to Jardin du Luxembourg and Pantheon. There are lot's of metro stations nearby, Luxemburg station (RER) has direct trains to CDG Airport (it's useful while travelling with children).
Rooms are good and smartly designed. Bathroom was equipped with Hermes shower gel, body lotion, bath foam etc.
The staff is very friendly and welcoming.
Unfortunately breakfast wasn't good (15euro/person, children - for free) - omelettes and crepes were cold, and there wasn't a chance to eat something hot. But breakfast includes fresh juices and tasty coffee and tea.
Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anastasiya T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,014)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

It was a good choice for our honey moon trip to Paris. The location in latin qurtal is wonderful: a lot of restoraunts (all cuisines), shops, good atmosphere.
The room is modern and smartly designed, with great view (picture attached).
But... the Classic Queen Room- is too small.
So, our next visit in Paris we will book another room option in GHSM.
... And exellent breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiaHaimovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

It was a good choice for our honey moon trip to Paris. The location in latin qurtal is wonderful: a lot of restoraunts (all cuisines), shops, good atmosphere.
The room is modern and smartly designed, with great view (picture attached).
But... the Classic Queen Room- not refundable option, is too small.
So, our next visit in Paris we will book another room option in GHSM.
... And exellent breakfast

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MiaHaimovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located near public transportation and walkable attractions. The staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are small but it is Paris. Breakfast was great but 15e per/person - would have been nice if included in total price. Fitness room was just ok - it was a plus that there was one at all. We only used 1 time during our 4 night stay. Modern and clean accommodations otherwise. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

I took my partner to the GHSM for 3 nights from 19th Dec as a surprise for his 40th birthday. The trip was perfect in every way. We've visited Paris several times in the past but this was the best hotel we have stayed in, and by far the best location. This is a boutique hotel, and the decor is modern and chic. The room was small yes but very clean and beautifully presented.

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on breakfast but there is an abundance of choices in the vicinity to ensure you don't go hungry. There is a lovely little cafe next door to the hotel where we had a reasonably priced breakfast.

The hotel is perfectly situated to allow you to get around Paris on the metro. We had the best time and cannot fault the hotel or the location. The staff were extremely helpful in the run up to our trip, answering emails promptly and recommending places to eat. They were a pleasure to deal with.

We will stay at GHSM again without hesitation next time we visit this beautiful city. I would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Catz229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a fabulous hotel for couples. The concierge staff offered fantastic recommendations for a dinner out as well as romantic activities. I recommend booking a spa appointment in the hotel as it's relaxing and secluded. It's really easy to do and you get the whole area to yourself, including the gym and steam room. During my stay, the wifi was temporarily down and the refrigerator broken, but overall it was a magnificent experience.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cchali4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We managed to walk to all major sights from this hotel but as long as you have a good pair of walking shoes.
The hotel itself is modern and although the rooms are smaller than we could imagine we were not in them long to worry about it. Strategically place your cases so you dont trip over them and all will be fine.
You are In the latin quarter with many dining options not far away from the hotel and as you walk through the cobbled streets you are spoilt for choice.
staff at the hotel are wonderful and ready to help in any way they can. We were directed to a laundromat within walking distance not far from the Pantheon which was extremely clean.
For the best muffin you will ever taste try the cafe just up from Macdonalds heading towards the Pantheon and somewhere close to Subway. We were served by a lovely english speaking man and the muffins we purchased were something like I had never tasted before.
If you chose this hotel you will not be disappointed and if you dont like walking like we do there is the metro and buses nearby for your convenience.
Enjoy Paris and dont let the talk of pick pocketers and scammers scare you like they did us. We witnessed no pick pocketers and only approached a few times to sign petitions but kept walking and said no and were left alone. We were aware of our valuables and only carried photocopies for id.
My suggestion is to learn the basic french words and use them when you can as its actually enjoyable to try and converse in french and appreciated by the locals. Carry a small card with the words and some numbers to help order food etc.
Have fun in Paris and enjoy the Grand Hotel Saint Michel if you chose to stay there as we certainly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PKR068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#91 of 1,803 in Paris
1,166 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#152 of 1,803 in Paris
580 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#60 of 1,803 in Paris
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#279 of 1,803 in Paris
1,318 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#140 of 1,803 in Paris
1,660 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#280 of 1,803 in Paris
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saint-Michel

Address: 19 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#133 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#141 Business Hotel in Paris
#147 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $177 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saint-Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing