We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Boutique hotel in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #191 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and had a wonderful stay. When we checked in, they upgraded us to the Deluxe Rooms which was a great bonus! Also they have complimentary Wifi in all rooms and not just the common area which was really great.

Rooms are on the smaller side (in comparison to US standards) but thats to be expected in Paris yet they were comfortable and clean. Try to pack light as you won't have much space to maneuver around the room if you have multiple huge suitcases. The bed is super comfy with down comforter and lots of fluffy pillows.

Our package included the free breakfast so we took advantage of that. The breakfast buffet was of good quality but honestly if you don't have the prepaid package deal, I wouldn't spend 20EU for it; you're better off going out of the hotel to a cafe.

The best thing about the hotel is the wonderful location. It's located down the street from the Parthenon and next to the Sorbonne so its a very safe area and at night its nice and quiet. And being close to the university, there are tons of wonderful eateries to choose from at very decent prices. You can also walk to Notre Dame, Luxembourg Gardens, and a little farther the Louvre. Also convenient access to all public transportation.

The staff was very friendly and helped us with everything we needed. An excellent stay - definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,031)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the outside it didnt look too great but on a business trip to Paris I found this hotel ideal for my needs.
Very clean, very comfortable, smart and professional staff. Nothing was an issue for them.

Would fully recommend. Plenty of bars and good eateries 3 mins walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

stayed 3 nights.
the rooms are small. we stayes in a superior room which is a beat larger but still tiny
but everything in the hotel amneties and the room itself was very modern and fresh which is more important than size in my opinion.
very comfy beds and linens
the location is good for walkind around Paris but the nearest Metro is a good 300M away.
the staff was very helpfull

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Although the hotel was fairly pricey, it was certainly no more expensive than other similar standard of hotels within the area. (Paris is just bloody expensive!!)
The rooms are smallish compared to a modern Hilton type brand but they are very well set out with lots of very good quality furnishings and toiletries etc.
I was there on business so didn't spend that much time in the hotel but would be more than happy to spend a weekend there with my partner!
The reception staff were very pleasant and more than happy to organise taxi's etc.
Happy to recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is not to be recommended. You pay a high price for a bad location, tiny rooms and unprofessional service. Overall the experince is worse than average, which I don't mind if you get good value, which is certainly not the case at the St Michel. I will certainly never come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebastianderand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Yes the rooms are small (about 40% the size of a typical Marriott room) but all the amenities, linens, towels, robes, TV, fixtures, toiletries (Hermes) are first rate. You don't go to Paris to stay in your room. OK, so may not be the place for honeymooners. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madmanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank chantale807
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#80 of 1,802 in Paris
1,189 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#46 of 1,802 in Paris
309 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#172 of 1,802 in Paris
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#279 of 1,802 in Paris
1,180 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Atmospheres
Hotel Atmospheres
#123 of 1,802 in Paris
1,705 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#127 of 1,802 in Paris
1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saint-Michel

Address: 19 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#135 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#140 Business Hotel in Paris
#147 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $160 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saint-Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing