We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUT. Location ideal for sights, not if you want to sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel St Merry

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel St Merry
Ranked #1,329 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
tustin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BUT. Location ideal for sights, not if you want to sleep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

The hotel was fine. Small, but clean room. A little stuffy so we wanted to open the window, but as soon as you do that, say goodbye to sleep. Right next to a busy bar with patrons outside until 2 and 3am.
Hotel staff friendly.
Frustrated to pay 160 Euro a night, but see sign on door as we arrive for 88 euro last minute special, but you can't foresee that.
Hotel had nice location for sights. 5 min walk to Notre Dame.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    65
    30
    20
    13
See reviews for
22
78
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

- The room was small, lovely and very theatrical in a Gothic / Harry Potter style.
- The bed was possibly the comfiest bed that I have slept on.
- There was a tall floor to ceiling window with shutters which was lovely to sit by with a Glass of wine at the end of a very busy sight seeing day. I was able to sit and watch the people below me pass by on the little cobbled streets below.
- Be prepared to hear loud bells from the adjoining Chruch on a Sunday morning. This I personally didn't mind as I felt it added to the whole feel of the place and Paris as a whole.

I would highly recommend this hotel, I paid £95 for a Saturday night which I feel was very reasonable.

Thank you Saint Merry

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had a deluxe room (one level up from the bottom). I was really looking for a unique historic hotel. The room was charming, with an iron chandelier, dark wood wardrobe and a painting. The bathroom had all modern facilities. Was a nice location. However, the room was nearly $300, and I don't think I would pay it again. It just wasn't anything all that special. Maybe the high price level rooms have more of the really luxurious neo-gothic features I was hoping for, but it just wasn't worth it for me. It is central Paris though, so finding a great deal is always a challenge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed in this hotel end of January. Arriving at Gare du Nord we found it conveniently close to the Metro (Chatelet). Also there is an excellent connection to bercy if you're planning to see a concert. When walking or Cycling the Tour St Jacques is a perfect landmark to find home. All of the staff are very kind and extremely helpful with organizing trips (we spoiled ourselves with skipping the line for the Eiffel Tower - €39/person including tickets and guided tour and sooo very much worth it). Furthermore there a three Velib station close by which we appreciated a lot. Another big plus for this hotel: there seems to be no limit for breakfast. You will be served coffee or tea and delicious croissant beurre from the prizewinning bakery a few houses down the square. Definitely worth going and tasting of course. Another plus is the little restaurant below the hotel, I'd recommend it for having an aperitif. About the rooms: quite small, but nicely renovated and well maintained. The furniture matches wonderful with the historic building and creates a cosy athmosphere. The bathroom was perfectly clean and shower had good pressure. The bed was comfortable and we had very nice pillows and a fine duvet. The room is equipped with tea and coffee facilities, a hairdryer and free wifi (4hrs per day, need to sign in again). All in all: we spent a lovely long weekend here and hope to do so soon again. Un grand merci à l'equipe de St Merry, c'était formidable!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gronings_Expat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Recently just returned from a 3 night stay here and would return In a heartbeat -location was perfect for all major sites 10 min to louvre and 5 to Notre-dame.The hotel was amazing from the moment you walked in rooms the rooms were clean historic and comfortable -staff were friendly and helpful -breakfast was Defiantly worth the extra cash -a stay here is a must

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of October and absolutely loved. The hotel is small but beautiful and the location really couldn't be better. We had a warm welcome and it was spotlessly clean with a very comfy bed. Ok, so it didn't have a tv in the room, but who in their right mind comes to Paris to watch tv...? I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sookie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Forgot to write my review but better late then never! We stayed 4 nights and couldn't ask for a better hotel! Beautiful gothic style in a great location. Get ready to climb stairs but man it's worth it! Friendly staff, boulangerie and many pubs and restaurants in the area, plus walking distance to pompidou, the louvre and metro station. Tip: buy some pastries at the boulangerie near the hotel and enjoy it at saint jacques park next door.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Ori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Andrea
Hotel Andrea
#914 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Le Marais
D'win Hotel
D'win Hotel
#1,012 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Les Halles
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
Grand Hotel Dechampaigne
#322 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
Hotel Victoria Chatelet
#643 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,359 of 1,798 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Les Halles
Des Ducs d'Anjou
Des Ducs d'Anjou
#1,050 of 1,798 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St Merry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St Merry

Property: Hotel St Merry
Address: 78 rue de la Verrerie, 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,329 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St Merry 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finely restored Gothic-style hotel in an 18th century stone building - Downtown, adjacent to Hotel de Ville and Pompidou Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St Merry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Merry Hotel
St Merry Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing