We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden treasure”
Review of Hotel des Bains

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Bains
Ranked #1,210 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a lovely, unpretentious little family hotel run by a couple who have obviously travelled and brought back all kinds of treasures they use to decorate the rooms which are tastefully furnished. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and are all equipped with TV, hair dryer. Air con. was recently installed. A lift will take you up.
Breakfast at about 8 Euros is adequate, tea/coffee/chocolate, hard boiled eggs, cheese, yogurt, croissant, bread etc. The rooms are very reasonably priced from 90 Euros. One of the best things about this hotel is that it is situated in a fairly quiet street right in the busy and central Montparnasse area, within walking distance of the Air France airport bus terminal - just the perfect walk after a long trip from Australia. The hotel is close to a busy market twice a week, the Metro and also within walking distance from the famous Luxembourg Gardens, St Sulpice church and its fantastic organ music, the Seine, boulevard St Germain, the Bon Marché dept. store and many others to be discovered in this wonderful and walkable city. The staff is quite friendly, but don't expect the superficial politeness in more expensive hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street if you want a bit of life around you. Otherwise ask for a room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Stephanie059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 145 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

It's a truism that most Parisian hotels have small rooms, especially in the budget sector. Space is directly related to costs, so it wasn't a shock when we saw the size of our €96.50 room, although we were dismayed that the room's only window looked into an internal well, with minimal natural lighting. We had asked for a room overlooking the internal courtyard, but that strained the definition of the word 'courtyard', so the next morning we asked for a different room and were given an alternative on an upper floor facing the street. Rue Delambre is one-way and fairly quiet.

I'm always fairly relaxed about mixups that can occur when booking from a distance in another language, but what is more important is how the hotel deals with the problem and requests for changes - in this case the response was friendly and accommodating, so Brownie Points awarded there.

We can confirm the facilities others on this site have described: good transport connections with 3 nearby Metro stations; Wi-Fi (although realistically only in the lounge near the lobby); excellent breakfast; clean rooms and bathrooms; friendly helpful English-speaking staff, and good local cafes and restaurants.

Overall very good value for money. Recommended.

Room Tip: Since the Rue Delambre is fairly quiet, rooms on the street side can be chosen with confidence. I ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We are a couple in our thirties in our second trip to Paris. We came across this hotel after it was recommended to us by our friend who had stayed there recently.
Even though it is not in the coveted 'Marais' location we found it to be much better!

Pros:
Location - excellent! close to 3 metro stations including the central 'Montparnasse - Bienvenüe' so everything is within reach; Plenty restaurants, shops (wine, cheese, bread, etc,) and malls around for all your daily needs.
Room - we had the suite as we wanted more space and it was big enough to accomodate a family of four with a very specious bathroom; rooms are also very clean and contains air condition, heating, TVs.
Price - normal double rooms are just under 100 Eur, the suite ~110 and offers great value for money.
Service - staff was very kind and informative, did not understand other reviews claiming otherwise.

Cons:
Room - we could have used a 'tea/coffe station' in the room and the Wifi on the top floor is not reliable, so most surfing was done in the lobby. In addition, even though its a room facing the inner courtyard there was some noise during the day from a near by source (could not determine exactly). but it was very minimal and was mostly unnoticeable.

Bottom line - very good hotel in a great location. Suite is perfect for families and couples who want more space.
Would defenitely go back!

Room Tip: Get a suite, even as a couple. it includes and extra room with two beds and the bathroom is very spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank david_amir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Great location in Montparnasse really close to the metro and with numerous bars and cafés nearby (try one of the many crepe places). Rooms superior to what you would otherwise get for this price - they all have a nice individual touch. And best of all: for families there is a suite with 2 interconnecting rooms - one with a double bed and one with two twin beds and a large outside terrace. We were thoroughly satisfied.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rheinfarn69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My sister and I had a WONDERFUL six night stay here. Our room was quiet, a good tradeoff for lack of view. Cozy room size (meaning, small, but typical for this hotel size, Paris location, & the price point), a wonderful bathroom (nice tile detail in shower!), very clean, and nice comfortable lobby room with good wireless access. Staff were very helpful! I don't know what that other negative reviewer was talking about. If you are a picky travel-naive American who wants room service and coffee maker in your room, go to a chain. If you are a seasoned traveler looking for a bargain in a wonderful neighborhood, this is your place. So many cafes and brasseries nearby, it was perfect for us. And right near 2 metro stops and walkable from Montparnasse station so you can take the Air France bus #4 or the RER B train to/from the airport. Merveilleux! I'd definitely book there again!

Room Tip: Maybe other rooms get wireless, ask if it's important to you; I wasn't in the room much &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anita1742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

First, let me start off by saying that the hotel itself on a standalone basis was very nice. The hotel is located in Montparnasse, and is minutes away from a Paris Metro station, Vavin. The vicinity around the hotel has many restaurants and small cafes that you can explore, and if you are a big fan of crepes, you will be surrounded by the thing you love the most if you stay here.

The room was also well-kept and clean, and the washrooms appeared to be recently renovated during our stay. Showers, toilet, sink, and floor were all in pristine condition. The price at 90 Euros a night during our stay was also both reasonable and affordable. The only annoying things about the infrastructure of the place was that the elevator seemed to be constantly out of order and that there was no WI-FI signal in our room. Anytime you needed to go on the internet, you would have to go to the lobby.

Despite all these qualities, when push came to shove, the staff and the owner showed their true colours to my friends and I. After our first night at the hotel, an issue arose with a reservation mix-up. This mix-up was an error in their part due to their misreading of the emails that we exchanged with the hotel. Long story short, they were extremely rude and condescending while we were trying to clear this understanding. They even implied that the mix-up was due to the fact that our command of English was perhaps weaker than their English since they noticed that our last names were of East Asian descent. This of course, was notwithstanding the fact that we were born and raised in Canada, and when I last checked, English was not the official language of France. Frankly, it was a pretty annoying and stupidly racist experience to have to endure and it really didn't do much to endear Paris to me.

This is the kind of stuff that would trump the best qualities of a hotel and for this reason, I would never recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Paris.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candeze, Propriétaire at Hotel des Bains, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2012

We are pleased to read that you spent a nice stay in our hotel in November.
Nevertheless, we cannot accept the word "RACIST" that you have used so easily.
We have to explain the reality of the situation.
Firstly,on your e.mail you have confirmed two rooms under your name for 5 nights.
Secondly, your friends have reserved one room for them
When you arrived at midnight, we realised the mistake. As everyone could suppose, it was too late to rent this third room. As it is indicated our cancellation policy, you had to pay one night for this no-show, but you refused it !
This mix-up was an error in your part. To say that you have made a mistake on your e.mail, doesn't mean that we are racist.
If you were English, we would have used the same words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was our first trip to Paris and after flying through the night and enduring a long taxi ride, we arrived at the Hotel Des Bains. They were expecting us and had a secure storage room for us to leave our luggage while we visited the Eiffel Tower. When we returned for our afternoon nap our room was ready. There were three of us, my husband, daughter and myself. We had two separate bedrooms with comfy enough beds, a clean modern bathroom with lots of hot water and lovely windows that opened to a cute little courtyard. The lobby is small, breakfast is extra, the elevator is tiny and you do have to go to a large comfortable room off the lobby to use the internet (but it did work well). However, the staff was helpful, spoke wonderful english and got a taxi lined up for us to leave on an early morning flight. The best part of this hotel though is the location. We loved the neighborhood. It is on a side street with bakers and butchers and pastry shops and fruit markets etc. The metro stations are close and there are plenty of fabulous restaurants with cafe tables in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KentuckyCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Delambre
Hotel Delambre
#638 of 1,804 in Paris
249 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#527 of 1,804 in Paris
352 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Apollinaire
Hotel Apollinaire
#949 of 1,804 in Paris
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
Arcadie Montparnasse
#518 of 1,804 in Paris
477 reviews
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,230 of 1,804 in Paris
130 reviews
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#262 of 1,804 in Paris
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Bains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Bains

Address: 33 rue Delambre | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#238 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $101 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Bains 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Bains reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Bains Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing